We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First rate”
other travellers have booked this property
Autumn at Tigh Ban Lek
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Autumn at Tigh Ban Lek
The cottage and its background Balcony view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Autumn at Tigh Ban Lek
The cottage and its background
Balcony view
Living area
Twin or King bedroom
Master bedroom
Kitchen
Balcony visitor
Nuts in the garden
Summer basket
Games cupboard
Arrival pack
the spicy chilli plant
Information available
The reading corner
Tigh Ban Lek
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Craobh Haven, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
John_G525
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First rate”
Reviewed December 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have stayed in Tigh Ban Lek over several years. Our favourite holiday let, warm and cosy in winter, unsurpassed views from the living room and balcony - the finest views in Argyll, we think. Lots to do in the area, wonderful for outdoor activities. Large supermarkets can be found in Oban and Lochgilphead, but the village store in nearby Ardfern is amazingly well stocked. A perfect holiday retreat.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our property so nicely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUK04
London
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Views in a great location!”
Reviewed December 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Fantastic cottage. The view from the living room to the sea is amazing. The living room and kitcen are upstairs and the bedrooms are downstairs. The bathrooms are big and really well furnished. The property is really child safe as well with adequate protection such as stair gates etc. Oban is a lovely place. There are some great eating places close by as well. A 100% recommendation to go here for a holiday. You will not regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2014
Thank you very much for your review, delighted you enjoyed Tigh Ban Lek. We have tried to make it very child friendly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R0ssHill
Shrewsbury,United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“No ifs, No buts - just right !”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Perfect in all respects.Ideally located for exploring Argyll (midway between Oban and Lochgilphead ) a fantastic view from the upstairs lounge, comfortable and clean accommodation, all kitchen and other requisites to hand.Nicely furnished and with interesting original art work on the walls.A good range of books and games to draw on and plenty of local information available. All in all, this is top class accommodation, which we will certainly keep in mind for the future, next time we are lucky enough to spend time in this very beautiful part of scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: no wc facilities on first floor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Thank you very much for your review, glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence...
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Five Star accommodation with magnificent views”
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a superb four day stay at Tigh Ban Lek with every conceivable convenience in the house and the views from the lounge and balcony were magnificent.
It is centrally located to take advantage of all the visitor attractions of Argyll and we enjoyed meals in the local restaurants

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation, location, tourist brochures , library of books
Liked least: Nothing - enjoyed all aspects of our stay
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we hope to welcome you back to Tigh Ban Lek in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syd_Famil...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Its been 2 months since we returned from UK and have still not forgotten our experience at Tigh Ban Lek. My wife and me thought, it will be unfair if we don't let everyone know how we enjoyed the cottage - so we decided to write this review today. We are from Sydney and visited UK during the 2014 Easter Break and visited Scotland with my sister and family. We stayed at Tigh Ban Lek and it was our best experience in Scotland. The view from the cottage was so beautiful and we remember the little birds in the balcony and their tweets that added to the early morning experience. The daffodils and scenery around was straight out of the books. The cottage had excellent heating facility, a fully functional kitchen, lots of toys for children and very comfortable beds. The owner's family who managed the cottage were so friendly. The chilli plant and herbs around gave a homely touch. Everything about the cottage was excellent and there is nothing negative about this place. The next time we travel to Scotland, we will definitely stay at Tigh Ban Lek. Thank you for such a lovely experience.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Forchheim, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Holiday home at best”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This is an absolute gem on Scotland's west coast. We know it from 2 visits in winter, when eyerything is soo calm. As you can see from the website the draw is the view. The glass front to the south-west allows vistas with ever changing weather. Even after a week you can't get enough of it. The house has two ensuite bedrooms on the first level. Each has a french bed from which you already have that phantastic view. Upstairs is one large open living space. Well equipped kitchen (only missed an espresso machine), a dining table for 6 as well as a fireplace corner with a 2 and a 3 seater sofa. You can go out on the balcony for best views or sit or stay behind the large glass front. It is recommended to bring groceries in January as the majority of dining places are closed. Oban is more than a 30 minutes drive away. They have SAT-TV and a well running WiFi. So once you get settled you never want to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2014
Thank you very much for your review, much appreciated. It is true that in early January many local restaurants do close down for a period of time. We haven't had any other requests for an espresso machine as yet but if we get enough requests we will consider the addition.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralie P
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing near the Loch”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Tigh Ban Lek was a beautiful, relaxing stopover during our long European holiday, situated about a half hour’s drive from Oban with stunning views over Loch Melfort.

The cottage was spacious but still retained a cosy atmosphere. The hosts had thought of everything that a family on holiday would want available. The cooking facilities were excellent – probably the best we encountered on our trip. There were even some non-perishable foods available (the kids loved the nutella) which added to the homely feel. The internet worked brilliantly, laundry facilities were great, the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were luxurious. Very peaceful surrounds and lovely dining and lounge areas complete the picture.

Booking and payment (using the holiday lettings site) was very easy and there were no issues gaining access to the cottage.

One minor issue was someone having to finish off a shower with only cold water; I think we needed to pay more attention to when the hot water was available. (Overall, we found UK showers took some getting used to!)

This was a great base from which to explore the local area and Oban. We only wished we had allowed for a longer stay!

We can thoroughly recommend Tigh Ban Lek as a great place for a family to stay – we’d love to come back sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views and amazing comfort
Liked least: Cold shower (check hot water times!)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate your comments. We will check the timings of our hot water and ensure they are sufficient for winter bookings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing