We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12,764)
Filter reviews
12,764 results
Traveller rating
6,725
3,674
1,470
524
371
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,725
3,674
1,470
524
371
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue moonvilla marinaprivilege loungedaisy clubpool barcasa del marmike's coffee shopprivilege packageprivilege beachprivilege guestscrepe restaurantthe lion kingquiet poolentertainment staffactivity poolmake reservationsfoam party
Filter
Updating list...
7,418 - 7,423 of 12,764 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We a great stay at the Ocean Coral & Turquesa resort. We were there with our 9 & 10 year old boys.

The run down:

Kids:
- As i saw it, the challenge with kids of this age at the all inclusives is that they tend to fall 'between' the two kids clubs (young kids and then teen age kids). our boys were too old to be entertained with the activities for the agre group that they actually fell into (pre-teen down to small kids). the resortlet them come into the teen club, which they enjoyed. they never even asked their ages. worked fine for us, as they aren't looking for so much of that anyway (planned activities).
- Food choices were good. plenty of restaurant choices & the food was good. the 24 hour 'sports bar' was a nice option as well.
- resort has 4 pools (one for privilege members, which we paid for...worth it), so there was plenty of diversity & variety
- shows were entertaining and the kids enjoyed them. set your expectations accordingly (this isn't vegas) and all is good. gives you something to do with them at 9:30pm

Adults:
- restaurants were also good in our opinion. japanese steakhouse in particular was very good (& entertaining).
- pools are great. quiet if you want that, active if you are looking for that.
- we paid for the 'privilege' access. i don't think it is critical, but we were glad we had it (restaurant reservations, private pool, lounge with food, wifi, better alcohol, etc.)
- service was fine. this is not five star accommodations, so it is all about expectations. people were friendly and reasonably timely with requests (again, we had privilege access, not sure if this mattered)
- grounds were very well maintained. beautiful resort
- room was clean and comfortable. again, set your expectations, this is not the four seasons.
- resort was large, but certainly not overwhelming.
- never had a problem getting a chair at the pools & we never went out there prior to ~9:30a
- we actually did not spend much time at the beach. looked nice though. a little sea grass, but not a big deal

complaints:
- lost one of our two hotel keys (standard plastic card key), charged us $5 upon checking out...really? for a plastic card key? annoying & unnecessary. bad customer service...why leave someone with that taste in their mouth at the end of a trip. they have already lost the $5 in 'value' by me writing about it.
- airport transportation was not arranged. they had our information, but had the transportation back to the airport arranged for the wrong day (next day). they could not do anything about it. said it was my job to have re-confirmed the transportation 24 hours before. would have been nice to know this. would be better to not put this on the guest...especially with the privilege access. poor service. we had to pay for a cab, after already 'paying for it' with our reservation option. again, something that they can solve. this should not be an issue. they are tripping on the easy stuff. after spending the $ we did, why not accommodate us with the $40 ride to the airport...now i'm having to write about it. missed opportunity.

Overall, very good 'all inclusive' trip with the kids.

Room Tip: i can't compare, but probably worth paying a little more for the 'privilege' access
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sperlings2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

We sincerely thank you for post your experience regarding your stay at our resort. It is good to learn that you appreciated the comfort of our property and that the entirety of your family found activities and facilities that fit to everyone. On the other hand, we lament that your stay with us was not totally satisfactory. We restate that corrective actions will be taken in regards to the entirety of your observations.

Bests regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This was our 2nd trip to Ocean Coral and it was even better than we remembered. We stayed in Privilege...my husband, 3 teen daughters and myself. At check-in we were welcomed with smiles. The staff, surroundings, food and beach are why we keep returning. One of the highlights of our trip was the "Chefs Dinner". We were treated to a tour of the kitchens and then had a special dinner prepared by Chef Alan and his staff. It was truly an amazing experience. I cannot say enough great things about this resort but the staff are who make our trip enjoyable. A special thanks to Eloy at the main lobby bar...who always asked how our day was, Raul at the Privilege breakfast, Victor at the Mexican restaurant, and our favourite, Enrique our waiter at the beach. He works so hard but always came by bringing us water and offering us drinks throughout the day. He made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We are already planning our next vacation at Ocean Coral...Karen from Canada

Stayed: April 2012
3  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

With reward we learn that your experience at our resort was totally satisfactory. We really appreciate your thoughtful comments regarding the members of our staff and it is good to know that their work did not pass unnoticed. It is because of them that we are able to achieve the our guests’ satisfaction. We want to thank you for writing your experience and we look forward your next visit at OCT.

Bests,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This will be my third visit to Ocean Coral & Turquesa, and I can't wait. I am so happy to be returning, because I know the quality and consistency will be there. From the marvellous selection of beautiful food every meal, to the attention to detail in cleaning our rooms every day, to the helpfulness of all of the staff, whether bartenders, waiters, or cleaning staff. It is indeed Heaven On Earth, and I can't WAIT to come, June 9-16th, so excited!

Also can't wait to use the gym every morning before breakfast. Ahhhh, what a life!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheotheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

We really appreciate that you have chosen our resort once again as your vacation destination. It will be a pleasure to host you one more time at our facilities and we are sure that you will find the quality and good service that characterizes OCT. We remain at your disposal for any further assistance.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time while staying at the Ocean Coral and Turquesa. The rooms were clean and the food was delicious. The staff were exceptionally helpful to us. We worked directly with Joaquin who only added to our fabulous experience. The only downfall that we experienced was having to get up early to put down towels on beach chairs at the pool. I would absolutely stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MilwaukeeTraveler319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you appreciated the good service of our staff. We are thankful for writing your experience. We look forward your next visit.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Ocean Coral is a great resort and excellent staff. Rooms are very nice. Bathroom can benefit from some privacy specially if one has a family. Probably a Shower curtain will help to partition the bathroom from rest of room.
I went through apple vacation, flight and all arrangements were very good. Resort and apple can do a better job in arranging tours for guest. That area needs attention.
Beware of Dollar rental car they are ruthless in charging extra day even if you are late by one hour.
But overall Excellent resort. Privilege lounge is great and a lovely beech.
Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adnan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

We are grateful for posting your comments about your last vacations at our resort. It is good to learn that you have a satisfactory experience and that you enjoyed our Privilege lounge and services. We would like to thank you for your remarks and improvement areas, so we can offer a better service and comfort to future guests.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews