We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“6 star nature, hospitality and comfort”
Ariel view of Colina Verde
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ariel view of Colina Verde
Terrace at sunset Whale room, one of  seven luxury bedrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Ariel view of Colina Verde
Terrace at sunset
Whale room, one of  seven luxury bedrooms
Lunch with an ocean view
Visit to Maputo Special Reserve
View of Colina Verde from heated infinity pool
Sunrise over the ocean
Deep sea fishing - catch and release programme
View of Colina Verde
Tennis court in the forest
The dining room at night
Leave only footprints
View from the terrace over hot tub, infinity pool and ocean
Entrance hall
Inhaca room, one of seven luxury bedrooms
View over pool and ocean at night
Living room
map of the area
The beach at Colina Verde
Picnic on Inhaca island after snorkelling
View of Inhaca island and Machangulo peninsula
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Machangulo, Maputo Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DirkvanR9...
Bussum, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“6 star nature, hospitality and comfort”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

I was in Culina Verde for four days with friends, and found it an absolutely astonishing destination. It's not easy to convey the magic of this place in a few words, but here goes. The house has unbelievable views of the ocean, a huge deserted beach at its doorstep (a turtle sanctuary), and is surrounded by lush, bird-rich vegetation. No house or road in sight. The house itself is huge, stylish and immaculately maintained. Every activity is catered for - games room, fitness room, yoga room, a huge pool, a tennis court, a library...). We went fishing with Graham and caught several fish bigger than a meter, and saw lots of dolphins and turtles. We did not have time to go there, but a big wildlife reserve is just a short 4WD drive away. The service that is offered by the management team Graham and Lucy is great - attentive, relaxed and personable. Also loved the food although I guess we were lucky that a South African star chef was there to provide the staff with some extra training. Of course the remoteness of the location has a downside: travel time. But if you can afford it, it only takes a half hour helicopter trip from Maputo Airport (we saw a giant manta ray and a dugong/manatee).

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Fishing
Liked least: Internet connectivity
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“The Most Beautiful and Unique Place I have ever Visited!”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Having stayed at Colina Verde in Mozambique, I can truly say I have visited another world! A helicopter brought my friends and I to this magical place, where we were greeted by the wide, warm smile of Graham in a rugged 4 wheel-drive vehicle. He took us to the magical property of Colina Verde, where we were welcomed by members of the staff singing welcome to us. Lucy, Graham’s wife, handed us cool fruit drinks that sealed the feeling we had entered a kind of paradise. We got to choose from the seven beautiful bedrooms, each with its own charm, its own décor, its own ocean view, and its own private patio over- looking the Indian Ocean. There are no other houses in sight, only the rugged hills and ocean. The terrain is home to playful monkeys, lush growth, and flowers in full bloom. The hot tub, infinity pool, huge decks, magical tower, and winding path to the beach are some of the endless surprises of this fabulous house. Local trips to the village, deep sea fishing, and touring the animal reserve park are a few of the special adventures that await you in this African paradise. Go for an amazing place to reunite with old friends, or to celebrate life or an important occasion with a family group of any size. You will enter another world, with comforts beyond the comforts of home, from the soft ocean breezes at night to the delicious meals set-up in magical locations in and around this spacious and beautifully appointed home. The physical location and the natural wonders of Colina Verde will refresh and give you a new perspective and lease on life. Go and enjoy--paradise awaits you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful architecture and setting of this house!
Liked least: I love dit all!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niclaus00...
1 review
“Fantasicly located this beautiful house has everything one needs to totally relax and escape the real world stresses!”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

I spent 7 nights in the spectacular Colina Verde and we were blessed with great weather with awesome sunsets, great deep sea fishing where we caught 7 different species of fish with in a 2 hour trip, not to mention seeing a hammerhead shark!!, humpback whales and a couple of turtles. All the food was well prepared and presented and a lot of it all caught or grown locally.

The rooms are amazing each with a fantastic view and their own unique feel.

I really recommend this as a top top holiday destination which can and will cater for all of your needs..

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Heaven is: Colina Verde”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Went with a group of old friends (all women) from university for a relaxing week. What a great week it was! Everything was perfectly organised by care takers Lucy and Graham who will do their utmost best to make this the best vacation ever. The meals were gorgeous: organic, healthy, fresh fish, lots of vegetables and you can make your own pancakes or waffles in the morning. We loved it. Many activities to undertake such as fishing trips, safari, picknicks, tennis, swimming in the sea or in the pool, a work out at the gym and a visit to the village nearby. We almost cried when we had to go back home to our families and leave this paradise. We had such a great time there. Big thumbs up!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WetPlanet
White Salmon
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pure bliss in the ultimate vacation retreat”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My 5 day stay at the Colina Verde 'resort' was one of my best vacations ever, and very much recommended to anyone who is looking for a vacation or retreat in, well.., paradise!

As it was my first visit to Mozambique and the African continent, i was unsure what to expect. Upon arrival we received the warmest welcome by hosts and lodge manager Lucy, Graham and their team. All guests were where shown their own spacious comfortable quarters. The lay-out of the house is spacious and carefully designed so you can always find a quiet space to meditate or simply enjoy the views. The perfectly designed interiors create a very warm, rustic yet comfortable and friendly ambiance.

The house is superbly located on top of the dunes, with spectacular 360 views over the ocean, dunes and peninsula, with no other houses in sight. But if you look carefully early in the mornings, you will see many birds and monkeys who live in the surrounding trees.

Although instantly infected by an ultimate sense of relaxation, as you truly feel disconnected from the rest of the world - ahhh what bliss -, there is never a dull moment. The only stress one potentially feels is a result of choices to be made about what to do next. Observing monkey life from the Monkey Room, going on Turtle Watch looking for hatching turtles, going on Safari in the nearby park to see elephants and hippo's, fishing Mahi-Mahi or King Mackerel with Graham, playing tennis (again with Graham if you want a 'lesson'), and a visit to meet the friendly local people in the nearby village are just a sampling of the many things to do. Of course, simply reading a book and cooling yourself in the infinity pool in between the delicious, scrumptious, fresh meals can be enough for the day...

Highly recommended! Can't wait to go again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and layout of the house, in combination with the very friendly and fun team of staff who manage the lodge. Very welcoming, friendly, comfortable and safe.
Liked least: We never got to see and safe the little baby turtles. Mother Nature was not on our schedule ... ;)
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vittorian...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exclusivity at its best!”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2013

I've been to Colina Verde with a group of fiends: 4 families with kids ranging from 8 to 16 year old. We had the best holiday ever: nature, excitement, adventure, relaxation, privacy and wonderful shared moments.
The house is a jewel nested in the sandy dunes caddied by the Indian Ocean.
We could spot whales and dolphins just standing on the veranda, while sipping true italian coffee and freshly baked croissants.
It's hard to list all the wonderful activities we experienced during our stay at Colina Verde: maybe it's worth just mentioning a grueling football match with the local players where our young and not so young players had to give it all in order to equal the result!
Colina Verde is what you want it to be within a stunning scenario of purest sky and glorious nature. The house has been created with hart and soul and we felt it in every room, each of them with a distinctive flavor catering for highly refined palates.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Exclusivity, beauty of surroundings, majesty of nature
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia v
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I have been to Colina Verde various time, always renting the place with groups of friends. The place is magic. It's located in the middle of nowhere, you only see nature around you. Yet, in the house, you have everything you need: great views, great beds, beautifully decorated rooms, delicious healthy food prepared by chef Joy and a lot of care by the managing couple Lucy and Graham. We went fishing one day with Graham and caught huge fish. We hiked to the local village where we visited the school and the small market. And we relaxed and played tennis (we were at Colina only for four days this time). I will certainly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: no complaints at all
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing