We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Puerto Morelos, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kelly M
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed January 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in Casa Toucan I, the two bedroom and two bath unit. The accommodations were clean and well maintained with a great view of the pool and the gulf. The location was perfect. Just steps to the town square, restaurants, bars and entertainment. John and Alicia were great hosts and made our visit to Puerto Morelos even better. John provides an excellent "tourist" packet thst outlines and critiques all of the wonderful restaurants and activities in the area. Both John and Alicia are also available to assist, answer questions or provide direction. We had a great time and will visit again. Puerto Morelos is a wonderful place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Kelly & Michael -

Thank you so much for your kind review. We enjoyed having you here and we hope that you do return as promised above. We have it in writing jajaja! Hasta luego my friends!

Best,

Jon, Alicia & Jon Conner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubbartle...
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Totall relaxing and convenient to everything in town with excellent water front access/view”
Reviewed November 19, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The place and the resident owners are excellent. We enjoyed the hospitality and grounds greatly. The facilities have everything for a relaxing time without even going anywhere. It's like a home away from home. If you want to do your own cooking everything is there, or just walk across the street to the town square for restaurants and shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: seasonal seaweed on beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
Dub & Sharon -

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us here at Casa Toucan. It was great having you here and getting to know you. It was awesome to dive with you as well! Jon Conner still hasn't stopped smiling about the camera.

We'll see you again next year. Hasta luego!

Jon, Alicia & Jon Conner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accordian...
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Why look any further,,,,stay here!”
Reviewed November 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Casa Toucan was perfect and better than presented on their website. It is Beautiful!

The beds are very comfortable, it's quiet, easy access to grocery store, restaurants, snorkeling, taxi or bus, very clean, and most importantly I cannot say enough about how welcomed we felt. It truly is a special place, one which we enjoyed and hope to return soon!

PM has many great restaurants, wonderful beaches, and definitely a friendly, safe community. I would highly recommend Casa Toucan!

Jon, Alicia you are living our dream.....Thank you for sharing your property with us, we hope to see you again soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Pam & Joe -

Thank you for your kind, positive comments regarding your stay with us here at Casa Toucan. You are right - we are living a dream. We love Puerto Morelos and its people, and we have the world's easiest job hosting guests like yourselves. We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again soon. Hasta luego!

jon, Alicia, and Jon Conner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoneyBar...
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, quiet, beachside AND central!”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Jon & Alicia and their maintenance lady keep this lovely property private, spotless, and perfect for their guests. The two-bedroom Casa Toucan 1 unit has a spacious open-plan multi-fan-cooled living room/kitchen/dining area looking through an almost-all-glass east wall that guarantees a nonstop ocean view. The bedrooms and bathrooms are roomy and nicely set up with ample storage and comfortable big beds. Bedrooms have both fans and air conditioning with good overhead and lamp lighting.

The unit offers more than enough standard electrical outlets for all your charging and other user needs, along with large flatscreen TV [in-house movies only, but lots of choices] and a nice small ipod/radio stereo. Furnishing is comfortable and plentiful: sofas, large easychairs, many dining chairs.

I've only noted the kitchen as "GOOD" rather than "GREAT" to make you aware that -- with big modern fridge, microwave and coffeemaker -- it's set up more for occasional or light meals than for full cooking and steady in-house dining. IT is a GREAT convenience kitchen!

The smallish but spotless pool is beautifully designed and set withing the lovely landscaping and walkways, and is absolutely adequate for a dip and work-out -- after all, Casa Toucan's private gate onto the immediately adjacent and gorgeous beach is 4 steps from the pool and only a few feet from the various seating/chaise-lounging arrangements nicely spotted around the very spacious and beautifully landscaped deck.

While you share the deck with Casa Toucan's 2 other guest units, in combination with the upstairs one-bedroom unit's deck you and your fellow guests have all the privacy you could want -- you never feel crowded or intruded upon. Entry from dining area to patio is level.

However, due to the street level, beach level, and parcel size, the various steps from street to patio [c. 7] and patio to beach [c.5] cannot reasonably be made accessible -- as a landscape architect, I regret that ADA-accessibility would likely require installation of multiple lifts for which there probably is just not enough room. Sorry!

While Jon & Alicia's welcoming verbal presentation of their expectations of guests is quite thorough, you quickly come to appreciate how much effort they put into making your experience a peaceful, luxurious and completely enjoyable stay. They care a LOT that you should really like Casa Toucan and gorgeous, tiny, quiet central Puerto Morelos and the surrounding state of Quintana Roo and Yucatan Peninsula.

Jon & Alicia are a gracious but background presence, never intruding on your stay while keeping the place running perfectly. Their 3 cats also stay in the background, tho' the gorgeous Siamese female may slowly conclude that you are ok [after several classy displays of hesitation].

While there is a neighbouring home to the south, the empty lot to the north not only is unlikely to be developed per that owner's vision but also provides a wider view to Casa Toucan guests than you might expect from a beachfront residential site. To the north you can see the open covered deck of palapa-roofed [thatch -- a typical Pueblo Morelos roof] ]El Merkadito Restaurant and Bar [good burgers!], it is far enough away to add to the scenic pueblo feel rather than being noisy or feeling intrusive.

Your hosts are glad to recommend places to dine from among the 10 or so Mexican, Greek, Uruguayan, burger, pizza and view lounges within a five-minute stroll of Casa Toucan -- most of them located around the spacious central town plaza with its own good ocean/beach view. They also have recommendations for pedicures, massages, tour guides, boat guides -- you name it.

It's just remarkable to find such a peaceful, quiet, private gem of a residence 1/4 block off any town's center! And Puerto Morales matches Casa Toucan for peaceful relaxation while being very close to a marvelous lively reef and within easy daytrip distance of multiple Mayan national parks, untrammeled villages, and the "selva" [low jungle] itself.

Enjoy Casa Toucan -- we will happily return there over the years!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sense of privacy and quiet while enjoying a fabulous view and immediate beach access!
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Traci & David -

Wow! Thank you for your kind words and your detailed review of Casa Toucan. We are blushing a bit! We are pleased that you recognized the efforts we make to insure that our guests have a wonderful stay with us. Casa Toucan is our full-time home, and we do take great pride in constantly maintaining and improving the property. Above all, we love seeing that our guests are enjoying their holidays to the fullest. We very much enjoyed having you here, and we hope to see you again in the future. In Spanish we don't say "Adios" because it implies that we won't see you again. Instead we say "Hasta luego!"

Saludos,
Jon & Alicia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annmart20...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location...but owner on property is not always a good thing!”
Reviewed February 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
8
people found this review helpful

I've never written a mediocre review. We are very easy going people and have rented directly from owners for many years in Mexico and in the States and truly have never had a problem. There were ten of us total two couples and our teenagers. We rented all three units over New Years week.

We were looking for walk-to town square and you actually couldn't get much closer. It is very convenient to restaurants, grocery, shops, etc. the main pier in Puerto Morelos is literally twenty steps down the beach from the property. The units are well equipped,quaint, and for the most part clean and up to date. As described and photos are accurate.

The issues we had were with the owners being on sight. We rented three of the four units. The fourth one is occupied by the owner and his wife. Jon the owner was very polite and helpful with information on places to visit, restaurants, excursions, everything! He kept to himself and though always "working" on his property while we were there, he was friendly, always exchanged pleasantries and overall gave us our privacy.

Unfortunately, we didn't get the impression that his wife was very excited about renting the property out since they live there. We felt our every move was being observed and on more then one occasion she rudely spoke her mind. One point in the lease was that there was no one allowed on property besides the lesees which we totally understood, but when a friend walked up to say hello and come onto the property, they were met rudely and told that they would have to leave. Could have easily been remedied politely.
Yet, and this is the part that was so disappointing, that during our week stay, there were many locals on property that we did not know nor invite. Neighbors, local adults, local children climbing up on balconies to see in our windows. We were renting the property though feeling very much like we were intruding on their vacation...seemed hypercritical.

The cats. We love animals and have three dogs and a cat between the two families. But there was nowhere in the lease that stated there are two cats on premise at all times and a stray that comes and goes. If you leave your sliding door open to catch a breeze, you will have a cat in your unit which again, we are fine with animals. We just didn't know about them.

Overall, great location, well equipped units, nice pool, small but nice. Great communication with Jon. We will be back to Puerto Morelos since we love the authenticity of this little fishing village, but we won't stay at Casa Toucan(s).

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Greetings! Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Casa Toucan.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. However, I was very clear with you about the procedures we follow. Your Rental Agreement clearly stated that the ONLY people that you were allowed to bring onto the property were those specifically named in the Agreement. When you arrived, I PERSONALLY reiterated that with you. I do not feel the least bit obligated to "politely" respond to your clear and willful disrespect of those procedures. "But she is my best friend and I just want to show her around" does not change the rules regarding who can come into MY home without MY permission.

Conversely, this is our home and we live here in Puerto Morelos full-time. We have a life, and that life includes regular visits from friends, family, and neighbors. The only exception to this during your stay was the two local boys to whom I gave permission to come swim in the pool, and, contrary to my instructions, they came on the property when I was not present and were very disruptive. I apologized to you profusely for this, reprimanded the boys, and assured you that it would not happen again.

While you were here your entire group seemed to be very content and having a great time. On a regular basis you shared your experiences in the restaurants that we recommended, and you RAVED about the cenote excursion that I arranged for you. The weather was perfect and you spent a beautiful week in a Caribbean paradise. It is unfortunate that you have allowed the fact that you were offended by our insistence that you follow the rules temper your overall impression of your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin D
McKinney, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Uncomparably fantastic”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

It's almost impossible to describe how fabulous Casa Toucan is. It is literally right on the beach. We spent every morning sitting on the pool deck with our coffee, watching the pelicans die for fish. It was beautiful. All the comforts of home were inside. Comfy beds, fully stocked kitchen, plenty of space to spread out, even the water pressure was impressive. You don't have to sacrifice anything to spend time in this paradise. We got a welcome packet before we came to stay, with more information in it than I could've even thought to ask. We were very grateful for that. And any questions that we had, John the owner was happy to answer. We were a little nervous about being in Mexico and not on an Americanized resort, but this was by far the better option. I have never had a vacation as amazing as this one.I cannot wait to get back here. My husband and I are literally already planning our next trip. If you are at all considering Casa Toucan, book it. You will not be sorry.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Kristin & Scott -

Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us at Casa Toucan. We enjoyed having you as our guests and only wish that you could have stayed longer. Puerto Morelos is a magical little town, and we fully agree that a stay in a vacation rental like Casa Toucan is so much more fun, interesting, and genuine than staying at an Americanized all-inclusive resort. And cheaper too! Come back to see us soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Paradise”
Reviewed January 16, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Within a hour of being there, I was already dreading the fact that I was going to have to leave. I not so secretly wished that my flight would be canceled and I would be forced to stay a few more days. If you're looking for a mega-touristy resort, this is not the place for you. However, if you want feel of stepping out of the front door to your own home into a little piece of paradise, this is absolutely the place for you. You are still just a 20 minute trip from Cancun or Playa if you want to make a day trip. There are three "apartments" on the property, but it's laid out so that everyone has their own personal space. You can step through the back gate and directly onto the beach with the ocean about 15 yards away. It's private and peaceful, yet less than half a block from the town square with many shops and restaurants available. Great place. I can't wait to get back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Scott -

Thank you for your feedback. If I could arrange flight cancellations I would! It was a pleasure having you here as our guest. We are happy that you have discovered the "other" Mexico, outside of the walls of the all-inclusive prisons. We will also never go back to an AI. It is too much fun exploring the town and eating at one of our 60+ independent, family-operated restaurants. Thank you for your kind words, and come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing