We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Falling asleep to falling water....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walters Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Falls Inn & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Falling asleep to falling water....”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Tucked away along the Bruce Trail - The Falls Inn is a great place to stay, jump on the Bruce Trail, relax a bit and enjoy an excellent meal. Service was friendly and prompt, suggestions for local touring were excellent and the meals were excellent. With the majority (all?) the rooms backing on to the falls - you can leave your window open a bit and fall asleep to cascading water. Hopefully more people will venture to Walter's Falls to check it out....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingWriterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    68
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
37
135
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Our group has recently stayed at The Falls Inn for a business meeting. We spent 4 nights there and we had a wonderful time thanks to the owners’ and their staff efforts, their friendliness and professionalism. Here are a few reasons why we would recommend this hotel to other travellers:

Every email I sent to Meg, one of the owners, has been answered within minutes.
We asked for an earlier c/i and although they still had wedding guests from a night before, they were able to have the rooms and the meeting room ready in time.
All the rooms had a beautiful view.
-The staff was extremely accommodating as to the hours of our meals, even changed them on a very short notice and provided us with recommendations of other local restaurants.
- We asked for bacon for breakfast and the next morning it was on the menu.
We had all our lunches out on the patio overlooking very picturesque Walters Falls.
-The hotel restaurant offers fine dining with a wide variety of food items that are absolutely delicious (kudos to the outstanding chef). The presentation of all meals was extremely appealing and they were always served with a genuine smile.

Thank you Meg, Dwayne, Anita, Jackie, Jane and Cathy for making our stay enjoyable. We will definitely consider The Falls Inn in our future travel plans and will recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: If looking for a nice restaurant in the area, try The Mill in Thornbury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank technofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

While visiting family in Collingwood, we sought some respite from the bustle of Blue Mountain and found the Falls Inn through Ontario's Finest Inns. From the friendly phone call confirming our reservation, to a seamless check-in, quiet dinner and natural splendour, the Inn fulfilled our every expectation. Its proximity and access to the falls was a lovely added bonus, along with tastefully decorated, spacious rooms and well-appointed bathrooms. Small balconies allow guests to take in the beauty of one's surroundings - a lovely touch. Breakfast is a delight - don't "guilt out" and miss the French toast! And now to toast the Inn's owners: To be honest, one big reason we chose this hotel was the response of the establishment's owners to a few off-base posts here on tripadvisor. I admired the candor and control shown in the face of some pretty outrageous allegations. Thank you tripadvisor for allowing us all to benefit from our mutual experiences, but also for letting those being criticized to respond.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roberin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here on the Canada Day long weekend and despite the warnings we were given we found the property with no problem - an
absolute miricle for us as we ALWAYS get lost at least once! The front of the Hotel is still a work in process but don't let that put you off. This is a beautiful place; gorgeous scenery, peaceful setting, wonderful staff and excellant food. Breakfast is included and was very good. The grats are added on to the bill and that was fine with us once we realized it - one staff member ended up with a 35% tip - and the service was very good. The hotel provides books, movies, board games - we never once turned the t.v. on. We can,t wait to go back

Room Tip: All the rooms have great falls views Our batbroom had a heated floor - nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gowens56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review :)

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Just a note for future guests, we do remind our guests at the time of check-in that packages are subject to automatic tax and gratuity suggestion as a time saver for those guests. The item is read on the sign-in sheet before signing. I know we cover alot about security, parking, ice etc. so it is understandable that some may hear us on the first introduction. But the policy is not hidden or ment to suprise. Your bill-to-room slip still allows you to increase or decrease the gratuities as you wish. We have come to understand that package guests want to enjoy the trip and leave the details to us.

Happy traveling!
Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We love The Falls Inn!! Everything about it, the amazing food, sparkling clean rooms and grounds, and last but definitely not least the excellence staff, who make us feel like old friends. We love The Falls Inn so much that we have chosen it as our venue for our wedding next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandSLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I will admit that this is a property that is very scenic and maybe the food is good but we'll never know because after securing a reservation with a deposit paid they got a better offer (for a wedding and use of whole property) and simply cancelled my party, refunded my deposit , and had a reservation clerk make it seem like it was all her fault by making a mistake. There was no mistake, it was intentional because as the Innkeeper told me by telephone " 130 people are more important than 8 people to a small business" and then had the nerve to be offended when I told him legally he was liable. He kept sending offensive emails to me throughout the evening up to almost midnight. I consider that an abuse of my email address which was not provided to him for that purpose. He knew he was wrong and kept trying to defend what he had done. They belong to an association of
"Ontario Finest Inns" and I complaint was made to them. I have stayed at numerous other properties of this association and have never encountered such a situation. As a matter of fact I have never encountered such a situation at ANY OTHER FACILITY EVER. I have been bumped on airlines and at hotels before and they are always make other arrangements for you and add something for the inconvenience> That is the industry standard. So if you intend to go there make sure you have alternate arrangements in case they get a better offer!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank eileenwallace1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
eileenwallace1958, I know we discussed your booking request at length before you took your comments to the Internet so I am surprised you left out details and spun the situation as you have knowing we would respond to set things straight. For instance you know the bride that booked the date was on property touring with Meg and finalizing their contract at the time you called to book your getaway with reservations. You know deposits were received from both of you. You are also aware that you were not happy with our usual package pricing and room assignments and asked for a manager to contact you to finalize the details of your reservation and discuss the pricing discounts. So posting here like the reservation was final when details were not discussed and no confirmation was given is incorrect and misleading to our future guests.

It was only after you insisted on a phone call that we should honor your request ahead of the bride's contract that I indicated that given the two offers and deposits we had to make the decision to go ahead with the larger party. I guess I could have just indicated that we would proceed with the wedding that deposited and finalized their plans first. But you make it sound like your party was a done deal and we removed you to work with them. That was not the case.

I also have the email you were sent offering to help you locate accommodation that would be suitable for your group. We were ready to assist with new arrangements and we were even discussing how we could compensate you for your trouble. The office at Ontario's Finest made a similar offer. Once you informed us you were discussing your booking request with lawyers and my last emails (all in response to emails you sent me) were being forward to the police for abusing your address it was clear we could have no further contact with you on the topic. You also forgot to mention we informed you within 48 hours of the enquiry about the situation and gave you five months to make new arrangements.

We hope you are able to locate a suitable venue.

Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The pictures on their website do not do this place justice. It is a hard place to find but once you find it, it is a pure oasis. We checked in to friendly staff and proceeded up the spiral staircase to our cherry suite. The room was clean, treats awaited us on the table. The door to the balcony opened to a iron table for two overlooking the falls. Absolutely breathtaking. The room has very high ceilings, a window in the bathroom, a nice spacious bathroom with bathtub (and a rubber ducky which is a cute added touch) as well as a shower and a lighted make-up mirror. The room also has coffee maker and a fridge which is always an added bonus. All the added touches, jewelry box, nice pictures, artwork etc. We had dinner on the patio, the salmon was amazing. We slept in very comfortable two queen beds and opened the screened window to the sleep to the sound of waterfalls. They have a quaint gift shop near the premise but its only opened on weekends. It is my first time to an Inn and to the area. It is slightly difficult to find, I do not recall seeing signs to the Inn but if you have a GPS you should be okay and well worth it when you arrive. Even the person at check out was very helpful and very friendly, top notch customer service. After staying her with my colleague we both plan on coming back again this summer for the weekend to enjoy the Inn and the area more. They also have WiFi so if you switch to WiFi you can get internet access most places in the premises. This is a hidden gem in Ontario.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaay_see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walters Falls
31.9 km away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
20.3 km away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
19.2 km away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 km away
Inn at Cobble Beach Resort and Spa
34.8 km away
Pretty River Valley Country Inn
24.7 km away
The Guest House at Eugenia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls Inn & Spa

Property: The Falls Inn & Spa
Address: 140 Front St. W, Walters Falls, Ontario N0H 2S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Walters Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Walters Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falls Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ontario's Finest Inn on the site of Walter's Falls historic sawmill overlooking Walter's Falls, a 45' double plunge waterfall near Owen Sound and Collingwood Ontario. Fine Dining, spa services, hiking on the Bruce Trail, local golf courses and many winter attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Falls Inn - Walter`s Falls Hotel Walters Falls
The Falls Inn & Spa Walters Falls, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing