We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa di Monte Solare
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We spent 6 nights at this Villa at the beginning of a 2 month European extravaganza. From the moment we drove into the parking area ("leave your bags in the car- we'll get them later") we were enchanted. The views from our windows, the magnificent olive groves and vineyards, the spectacular fields of wildflowers, the melodious birdsong, the hikes on the property and the incredible views- we loved it all! Then there were our hosts- both so welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We very much enjoyed and appreciated their efforts to make our stay memorable. The staff was charming- pleasant and informative- and took very good care of us. The food- oh, the food!- the only trouble was deciding what to order each night as the menu was filled with unique offerings. Not only was each meal incredibly delicious, each was presented beautifully. The morning pastries, made by the "boys", are the stuff of dreams. Does it sound like we had just the best time there? We did, and you should all go to experience it for yourselves.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that there is any room here that is less desirable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank europefanCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    81
    17
    10
    0
See reviews for
84
431
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I booked for the cooking course which was great; I learnt alot and it was fun. The small class size was an advantage and all my dumb questions were answered by our English speaking Italian chef. We also had trips to vineyards and the Perugina chocolate factory as well as visiting the towns of Perugia and Assisi.
The hotel is lovely and the staff always friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the course and the hotel anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pastamaker708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cakelady83
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We got the food and wine package with excursions to go wine tasting and had cooking classes on the site of the villa. Our experience has been beyond description. They provided transport from the train station to the villa and the countryside was just beautiful. When we pulled up to the villa, I was blown away. It is breathtaking! Everything is so manicured and perfect. The olive groves were beautiful along with the vineyards. Once we arrived we didn't have to worry about a thing! The villa we stayed in was immaculate and beautiful. The bathroom was large with heater and in floor heating along with a separate tub and shower. Everything is very energy efficient also. They take good care to make sure the villa uses as little energy as possible.
Since we didn't have a car, we stayed at the hotel for dinner and we have nothing to complain about. The menu items were fresh, beautiful, interesting,and most of all, delicious! We tried something new every night and were never disappointed.
The staff is wonderful. They know you by name and the owners are very involved with the day-to-day operations. They knew our names the day we came when we walked through the door and made us feel right at home. Rossi also took us on our tours and was very attentive and flexible. Everything is so personal.
The culinary classes were so much fun and we learned a lot. We cook a lot, but we aren't used to cooking traditional Italian dishes, so there was plenty to learn. It was like cooking with family. Lots of wine, conversation and food. This was a trip of a lifetime and I would suggest this superb villa to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cakelady83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This is simply the best hotel we've ever stayed in. We're the fourth couple of our extended family to stay there - each has recommended it to the next - but we had no idea it'd be so good. We were delighted with the good cheer and helpfulness of everyone at the hotel. We loved its rural position, with views over vines and olive trees; the fact that I'd asked for a room with as few steps as possible and had been given exactly that (one small step, into the bathroom); the spaciousness and comfort of our room and the simple, good taste of its fittings; our own private terrace; the delicious food. The fact that guests are spread out amongst various restored farm buildings over several acres means you don't feel crowded, even when the hotel is full. I was more than impressed with the laundry's ability to restore a white shirt after a messy encounter with tomato soup.
We've only been home for 18 hours and I've already recommended it to my brother.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent 3 nights of our honeymoon at the Villa di Monte Solare recently and had an outstanding experience. The suite was ideal with rustic but upscale decor and an amazing jacuzzi tub. The staff is lovely & helpful, but unobtrusive. The property is stunning and a short, scenic drive from some of the great walled cities such as Perugia and Assisi. The food was excellent, made better by an on-point wine selections from the owner herself. If you are looking for the perfect Italian getaway to relax and indulge in fine foods and spa treatments, this is the place!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzelia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We arrive to the villa by recommendation ,and I can say that we were very happy to receive it.
The owner and the staf are so kind ....they make you a very good feeling of relaxation when you stay there.The villa is very luxury and the restaurant offers you a delicious menu.
All the furniture is comfortable specially the beds.We receive there a very nice lesson of cooking with the chef Matteo ,it was really an unforgettable experience that I'll remember always.
They did there a perfect maching of olds buildings with all the modern facilities.
For it was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

If you can find a more charming, luxurious, beautiful and hospitable place, please let me know.

This place has it all: large and charmingly furnished rooms, luxurious beds with upscale linens, fetching views, impeccablly maintained facilities, and a staff that appears to be in a contest to see who can be more accommodating. Our dinners in the beautiful dining room warmed by a large, old fireplace were perfect. I really can't say enough about this charming inn, and you should find a way to visit there.

We were there in February 2012 in the midst of a 30-year snow storm and the staff helped us get home, which we greatly appreciated -- although it was tempting indeed to have a second breakfast of pastires and champagne.

Put this place on your list. You'll be happy you did!

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayanne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernelle di Panicale
5.8 km away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
22.4 km away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
37.5 km away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.5 km away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
19.5 km away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
20.7 km away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Monte Solare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Monte Solare

Property: Villa di Monte Solare
Address: Via Montali 7 | Colle San Paolo, 06064 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tavernelle di Panicale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tavernelle di Panicale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Monte Solare 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a remote hillside above Lake Trasimeno, Villa di Monte Solare nestles in gorgeous grounds punctuated by cypress trees and fountains a few miles from Perugia. An enchanting villa, that for centuries was home to an aristocratic family, it is now a delightful boutique hotel with an excellent restaurant, two swimming pools, a tennis court and a pampering spa.Rooms and suites at Villa di Monte Solare are distributed between the villa, complete with marble fireplaces, terracotta floors and antique furniture, or in one of the 350-year-old farmhouses on the estate, also beautifully furnished but with a more rustic feel. Wander around the walled Italian garden and discover the chapel. Then, head to the pool and take in the sweeping views of the Muserale Valley and the Mongiovino hills.Take a cooking class with the chef to learn authentic Italian cuisine and then try to match a wine to your dish with a wine tasting session. In between swimming, relaxing, spa treatments and tennis find some time to visit some of the nearby villages for a feel of Umbrian life. End your day with delicious Italian cuisine in Villa di Monte Solare’s restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa di Monte Solare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Monte Solare Hotel Tavernelle Di Panicale
Hotel Di Monte Solare
Di Monte Solare Hotel
Villa Di Monte Solare Italy/Tavernelle Di Panicale, Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing