We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Harbour at Ballintoy where much of Games of Thrones filming took place.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harbour at Ballintoy where much of Games of Thrones filming took place.
Kitchen with dining table. Cosy lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Harbour at Ballintoy where much of Games of Thrones filming took place.
Kitchen with dining table.
Cosy lounge
Causeway Coast Porthole Cottage in summer
Whitepark Beach
Giant's Causeway
Portrush Harbour
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Sunset - Whitepark Beach
Ideal photo opportunities
Mussenden Temple, Downhill. Favoured beauty spot for wedding photos.
Rock formations - Whitepark Beach
Beach is constantly changing
Porthole window which gives the cottage its name
National Trust, Whitepark Bay
Portbraddan - just around the corner from Whitepark Bay
Double bedroom
The neighbours!!
How to start the day!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dunseverick, Bushmills, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
11crooked...
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A true home from home”
Reviewed June 2, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We recently spent a week at Porthole Cottage having come over for the NorthWest200 races. This was our annual pilgrimage for the races, every year we rent a house as a base and then in between practise and race events we tour all over on our motorcycles.
Porthole Cottage is ideally located on the glorious Causeway Coast. Lying just off the main Causeway Route less than a mile from the coast and between the Giants Causeway and the Rope Bridge it is between Bushmills and Ballycastle, so giving plenty of options which ever way you turn.
Nestled into wonderful countryside, the cottage was originally a traditional irish long house with adjoining farm building. Having been consolidated and updated, it offers two large bedrooms, a wonderful kitchen, bathroom and comfortable sitting room. An oil-fired range does a wonderful job of heating the house and gives all the hot water you need (and hot means hot). The kitchen also has a modern electric fan oven / grill, hob, microwave oven, a washing machine and a tumble drier (also a washing line), so offers everything you need for your stay. Bed linen and towels are also provided and were clean and fresh.
The owners / hosts live near by so can be easily contacted and readily available if required, but otherwise leave you to enjoy your stay. Margaret also leaves a welcome pack in the kitchen so late arrivals do not need to immediately find a shop for milk and bread. She makes great bread by the way . x
This was our first stay at Porthole, but not our first stay in this area. I can honestly say it was one of our best experiences and we had a great week. We felt very much at home here and its location makes it ideal for exploring both the coast and glen routes; turning right or left when leaving will put you on the road for a great day out.
Honestly, my only fault would be that as we didn't have sat-nav on the bikes and I'd left the address info back in Dublin it's tucked away location made it hard to find even after ringing Margaret for guidance. But that's me being a numpty. But once found, never forgotten.
A big thank you to the hosts for a great stay. I whole heartedly recommend Porthole Cottage for your Causeway home from home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2018
Thank you for such a positive and comprehensive review of Porthole Cottage. We are always delighted when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and appreciate you sharing with others through TripAdvisor. To both of you I say a big ‘thank you’ for taking such good care of the cottage and leaving it in such great order. Happy biking! Kind regards, Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxinenel...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Short stay”
Reviewed December 22, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The hosts were very welcoming, they made us feel at home and could not have been more helpful. House was very cosy, clean and warm with an open fire. Very good location close to beaches, restaurants and tourist attractions such as the Giants's causeway and Bushmills distillery. Would absolutely visit again. Thank you for a pleasurable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Maxine, Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are always delighted when our guests enjoy their stay with us. Hope to see you sometime again. Best wishes for the new year.
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimeOut8R
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
Reviewed November 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The Cottage was 6miles from Bushmills & its distillery. It's in a very quite location & beautiful. There's plenty of attractions in easy reach one being Giant's Causeway. The amenities of the Cottage was great extra towels blankets hot water bottles, all was there including washing machine & tumble dryer. There was so much room about the place it is out of this world utterly fantastic. There were cow's sheep & couple horses that use the owners land if that's your like which is truly our like & I spoke with them. You can see the sea from the kitchen window & there's a walker's pathway. The owners Magaret & Bill are utterly fantastic so helpful so friendly & fantastically adorable. We loved them & their cottage so much that we can't wait untill the next time. Nothing has affected us in the PLUS ZONE like this couple & their rental before. XXXXX

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2017
Dear Dawn and Chris,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of PortholeCottage. We are always delighted when our guests have a good experience and even more so when they let Trip Advisor and other potential guests know about us. We wish you both well and thank you for leaving the cottage in such great order. Look forward to your return visit!!
Kind regards, Bill & Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrailBlaz...
1 review
“Beautiful and comfortable cottage on a splendid location close to the coast”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Porthole Cottage is on a splendid location close to the Causeway Coast, close to Ballintoy, Ballycastle, Bushmills and, not to forget, the Giant's Causeway.
The cottage is spacious and very comfortable and is perfect for everyone who wants to explore the Causeway Coast. The friendly owners, Margaret and Bill, made sure that we had everything we would need.
We certainly recommed it!

Marten and Minka Sikkens, Nuenen (The Netherlands)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Marten and Minka,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. It was lovely to have you come to stay and we are so glad you enjoyed your holiday. I also wish to thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy. Every good wish for many more happy holidays!! Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fay B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Self Catering Cottage”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Very cosy and well equipped cottage with open fire, excellent for walkers etc or those looking for tranquility. Set on a beautiful coastline, our days we're filled sightseeing and visiting local cafes and bars. A must is visiting Ratilin Island & Portstewart Beach, Margaret and Bill are the friendliest and most welcoming hosts we've ever met. On arrival we were greeted with warm fresh homemade cake and bread. We were celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary during our stay and received a beautiful card and bottle of bubbly from our hosts. Having travelled the world I can honestly say this one of the nicest cottages and nicest hosts we have ever come across and we can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Dear Fay and Stephen,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive report on Porthole Cottage. We are delighted when our guests have a good experience and especially when they share their thoughts with others as well as ourselves. Hope to meet you again sometime. Regards Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geumtrifl...
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Location”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Porthole Cottage is perfectly located to take the cliff walk from Whitepark Bay to the Giant’s Causeway. One can then catch the bus back, and then it is a short walk up the road to the cottage. This is one of the cleanest cottages we have ever stayed in, and it is spotless. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking and the lounge is very comfortable. The cottage is located in a very quiet, rural location. WiFi is not speedy but was perfectly reliable. Margaret suggested we drop into the Coffee Bothy, which is a short distance away, it is a wonderful place for coffee. Margaret is very kind and welcoming. We enjoyed our short stay in Porthole Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Marsha,
Thank you for that very positive review of Porthole Cottage. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and perhaps we will have the opportunity of having you return for a longer stay. You were the ideal guests. Regards Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genebelle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy clean cottage”
Reviewed February 15, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Enjoyed a lovely stay at Porthole Cottage. It was very cosy even on a cold February evening. Very clean and Margaret was an excellent host, providing us with lovely home baked wheaten bread. Ideally situated for walking entusiastick.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Hi Jean
Thank you for writing that very positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope that sometime in the future we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Porthole Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing