We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical and Unique”
You have found your secluded beach at Mar al Cielo Eco-Retreat!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
You have found your secluded beach at Mar al Cielo Eco-Retreat!
At Mar al Cielo serene nature and perfect privacy become your reality. View of Mar al Cielo Eco-Retreat...11 acre, private oceanfront jungle paradise.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
You have found your secluded beach at Mar al Cielo Eco-Retreat!
At Mar al Cielo serene nature and perfect privacy become your reality.
View of Mar al Cielo Eco-Retreat...11 acre, private oceanfront jungle paradise.
Wake up to the birds and ocean waves. Serene bedroom with ocean and jungle views.
A perfect place to start or end the day. Enjoy views from the bedroom and terraces
Connect with Nature...Architecture designed in harmony with natural surroundings
Wake up to a tropical dream come true. Watching wales jumping in the sea and tropical birds fly by.
Enjoy bathroom with a view, shower and bathtub for 2. Relax in perfect privacy.
Watch for whales from the bathroom and shower!
Be surrounded by pristine jungle and ocean views from every angle
Tropical comfort and style with exceptional pristine views
Complete Kitchen, BBQ grill and delicious view. See our Jungle Room Service Menu.
'Mar al Cielo' means 'Sea to the Sky and Heavens'...
Surrounding view of ocean delights at the Palapa Lounge
Relax at the Oceanfront Palapa Lounge with kitchenette and dining area ...
Palapa Lounge, with plenty of space to relax in privacy and enjoy the day going by
Walk down the jungle path to the beach...
...where the path ends and another day at Mar al Cielo is waiting to begin.
Stroll along beach 5 min. to a wonderful bay...enjoy a pick-nick and swimming
Explore private jungle walking trails... Wildlife and bird watching at its best!
With our binoculars, books & check-list - You're Birding! or take a Professional Guided Tour
Enjoy exciting views of the wildlife that make their home at Mar al Cielo.
Relax to the sounds of birds and the waves...listen for whales spouting and jumping
And at the end of the day you always have a tranquil sunset just for you.
Experience Mar al Cielo, where nature, privacy and beauty are just the start of your next vacation!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Lo de Marcos, Pacific Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marsha D
Florence, or
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical and Unique”
Reviewed March 11, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and we wanted a unique property to celebrate it. We found it at Mar al Cielo! Staying up above the tree canopy and seeing the parrots flying around you, as well as a plethora of other birds, and with butterflies everywhere was magical. We loved the outside stone tub and shower! The views were magnificent. Sitting in the outside tub soaking with a 180 degree view of the Pacific ocean outside under the blue sky was intoxicating. So very private. Carlos prepared the meals and his delightful wife Jodi served them, at a private table under the palapa right on the ocean at sunset! Jodi is an elegant hostess. Carlo's food was excellent. No need to take meals anywhere else because his cannot be beat. Raul came and cleaned every other day and brought us fresh tangerine juice which was awesome. He would also bring us cold coconuts with straws and we would drink the juice and he would cut up the coconut meat for us. Great hospitality! You are in the jungle, so you can expect some bugs (we used lavender oil and it handled most of the mosquitos, which only came out around dusk) Enchanting experience! We scheduled a massage with Tamara and that was incredible also. We get massages every other week at home and always while on vacation, so we are no stranger to good ones. She gave us one of the best we have ever had! Great experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being above the tree forest canopy
Liked least: Heat/we live in Pacific NW and are used to cool temps to sleep at night.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acej
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So lovely it was hard to leave..”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This hidden away little gem is a nature lover's paradise. We recently spent 7 days there. It is out of the way (which we liked), about a 40 minute walk up a little mountain from Lo de Marcos, or about 30 minutes down to Lo de Marcos. So you'll have to be fully capable of walking up dirt roads, paths and cliffs if you want to take full advantage of the place and go to the beach etc. Was great for pus as we liked the exercise. On the walk you'll see tons of species of butterflies hovering about, fluttering doing their thing, some amazing large white ones too. On the property grounds there are more butterflies, many types of birds, several species of hummingbirds (day and night), and a family of shy white-nosed coatamudis (tejóns). The casita itself is quite fine, the outdoor kitchen is cool too, we cooked most all of our meals (eating twice a day) and enjoyed that. There is a palapa about 50 meters down the path from the casita (the highest part of your lodging) this is your living room. It is awesome, incredible 180 degree plus views, saw whales several times a day here, had a fire at night and saw zillions of stars, constellations, a comet burning up, and several shooting stars. The beach down the cliff is private enough (except at low tide) that we swam nude and had it all to ourselves. The waves are wild and there are many rocks so you can't swim here, only little dips at the edges while you keep an eye out so the waves don't crunch you. There is a more swimmable beach about a 20 minute walk away. Two of our days we didn't leave the property and it was great, not seeing anyone, only wildlife and the jungle. I could have done this more but we also wanted to visit La Pineta etc. There were only two negatives about our stay, 1) we got eaten alive by little biting bugs/mosquitos so bring some strong repellent if you plan to be outside during the hour before and after sunrise and sunset and anytime you're walking in the jungle or even down the dirt road from the casita; and 2) almost every day for an hour or two at a time there was a sewer/dead animal smell/fish smell emanating from the toilet area and/or kitchen, it was really repulsive. No one could figure out exactly what it was so we had to tolerate it.
All in all it was still worth it, it is expensive but that's the price you pay for (near) paradise or something like it :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nature, and more nature, the views and more nature, and cooking for ourselves.
Liked least: The biting bugs/mosquitos and the sewer/dead fish smell from time to time.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cora A
1 review
“Heaven Can Wait”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I felt like I was in Heaven our whole stay. I walked down to the palapa and it smelled like God had sprayed cologne on the path for me. As we walked up the path a flower fell at my feet.. Butterflies were everywhere. You could hear and see many birds. What a treat! We were the only ones there. It's an 11 acre retreat with only Jodi, Carlos & Raoul. And they only showed up when you needed them. Carlos was an excellent chef for dinner and breakfast. Raoul was so thoughtful and his attention to details was extraordinary! Jodi, what a great host! She made us feel welcome the moment we arrived. I wouldn't change a thing except have Carlos cook more often! There are many hiking trails to experience and many beaches to explore I will not forget the day the whales showed an appearance. They were so close. No binoculars needed for some sightings. I loved the isolation of this place. Some may not like that, but I loved it. One thing to be aware of though, it is a good walk up hill to the villa from the palapa. We loved the exercise, so it was not an issue for us, but someone who has any physical disabilities may have some trouble experiencing what we did. Don't worry about driving the road in and out. We had no troubles getting there at night, but the road is a little rough. Take your time and trust the instructions that Jodi has given and you won't have any troubles. We can't wait until our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion
Liked least: The time we had there was too short -
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annet_Moe...
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing again!”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was the third time visiting this oceanfront retreat and is was amazing again!
The “private” beach, palapa lounge area and the living space upstairs are all perfect!
And we tried so three new things:
-Horseback riding with Lenny's Lo de Marcos adventures
-Paddle boarding with Xplore Mexico’s Oliver
-Carlos home cooking.
We would recommend all of them.
No better place to watch the sun go down
Thank you Jodi and Carlos for sharing your beautiful place with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: oceanfront, quiet, private
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annet_Moe...
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“• Amazing ocean front retreat!”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in January 2013

We wrote this review in February 2013: We just came home from a wonderful week at this romantic, ocean front retreat. Mar al cielo is private and secluded, but close enough to walk to the little Mexican town Lo de Marcos. We did our shopping for the whole week at the Mega on our way from the airport and there is no need to leave. A warm welcome by the owners Jodi & Carlos and the playing whales right of the coast. Our very relaxing week was filled with beach, waves, reading, hiking, sand, movies, Mexican food, wine and each other. This jungle paradise exceded our expectations! Thanks Jodi and Carlos for sharing your property with us. Jos&Annet from Abbotsford, B.C., Canada.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: secluded ocean front retreat
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyolife
Victoria, British Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect place to get away from it all!”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you're looking for a place to get away from the hustle & bustle of beach town life, wake up in the jungle to the sound of birds and ocean with a wrap-around vista of sky and sea, then Mar al Cielo might be your idea of paradise! Sleep in your hilltop casita in a king-size bed with luxury cotton linens, shower on the patio (nobody around to see: very liberating!) and then have breakfast either in the kitchen or on one of the patios by the casita: or make your way down the hill to the palapa where there's another small kitchen and dining,area, plus sitting and hammock area. We loved our routine of coffee by the casita and then breakfast and whale & dolphin watching in the palapa. We were thrilled to see a mother and baby whale every day of our stay. Our hosts Jodi and Carlos went out of their way to make us feel at home. They offer a jungle dining service where they will serve a delicious 3 course meal including a margerita and wine if desired which we enjoyed on our first evening. We spent 9 wonderful days there using it as a base to explore neighbouring villages of Lo de Marcos, San Francisco, Sayulita and more. We did rent a car for the freedom of getting around, Plenty of activities for fitness and nature enthusiasts: climb down a path to the ocean and swimming, climb up thru winding jungle paths. Have I mentioned the sunsets? Picture this: endless sea & sky with a 180 degree clifftop view. Can't wait to get back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Solitude
Liked least: mosquitos! there had been a lot of rain, we were in the jungle and it was no problem when we remembered to apply bug spray
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing