We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels Like Miles From Nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Convento de Sao Saturnino
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We had wondered about booking a place 40 minutes from the Lisbon airport. We needn't have worried. The hotel is located in a valley near a small village. It feels completely isolated, a zillion miles from a major European city. This is a mom and pop type operation. It is built on the foundation of a several centuries old convent. The hotel itself was purpose built and is much newer. It feels much older though. It is built into the side of a valley so there are multiple levels. It is filled with antique furniture and artifacts and looks and feels like it was several hundred years old.

It is clean and well managed. Our room was not particularly big (but not small either) and had a view. A tasty breakfast is included. It does not have a restaurant, but you can order a lunch bag for five euros. If there is a cook on duty you can also have a fixed menu delicious three course supper there including a bottle of wine at a modest price. We were there three nights and ate there all three evenings. It has a small honour bar. There is no tv. There is a swimming pool and lounges. There are a couple of downsides. It would be absolutely useless for persons with ability issues. And there is no way out except to climb out of the valley, a good ten to 15 minute climb if you don't have a car. There are hiking trails once you get out of the valley. You can get taxi service to get to/from the Lisbon Airport. We'd stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dldcw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Some places are a huge surprise, this is one. Sharing it with others is as giving a treasure from yourself knowing that not all Juwels shine with all people. Having said that, if you are looking for complete rest in a natural environment where the owners are preserving history with passion, this is it. Join the table d'Hotel at 8pm, good food for a reasonable price. I will be back, for sure!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maarten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

We visited this hotel for two nights in June as part of our inn to inn hiking trip. The hotel was a welcome respite after a day of hiking. The facilities are beautiful everywhere you roamed, both inside and outside! Our room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed a wonderful dinner there as well. The setting is remote but east to get to via car (or foot). This would be a wonderful place to stay for a longer period and explore all that is around - good hiking as well as visiting the beach and cities such as Caicais and Sintra. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhlh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

We stayed two nights early June in suite C. The bedroom and terrace had a lovely sea view. Good bed, good bathroom with good shower. Two toilets in this suite. The suite is some 50-75 m from the main building, and not suitable for disabled/those with difficulties walking: there are stairs. Buffet breakfast good and more than enough. Very nice lounge and a small library. Very welcoming staff. The road to the convento is narrow, steep and has hairpins, but having said that, it is well worth it as the location is marvellous.

Room Tip: Suite C has sea view. Hotel not suitable for disabled persons: stairs from parking to the hotel, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jannie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We stayed here for two nights in May, one of four hotels/B&B's on our walking tour and by far the best. It has such a peaceful and relaxing air about it and we loved the comfortable, communal areas where we were able to chat with other guests about their walking experiences and much more - mostly German, American and English guests. We chose Room 5 with sea view and balcony and it was perfect, as was the bathroom with powerful shower. Breakfast taken either at a communal table or on one of the many outside terraces was very good and varied. Tea, coffee etc. are available all day free of charge - just help yourself from the breakfast area. Reception, kitchen and housekeeping staff were all very efficient, charming and eager to help with luggage,
though not intrusive.
The Convent is built on many levels so there are rather challenging stairs and steps to negotiate, so not ideal for those who would find that a problem.
We found Convento de Sao Saturnino to be a very special and memorable part of our holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Blandings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

This converted convent has plenty of character, representing its history. The small number of rooms makes it easy to socialise with other guests. We stayed there while we were on a walking trip from Cascais to Sintra so didn't have a car. A car would have been necessary otherwise.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjmunck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We had stayed in Convento São Saturnino for 2 nights in May (from friday to sunday), on the occasion of our wedding/early honeymoon which took place nearby your guesthouse.

On the first morning, the drain of the shower clogged, and we had to soak the water from the shower several times with towels so it didn’t end up flooding the entire bathroom.

When we talked about this situation to the lady who was at the front desk, she told us that it was very common, and we commented if there was any room available with better conditions, since we were going to be photographed that afternoon by the official photographers of our wedding.
We were told that another room would be available, and that we left all our suitcases prepared to change room that morning, paying the added value by that new room. You can imagine the discomfort and inconvenience of having to pack again all of our things, with a wedding to prepare.

Also regrettable that on that night, when we arrived after the wedding, there wasn’t electricity inside of the building.
I had to try to find the counter to turn on the power, and then the electricity came for a few minutes and then turned off again, so I had to return again from the room to the entry to turn it on again.

The next day, when we commented the situation to the lady who was at the reception, it was only regretted the situation as if it were the most normal thing in the world.

How you should understand, we got the feeling that despite the beauty of space, its staff lacks of some sensitivity in the relationship and monitoring of their customers' needs, as well as a lack of responsibility.

We understand that these events should be reported to the director of the hotel, and that situations of this kind should never happen in such a 5 stars quality hotel so we tried to talk several times with the person in charge, always without success. Unfortunately, it seems to be like a ghost management.

On the other hand, given the special nature of the situation (wedding) we were staying, we thought we could check out a little bit later, but we were not even given that possibility. On top of it, breakfast is bought and not homemade, which is regrettable for a place with these surroundings.

We had the highest expectations for this property. It was terrible!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Marisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Azoia
7.3 km away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.3 km away
Pura Vida Windmill Lodge
0.4 km away
Quinta Vale da Roca
Quinta Vale da Roca
#1 of 3 in Azoia
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Quinta do Rio Touro
Quinta do Rio Touro
#1 of 1 in Azoia
37 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Convento de Sao Saturnino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convento de Sao Saturnino

Address: Rua do Campo da bola | Colares, Sintra, Azoia 2705-001, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Azoia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Azoia
Price Range: $182 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Convento de Sao Saturnino 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Convento de Sao Saturnino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento De Sao Saturnino Hotel Santa Iria De Azoia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing