We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
63
22
14
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
22
14
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barmany levelswalking holidayswimming poolbeautiful valleylong tablestayed here for two nightsmain buildingearly juneother guestsconverted conventlisbon airportbreakfast was excellentsitting roombottle of winesuitecascais
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 112 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile

Some places are a huge surprise, this is one. Sharing it with others is as giving a treasure from yourself knowing that not all Juwels shine with all people. Having said that, if you are looking for complete rest in a natural environment where the owners are preserving history with passion, this is it. Join the table d'Hotel at 8pm, good food for a reasonable price. I will be back, for sure!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maarten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2017

We visited this hotel for two nights in June as part of our inn to inn hiking trip. The hotel was a welcome respite after a day of hiking. The facilities are beautiful everywhere you roamed, both inside and outside! Our room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed a wonderful dinner there as well. The setting is remote but east to get to via car (or foot). This would be a wonderful place to stay for a longer period and explore all that is around - good hiking as well as visiting the beach and cities such as Caicais and Sintra. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhlh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2017

We stayed two nights early June in suite C. The bedroom and terrace had a lovely sea view. Good bed, good bathroom with good shower. Two toilets in this suite. The suite is some 50-75 m from the main building, and not suitable for disabled/those with difficulties walking: there are stairs. Buffet breakfast good and more than enough. Very nice lounge and a small library. Very welcoming staff. The road to the convento is narrow, steep and has hairpins, but having said that, it is well worth it as the location is marvellous.

Room Tip: Suite C has sea view. Hotel not suitable for disabled persons: stairs from parking to the hotel, and stairs in the building itself.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jannie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2017

We stayed here for two nights in May, one of four hotels/B&B's on our walking tour and by far the best. It has such a peaceful and relaxing air about it and we loved the comfortable, communal areas where we were able to chat with other guests about their walking experiences and much more - mostly German, American and English guests. We chose Room 5 with sea view and balcony and it was perfect, as was the bathroom with powerful shower. Breakfast taken either at a communal table or on one of the many outside terraces was very good and varied. Tea, coffee etc. are available all day free of charge - just help yourself from the breakfast area. Reception, kitchen and housekeeping staff were all very efficient, charming and eager to help with luggage,
though not intrusive.
The Convent is built on many levels so there are rather challenging stairs and steps to negotiate, so not ideal for those who would find that a problem.
We found Convento de Sao Saturnino to be a very special and memorable part of our holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Blandings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2017

This converted convent has plenty of character, representing its history. The small number of rooms makes it easy to socialise with other guests. We stayed there while we were on a walking trip from Cascais to Sintra so didn't have a car. A car would have been necessary otherwise.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjmunck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews