We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12,760)
Filter reviews
12,760 results
Traveller rating
6,724
3,672
1,470
524
370
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,724
3,672
1,470
524
370
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue moonvilla marinaprivilege loungedaisy clubpool barcasa del marmike's coffee shopprivilege packageprivilege beachprivilege guestscrepe restaurantthe lion kingquiet poolentertainment staffactivity poolmake reservationsfoam party
Filter
Updating list...
7,426 - 7,431 of 12,760 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Absolutely awful, awful experience. You could not pay us to return here. We are not picky travelers and generally stay at Best Westerns if we travel, if that tells you anything. First we arrived at the resort and the bell boys wouldn't stop hounding us to take our luggage. We didn't feel comfortable with them taking it and had to tell them repeatedly to stop grabbing at it. Now I will go step-by-step through our experience:

Front Desk
Check-in. We owed $900 for the all-inclusive ammenities and they charged us $1700. After 30 minutes of trying to figure out how to refund our card, they tell us we have a room with two double beds. I tell them it is our honeymoon and then they start sighing with frustration and go to get a manager. After another 20 minutes, they get us in a room with one queen bed.

Room
Beds are not "firm"...they are ROCK HARD. I would have been more comfortable sleeping in a lounge chair. See the problem this presents on a honeymoon? The room itself is clean and nice-looking, but you soon begin to realize the severe lack of accomodations in the room. The frosted glass shower and bathroom stall door leave little to the imagination and I hope your number two smells like roses otherwise it will permeate the room with ease.

Food
Minus the Tepanyaki Japanese restaraunt, everything was extremely average or below average. The buffet lacks in American cuisine and is very European which is okay if you like that, but don't expect any cereal, waffles, etc. The American restaurant was disgusting and had plain, unseasoned and cold food (burgers, hot dogs). The Italian restaurant was the first place we ate and the portion sizes were small and the entrees were a bit bizarre. We enjoyed the coffee shop and good mochas. Concerning alcohol, make sure you are a "priviledged" member. The free alcohol is not worth drinking. Even though we would've enjoyed a few drinks here and there, we mostly didn't drink because they were so awful with the cheap liquor.

Concierge
Watch out. A friendly man offered to help us get a cab to Playa Del Carmen. He told us there was another couple traveling there and offered to have us split a cab to save money. We were very happy. We sat next to the couple we were traveling with and the man happened to speak fluent Spanish. He had overheard the concierge talking about the travelers to Playa del Carmen and figured out he had overcharged both couples by $35 and planned to pocket the extra money. The man went over and demanded the money back and he gave us ours back as well. The cab showed up and we still split the cab, but instead we offered to pay for the way there and they could pay for the way back. We did not trust the staff after this. We also did not keep anything in the safe as we overheard another couple telling us their passports and jewelry had been stolen out of it after housekeeping came in.

Entertainment
Not great, not terrible. Karaoke and dance night, Mayan Dance show, a very bizarre silent comedy show and a few American movies in their theatre room. Prepare to pay extra for motorized water sports and pretty much anything else you'd like to do.

Pools
Would have been nice if they were not freezing. We hated the fact that none of the property had hot tubs. We asked for a room with a jacuzzi and we were willing to pay the extra price of $50 more every night and they said they had no rooms available.

Being recently married we felt in love and happy so that was enough to keep our spirits high, but that was it. The resort continually threatened our good mood with bad service, bad food, bad liquor, a rock-hard bed and mediocre ammenities.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a jacuzzi room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I went with a few friends to Ocean Coral at the end of March for one week. It was amazing! The resort was beautiful and the staff is great! They were super helpful with anything that we needed. The entertainment staff was awsome! Denise and Michelle especially were really fun and friendly!
i would definatly recommend this resort to everyone. The food is also very delicious! although the wait to get in the restaurants for a la carte is very long (approx an hour to 2, so definatly give your self lots of time before actually eating). The beach is beautiful and we were very lucky to have amazing weather. This is definatly a resort that I will come back to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanja_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Thank you for choosing our resort as your vacation destination and for sharing your opinions about your stay with us. It is rewarding to know that your experience was satisfactory and that you have and enjoyable time with our entertainment staff. We look forward your next visit.

Bests,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Couple in the 25-34 year age range spent a week at OCT, from April 18 to 25.

Stayed "Privilege".

The short version: We would definitely go back and recommend OCT to friends and family. No place is perfect but this place is great. Beautiful and clean facility, super service, good food, nice location.

Details:
- Great shuttle service from airport with TraficTours at the recommendation of the resort.

- Easy check-in. After a two minute wait, we sat down at the desk we were promptly offered a drink and quick intro to the grounds. We checked in a bit late and as such had to wait another few minuites for someone to show us to our room, but were offered a shot of tequila to pass the time. Check-out was also painless.

- Longer information session the first morning with invitation to a welcome breakfast which we initially accepted, but cancelled in fear of a time share pitch. Only follow-up to our cancelling the breakfast was a card slipped under our door inviting us to reschedule if we wished. Not too pushy - very nice.

- Incredibly well laid-out property. As mentioned in previous reviews, there are 4 pools that are indeed separated by lovely landscaping which helps to ensure that there is a different atmosphere at each area. We cannot say enough about the lay-out and the grounds. Just perfect! And super clean! Really, very clean! I'd say that the lay-out and cleanliness are the best features of OCT.

- Food was actually pretty good. Buffet has lots of choices including healthy options (watch your knees on the tables). Only tried the Mexican à la carte as we were off the resort quite a bit during the day so didn't bother to make reservations - it was good. As previously mentioned, Mike's coffee bar makes very nice coffee which was a lovely feature that not all resorts have. We went to the smoothie bar near the party pool for breakfasts, which we'd also recommend.

- Drinks depend on the time, day, bartender etc. Standard resort stuff. Don't be afraid to give details about what you want in your beverage. If you say surprise me, you'll get one of the sugary cocktails that I suppose are crowd pleasers most of the time. If you are clear about what you want, the drinks are good.

- Staff were very friendly and hard working. I can't say enough great things about the people working here. (This if for hotel management, if you're reading this review - the guys in The Score from 11:00 pm to 6:00 am should get some extra compensation. They are up late, usually dealing with obnoxious drunks, but do so with smiles on their faces. They were so wonderful it was almost unbelievable.)
Our one and only negative about the service: We had the Privilege bracelets which is supposed to mean top shelf alcohol, but we learned quickly to request the specific type of alcohol that we wanted instead of what kind of drink. (For example, Stoli and soda instead of vodka soda.) I thought perhaps that this is something that is instilled upon the staff by the resort, but I was also served one pina colada that didn't even have rum in it.

- Rooms were nice. Yes, a little humid, or musty smelling as some have said. It's the jungle. Keep the A/C on and you'll be fine. We declined cleaning service most days and just asked for towels when necssary, but the one time we did ask for it to be cleaned it was impeccable. A very nice lady asked us as we passed by if we were sure we didn't want our room cleaned. This is the kind of people that are working there - they are amazing! The bed was a bit firm for our taste but you can't please everyone, and after a long day in the sun the only thing preventing us from sleeping were our sunburns... The key-operated safe was a bit odd to us and took awhile to get the hang of. I suppose this would be a negative for those too anxious to hide the key in their rooms.

- Ah... The lay-out of the bathroom. With it's frosted glass door stall for the toilet, you can certainly hear everything. Fine for us as we have been living together for some time. But could definitely be awkward for some.

- Always plenty of free lounge chairs at the quiet pool and activity pool. The towel game will probably be an issue for those who want to sit around the drunk pool, or perhaps at the beach.

- The beach was nice. Those complaining about it have pretty high standards.

- Day trips are a bit expensive by cab. Come prepared to spend $200 US or so if you want to go to Cancun and Playa del Carmen. Shuttles are available but you are at the mercy of their schedule.

That's about it. If this review gets any longer, no one will read it. I'll wrap up by saying that everyone we spoke to on the resort was having a nice time and happy that they chose to stay at OCT.

Room Tip: As with any hotel, stay higher up for less noise and better views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JLYzerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

We are grateful for taking your time to share your opinion about our resort. Rewardingly we learn that you enjoyed our facilities, offer and friendliness of our staff, and also that you had an awesome time at OCT. We assure you that your observation regarding the Score Bar staff will be analyzed and extended to the proper department in order to give a follow up to your suggestions. We hope that when returning to Riviera Maya, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you once again in our property.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband and I spent 8 nights at this resort for the "all inclusive" feature. However, little did we know that if you are not a "priviledged" guest, then there are MANY non-included features. For example, as a regular guest, you can only choose one white wine or one red wine...these are house wines and are terrible. You cannot order a bottle of wine with dinner or any other place for that matter. My husband does not drink; however, he decided to have a crown and coke one evening...he was told that was top shelf and he must pay $10 for the drink. Don't be misled by the "top shelf' terminology as Jim Beam is also considered top shelf. The only alcohol included in the "all inclusive" package is not worth drinking.

Ok...now beyond the alcohol issue. The room itself was spacious and nice. We were in building 12 on the fourth floor which had a wonderful view of the ocean and pool. That being said, don't expect your room to be cleaned while you are out during the day. The majority of the time, the maid was cleaning around 3:00 - 5:00 pm. The shower water has no regulation to it...it is either scalding hot or cold. No turning of the knobs assists with temp control. It is the luck of the draw which one you get.

Overall, the staff (particularly the front desk staff) were rude and unfriendly. A simple question was met with various answers depending on what staff you asked. We were wanting a late check out and were told we needed to pay $10 for each hour beyond the 12 noon checkout time. Not a problem; however, when we ended up needing it only for an extra 30 minutes, the staff were more involved in collecting a mere $5 for the time extension than anything else.

The buffet restaurant was terrible. Avoid that in the evenings if you can. Once again, as a "non-priveledged" guest, I could not make reservations at the specialized restaurants, so I had to wait on average 1- 1.5 hours to get a seat in the evening. AND, once finally seated, there were always at least six to nine tables completely vacant. The greeters at the restaurant were also not friendly (particularily the Italian restaurant).

You must eat at the Asian restaurant, that was by far the best (along with the show in the evening). Then I'd rate the Italian next, Marina grill, American grill, and then the buffet. I would have rated the Mexican restaurant well; however, MY HUSBAND GOT FOOD POISOINING the last night and thus, my impressions plummeted. He informed the front desk personel when we checked out the next day and that was met with, "hugh, no one else has said anything about that." So, they didn't even apologize to him or say that would be communicated to the manager to ensure this particular food item was removed so others would not get sick. We were very disappointed by her lack of concern about this issue.

This is the first time I have written a review, so obviously I think it was important to let others know about issues with this hotel. It is a very pretty place; however, you are misled and you don't actually get what you pay for. In addition, the timeshare folk try to suck you in and invite you to a "very special" guest breakfast your first morning there ....in return you will get a $200 resort credit. We didn't "take the bait" on this one, thank goodness....but plenty others did!

If management is interested in who I am, I was there in room 12407 from April 16-25.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bbprnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

We want to thank you for sharing your experience and for have chosen our resort for your vacations. Is good to learn that you appreciated the beauty of our property. Nevertheless, we lament that your stay was not satisfactory and that our Privilege Concept, which entitles customers with some benefits with an extra charge, made you feel uncomfortable. In regard to our dinning system, we would like to enlighten that the first come first serve basis is applied in order to give everyone the opportunity of dinning where preferred. We must say that your comment in regard to the Mexican restaurant really surprised us the corresponding hygiene procedures related to food preparation are carrying out at our Resort and further more we have a consultant whom in regular basis audits the correct follow up of this measures, therefore we assume the sickness has a cause beyond our control as we do not have any other report of sickness during the dates of your stay. We do really care about clients satisfaction, we apologize if our staff members gave you a different impression. Rest assured that each of your remarks will be analyzed and the corresponding measures will be taken in order to prevent this inconveniences to our future guests.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Ok its the 3rd year in a row we with other couples have stayed at this resort. The work staff is great and the resort is very clean. The 1st year we had booked Privilege Oceanfront Rooms,
upon our arrival we found they had overbooked these rooms, after much discussion they found 5 rooms for us with oceanview(very nice rooms)..This year after arriving we were told the rates they quoted for the rooms we were in had increased $30 a day.After talking an hour with the manager and getting no satisfaction with her we paid the price and had a great time.They are under new management this year and hopefully this doesn't happen to other guests.Love the place and the work staff but we are probably not returning.

Room Tip: Privelege is great or Section 11 second or third floor
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twb1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

We want to express our gratitude for your comments regarding your third stay at our resort. We truly regret that your experience was not totally satisfactory and that you had a bad experience regarding your room reservations. Rest assure that actions will be taken in order to prevent future inconveniences to our guests. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you again and demonstrate the improvement of our performance.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews