We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
123
66
24
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
66
24
7
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 232 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2015

The hotel attitude is antipatic
Terrible servicr from the front desk
Terrible service at the bar and restaurant
The hotel stuff never smile
All the look is to charge you more money
Our friend stayed in the hotel near by -they didn't let them in even for coffee
The ruin our vacation!!!
We asked to move our after 3 days
If you have a choice -take another hotel!
We will never put our fit in this hotel

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Communi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2015

We chose this hotel in Canillo as appeared to have good ratings & it was not far from the cable car. Canillo is a relatively small village with half a dozen or so restaurants to choose from for the evenings - a little quieter than Soldeu for sure. The hotel was good as expected - the staff were friendly & appeared to work quite hard - especially the waiting staff for the buffet in mornings & evenings. The breakfast was not bad - enough of everything to choose from. The rooms were decent size & the wifi worked well - a big plus for us as need to work whilst away. The only slight niggle for us were the pillows - long & flat & just not comfortable. Otherwise a pleasant enough stay for our 4 day snowboarding break. There is plenty of parking in the little street opposite for 3 euro / day

Room Tip: higher rooms appear a little better if only for the view over the street.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2015

We spent a week in the hotel in February 2015. We were very pleased. The staff at the front desk is quite friendly and speaks English. The restaurant buffet got a bit boring after a week, however the food is well balanced and the staff is great. They remembered our room number and the kind of beer we drink. Its also possible to order a bottle of wine and have them store it for future meals. The grill for eggs in the a.m. and meet and fish in the evening is an added touch. The room was very comfortable - lots of closet space, comfortable beds. Having a refrigerator in the room is a nice addition. Even though we were on the first floor facing the street, noise wasn't bad. A few small complaints: rough toilet paper; tv with only BBC in English; a shower with a small glass wall which allows water to flood the bathroom. On the plus side - the ski locker in the garage is great and the location across the street from the gondola is great. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: we were OK on the first floor facing the street but I'm guessing that higher up would be nice.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dondg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2015

We spent in this hotel one week in February. Very good location, close to the lift, good cuisine. friendly and service minded staff. After a day of skiing in Grandvalira vast resort there was nothing better than relax in a spa area. Our room was clean, carefully maintained every day, but frankly speaking it fell short of what one could have expected of a room in a 4* hotel. Our room was located on the first floor; a small, narrow window gave to the shop and gas station located across the street. One could observe fluctuation of fuel price

To sum up - hotel very much recomended provided that you do not choose rooms street side on the first floor.

Room Tip: Higher floors rooms giving to town are much better.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bolek2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were a total of four norwegian families, with kids and teenagers, travelling together (17 all in all), to do four days of skiing in Grandvalira, Andorra.
Two nights before our arrival we received an e-mail, explaining that the whole floor containg spa-area, leisure area, games room, media room etc., unfortunately had to be closed due to a technical problem (which turned out to be a fire in the spa-area). As a compensation we were offered free passes to the Icepalace down the street (with ice rink, swimmingpool, gym-area etc). This did of course make us very sceptical and we considered cancelling our booking and staying at another hotel. We never-the-less decided to try it out since our main object was the skiing - and as itturned out - we didn't regret that decision for one second!
All our many requests regarding which children should stay in which rooms together, who should have connecting rooms, triple rooms, rooms with twin beds - or not - and so forth, were professionally taken care of and fullfilled without one mistake or problems of any kind. (Respect!)The hotel also has its own garage underneath the hotel, which is very practical (even though you can find cheaper public outdoor parking close by).
The hotel exterior and interior is very appealing and tasteful, whichs gives a nice and welcoming atmosphare. The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with, both in the restaurant, the reception and the bar. The hotel lacks absolutely nothing when it comes to service, and that alone fully compensated for the lack of spa etc. We were all given very friendly, helpful and efficient treatment during our four nights at the hotel. The skipasses were ready when they were supposed to, all seating arrangements in the restaurant were organized, the wifi functioned well, the food was just as it should be - ample and of good quality and variation, the young bartender made the most elaborate GT's imaginable - all in all - everything went incredibly smoothly! If I should mention one negative thing, though; it is the much to bright lights in the restaurant... A dimmer would come in handy... On the other hand - that is the only negative thing we could come up with! Regarding Canillo; it is a small and rather quiet village (at least compared to Soldeu, which is more of a extremely busy and hectic street, than a village). Our teenagers found Canillo to be a bit slow (which we,the parents, were quite pleased with). But Soldeu isn't further away than a short taxi ride, when the teenagers finally managed to negotiate themselves into an evening out. The hotel is situated very close to the gondola which brings you up into the skiing area, and you can't really ask for any better location in Canillo. If you prefer an quicker access into the main skiing area, and a possibility to ski all the way down to your village (and hotel), then Soldeu or El Tarter might be better locations. Having both stayed in Canillo and skied Grandvalira a couple of years ago, we knew what we could expect from Canillo and the slopes etc., but we were anyhow pleased to se that both Canillo and Grandvalira, has developed very positively. After having skied many big skiresorts in the Alps and Dolomites (Saalbach-Hinterglem-Leogang, Bad Gastein, Cortina etc.), Grandvalira is still my favourite spot because of its share size, the excellent variation of slopes, the huge skiable off-pist area, the food (yes - there are some real gems of restaurants hidden in the slopes), and the level of service. The Andorrans working in the skiresort are pleased that we are visiting them - and they show it!

Room Tip: We were given rooms towards the terrasse behind the hotel, which was very quiet and pleasant. This is recommended since Canillo is situated in a very steep valley so there aren't any really spectacular views to speak of from the rooms facing the high road anyway.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FredRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews