We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Simon G

Marvellous, restorative stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 21, 2024
We were exhausted from moving house when we went for a week to Masseria Bagnara and looking for peace and quiet. The Masseria fulfilled our requirements - and more. It's not easy to find on Google maps but once we were there we were looked after to the highest standard. Being early in the season our room was upgraded to a beautiful suite, looking out over the pool, poppy-filled fields and the sea in the distance. We swam in the beautiful pool and the sea (both fresh in April), went for walks along the beach, just under a mile from the hotel on foot, and made trips to Taranto, Grottaglie (great ceramics) and other smaller places (you need a car). Throughout, we were looked after beautifully by Salvatore, Giulia and Alessandro who were attentive without ever being overbearing, supremely courteous. Breakfasts by Sylvia were outstanding - we were amazed each morning by the generous array of food, including fresh fruit, eggs and croissants. We had two dinners at the Masseria, both of which were also delicious. It's not cheap but the Masseria Bagnara provides a high quality experience at every turn. We shall be back!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
4.1 km from Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agriturismo l' Annunziata
  • Agoda.com
5.2 km from Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
La Nuova Fattoria "Bed&Restaurant"
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
4.3 km from Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ingresso King Room
  • Agoda.com
5.9 km from Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
5.9 km from Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
6.2 km from Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
6.5 km from Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Panorama del giardino
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa
Beachfront
Restaurant
    6.4 km from Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa
    Restaurant
      6.7 km from Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Lizzano
      Reviews (416)
      Filter reviews
      416 results
      Traveller rating
      350
      48
      15
      3
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      350
      48
      15
      3
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews the owner swimming pool wine cellar great food every evening surrounded by fields peaceful place main building his team puglia dinner wines sea menu km terrace moment
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 416 reviews
      Reviewed April 21, 2024

      We had a truly wonderful time at the Masseria Bagnara. We went for a week in mid-April to re-charge our batteries, so we want peace and quiet, warm weather and relaxation. Out of season we certainly had all of that including having the outdoor pool to ourselves most days which was great. The staff were absolutely amazing: attentive, caring, discreet, full of hospitality and happy to accommodate you. We wanted for nothing. The front of house staff Salvatore and Julia were extremely helpful and warm, the really pleasant owner came to say hello to us every day, and the kitchen and dining room staff, Sylvia and Mimo, were just lovely.
      The food at the Masseria is fantastic - we would have very happily eaten there every night. But we also got great recommendations from the staff (since not that much is open pre-season) which we acted on.
      The countryside was in full flush, and there are plenty of towns nearby to visit and enjoy. We walked to the sandy beach by the sea nearly every day - again, we had it largely to ourselves, and we also braced the admittedly still rather cold - but crystal clear - water, and not just running in, holding our breath and rushing back to shore.
      We cannot recommend this Masseria too highly, especially for those wanting a relaxing, quiet time, in quality surroundings and with brilliant staff.

      Room tip: Go out of season (April-May; September-October) - it's particularly wonderful then. Definitely eat in their restaurant - excellent food!
      Date of stay: April 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Vacationer759260
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed September 18, 2023 via mobile

      After a hectic few days in Matera we transferred to Masseria Bagnara near Lizzano. We were sold on the white buildings in the pictures from our travel agent but in reality they can’t highlight the true beauty of this place.

      From our first welcome from Salvatore and Julia who were omnipresent and so helpful during our four day stay…. With Alessandro the owner and his son Amadeo who were also always on hand and the wine cellar to retire in….to the amazing Chef Carlo (why would you go anywhere else to eat when the food is so fabulous and innovative?)…. to the fantastic breakfast, lunch and dinner server teams who sadly I can’t name but they were so attentive ….. lovely rooms which were amazingly serviced with fresh towels and linen each day by the housekeepers…. To the pool …. Heaven. Will be back and would highly recommend

      Room tip: Just visit
      Date of stay: September 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Bill A
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed July 23, 2023 via mobile

      Amazing experience, amazing service and very attentive staff to all your needs. Rooms are amazing with very comfortable closet, shower, great bed, large room and private outdoor sitting area just in front of your room. The pool is fabulous and overlooks the fields and because the structure is elevated you get a nice breeze as well. The owner Alessandro is always present and attentive to whatever you need or desire as well as all the staff. Let's talk about the food, the chef is amazing, always attentive and ready to prepare whatever you desire. The dishes are superb to say the least and the menu changes daily always with fresh and local ingredients. You want something that's not on the menu? Not a problem at all.
      They also have a spa which makes the experience at the Masseria even more relaxing. For wine lovers.....the wine cellar is one of the most complete I have ever seen, this is the place to find your rare bottle and enjoy it. The bar is also as complete with an enormous variety of grappa's, amaro's and much more and cigar selection as well! Am writing this while still here and leaving tomorrow and did not want to leave anything out. But the live experience is certainly a must if you come to Puglia.
      Oh forget about all the decorative details and design, just exquisite!!!
      A presto e grazie della vostra ospitalità e gentilezza.

      Room tip: Use Wayz and not Google as your GPS if you drive here.
      Date of stay: July 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank John F
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed July 28, 2022 via mobile

      This is a great boutique resort, in a quite secluded environment. It says 4 star, but for me it is at 5 star level. Great service, great food, super, really super swimming pool. And they have an amazing wine cellar. For wine lovers, ask for advise and visit the wine cellar, because only a limited amount of available wines are on the wine list you get at dinner. Their complete list consists of thousands of wines vary from affordable to really expensive (yes they have all the super Tuscans) . Many thanks to the owners and the staff for giving us such a great time!
      Also ask for advise when you want to go to the beach, they can make reservations for you at beach clubs.

      Date of stay: July 2022
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank LukV460
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed July 14, 2022 via mobile

      We simply love this place and we highly recommend it. We enjoyed all the attention that was brought to us by the owner and his team. They all made us feel special. We loved the attention to each detail, to the art pieces spread around the property and you realize that everything has been done and put into place with passion. Peaceful place, surrounded by fields and authentic nature, the sea is just a few minutes away. We also liked the swimming pool and the SPA.

      Date of stay: July 2022
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank ashortadvice
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews