We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
148
83
14
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
83
14
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bruce trail travelzoo voucher scones patio overlooking french toast grey county small balcony yogurt heated floors owen sound banquet room two night stay wonderful spot getaway package great chef intimate wedding lovely weekend
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 255 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2018

It was a very disappointing stay. The housekeeping was not completed one day. The room was in need of updating. The location was too from other amenities. We did not feel the stay was worth the money.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Hi Doug,

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit. As indicated in your friends review below we had a momentary issue in housekeeping that has been resolved since your visit. We were quick to resolve issues as we were aware of them during your stay. But we are happy to say these issues have not happened since you were here a couple of months ago.

As for the location, we provide a map on our website so everyone knows what to expect that way before arrival. A little online research will ensure you stay in the area you prefer. As the tourist hot-spots run between Collingwood and Tobermory - a full 3 hours away from each other - staying central with us is the best plan if you want to explore everytjhing over a few days.

Thank you for the feedback and all the best,

Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper,
The Falls Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018

A picturesque setting but remote. A disappointing stay, primarily due to poor basic housekeeping. On arrival we encountered food debris on the staircase to our second floor rooms and it was still there when we left 4 days later. We had to request additional toiletries each day. Our rooms were not made up on the second night necessitating an evening visit to the front desk to also request clean towels and toilet paper. (When our companions reported the problem to the front desk, the staff initially blamed them for not putting used towels in the correct spot!!!) Bathroom fan vent was filthy - obviously not cleaned in months. Satellite TV temperamental with no in-room operating instructions. Breakfast nice. We had one evening dinner that was memorable but for the wrong reasons. A nice portion of fresh fish & sides but overcome by too much ambition with dressings and toppings. We will not be back.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vern S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Hi Vern S, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

There are a few items here that are just personal preference. For instance, the trout has been our hottest seller this season with many positive comments in person and reviews online. So, I would invite others to decide for themselves.

Similarly, our TV setup is an 'off-the-shelf' TV + set-top system. Instructions would not be needed as this works the same as at home for 95% of guests. You to turn on the TV, ensure the input is set correctly, turn on the set-top, select guide (selecting TV on the top of the remote to control the TV and SAT to control the set-top). The 4 steps are universal so providing instructions that get lost, damaged and need replacing often is not helpful in most situations. To make things easier housekeeping has the TV on and set to a music channel on arrival to ensure everything is working. This confirms the input is already correct and the TV is on eliminating two of the four required steps.

I am sorry to hear you had issues with housekeeping during your stay. We do everything we can to hire and train during the off season, so everyone is ready to provide great service during the peak season. Unfortunately, this year we had to start over at the wrong time. Your feedback has been shared to reinforce how important it is for these things to be done properly. To that end, the follow-up question: 'were your dirty linens in the bathtub or hanging up' is required for us to fully understand how to provide proper instruction to housekeeping and ensure our processes are working to serve our guests. The question is not about blame. It's about knowing what happened, so we can be informed for our continued staff training.

I am happy to say that with your help from the feedback provided, these issues have been resolved over the months since your stay. You will see from our other revies that housekeeping issues are not normal here. I am sorry they happened during your visit. Ultimately, your feedback helped us correct this issue and we will contine to work towards a great customer experience for every visit.

All the best,
Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper
The Falls Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

My only complaint is about the accommodation itself. We booked a suite for three adults, no couples amongst us. The queen bed was in the same room as the “living room,” making privacy difficult. Especially since the second bedroom was very small with no outside-facing windows, just two small “skylight” windows high on one wall that let a bit of light in from the lobby windows. Very claustrophobic. Also, the rug had stains and the decor looked a bit tired/dated with scuffs in places.

The bathroom was nice, though.

The in-room coffee was ghastly but they did offer me a much better coffee when I went down to sit in the lobby.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank kkabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Hi kkabroad,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit overall.

Our seasonal carpet cleaning just happened this week. Extra time was spent in your room to eliminate the spots your mentioned. This cleaning is done regularly to keep the carpets looking great. There was a little bit of bad timing with your visit being just before the cleaning.

Otherwise understanding the room layouts, amenities and features can happen before arrival with a little online research. We offer 360 photos of the rooms from our website, so you can 'look around' the space before booking or arriving. We are also happy to answer questions during booking. We never want guests in a room that is not suitable for their stay.

I am surprised to hear you did not like the in-room coffee. Great care has been taken to develop that system. The bar sink has a Britta filter to further purify our Municipal town water, the coffee is a National brand in a filter pack (not a k-cup or pod) used in a proper percolator and we offer fresh milk and cream in the mini-fridge in your suite along with raw sugar and other sweeteners. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the restaurant coffee. But we took lots of care in providing a better-than-normal in-room coffee that most guests really appreciate. I hope it just boils down to personal preference.

Thank you again for the review. Perhaps on another visit you would prefer 2 Maple or Cherry rooms instead of our Mahogany Suite?

All the best,
Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper
The Falls Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Stayed here for 3 days to visit around the area. We had a Travelzoo voucher which included one dinner per stay and breakfast every day (although the room itself would include your breakfast of $6 per person anyway). The room was clean, nothing fancy, comfortable bed, lots of towels, good shower, there was a small fridge. Not much of a view, through the trees. Service was great. Had to ask for a window seat at one point, as we were always given other tables. Food was very good, they also accommodated our "split" orders and would make two plates for us - much appreciated.
It was a bit far from other place of interest. If you want a nice weekend getaway it's perfect, but we wanted to visit a bit around the area, so had to drive a lot.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheers4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Hi Cheers4us,

Thank you for the review. Of course I disagree with 'nothing fancy' as your room has a seperate tub and shower (you mentioned the shower, but the spacious soaker tub is fancy in my view), bar sink with water purifier, proper percolated coffee, real milk and cream in the mentioned fridge and raw sugar provided. Beds are thick, comfortable pillow tops and all rooms have a falls-side balcony. And this was a Maple or standard room.

As a tip, the upgraded rooms are closer to the falls, are more spacious and often offer a fancy 12 foot high cieling ;)

For travelling in the area it is important to remember that the tourist areas from Blue Mountain to Tobermory are about 3 hours apart. Staying central as you did is the best way to eliminate additional driving. But as the region is so large, lots of driving is needed to see it all.

All the best,
Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper
The Falls Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2018

We were looking for a quiet, romantic getaway. This place was perfect. There is not much in walking distance (we knew this). The hotel is nice, clean and has good views, but isn't fancy (we expected this based on web searches). It was what we wanted. A cozy place at a reasonable price. What we didn't know was that the service would be so amazing. Everyone that works there has been outstanding. We had so much fun with all of them. Special shout out to Jane, Michelle and Whitney. The food was also incredibly good. So we were very well fed on our romantic getaway - Kudos to their chef. Overall I can highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a great few days away in lovely surroundings with incredible service. Another bonus, the other guests around us were clearly having the same experience as we had many fun conversations with them about how great this place was. This place exceeded my expectations.

Room tip: ALL rooms have a falls view -- amazaing
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cathimiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Hi Cathi, thank you for the kind review.

The rooms are not fancy if you were looking for granite and marble. But there are fancy features like seperate (deep) tub and shower, bar sink with water purifier, real coffee (not pods or k-cups), fresh milk and cream with raw sugar provided, a mini fridge and falls-side balcony. These items are standard, though upgraded rooms offer even more.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and that the guests around you felt the same way.

We hope to see you again!

All the best,
Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper
The Falls Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews