We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden gem in Caribbean”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Puerto Morelos, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
roadwarri...
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Caribbean”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We are repeat customers of Casa Toucan and stay in January and March. This property is located on the beautiful pristine beach of Puerto Morelos just one half block from city center. There are Restaurants just a few steps from the front door.
Property is well maintained with great English speaking owners. Property boasts a nice pool and a hot tub in back of pool for use on cool nights. There are comfortable chaise chairs for your enjoyment of the wonderful sunshine. Property is just steps away from the sea and you can watch the cruise ships sashaying their way to Cozemel or back to Miami.
The site has great safes which are the largest we have enjoyed in Mexico.
Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen with a gas stove and an oven. Safe sanitary water is provided at no extra charge. Maid service is provided weekly!
Owners are very responsive to your needs and have a wealth of information on the area.
We can't wait for our next stay at CasaToucan and to enjoy the friendliness and safety of Puerto Morelos.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful location and view of sea!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Wayne & Lynn -

We have enjoyed becoming friends with you over the last five years and we look forward to seeing you back here in 2017! Thank you for your kind remarks about your stays here at Casa Toucan. You guys know Puerto Morelos very well and we are honored and flattered that you choose to stay with us year after year. You always leave the property better than you found it and Wayne does all of my repair work for me! Have a good summer and we'll see you next January!

Best,

Jon, Alicia & Jon Conner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dreamtrav...
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Life is good!”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at Casa Toucan 1 for three weeks in March, and could not have been more pleased. Jon and Alicia, the hosts, live on site and are a gracious and willing presence. It feels as if you have been welcomed into their special paradise. One day, Jon even insisted on driving my husband to the doctor when he had a minor medical need. The apartment is spacious, well equipped and clean. What a treat to wake up each day to a view of the ocean, and to be overlooking the lovely pool and landscaped patio area. All the guests of the three apartments, we were 6 at the time, share this area, and it was especially nice to meet other folks, but never find it crowded or congested. The bed is very comfortable, there's space to read or hang out, the wifi works, and there's on demand shows - which we never even used. The kitchen is equipped with basic cooking utensils, and Jon was quick to supply a certain pan we needed but didn't have. It's a quiet place, meant for relaxation, yet you are just out the door and either across the street or around the corner to a great variety of restaurants and town activities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Nancy & Edmund -

Hola buen día! It was a pleasure sharing our home with you. We enjoyed our conversations and I particularly enjoyed Edmund's perspective on American politics. Thank you for your kind words about your time with us, and we are looking forward to seeing you next year!

Best,

Jon, Alicia & Jon Conner

p.s. Yoe recently returned from Cuba and she said to tell you hello and to thank you for the propina!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyclamen
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, accommodation, and location”
Reviewed January 29, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My husband and I spent a glorious two weeks at Casa Toucan #1. The apartment is spacious and the grounds are lovely and well cared for. You can watch the sunrise and the sea right from the apartment. When we were in Puerto Morelos previously, our apartment was a few blocks from the beach. This time the view and the sea breeze added a whole new dimension and we could leave without our shoes to walk along the beach. Jon and Alicia, the owners, live on the property. They are very helpful and are readily available if needed. There is a sense of security knowing that they are on the premises. Jon will also provide you with a very detailed information package before you arrive.
We loved our apartment. The king bed is excellent and there are comfortable chairs and sofa in the living room. We prepared two meals each day in our kitchen and had everything we needed.
Casa Toucan is less than a block away from the town square which is very convenient. You are a few minutes walk to restaurants, shops, the grocery store, and the town pier.
When we return to Puerto Morelos we will definitely want to be at Casa Toucan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the attractiveness of the grounds, the view and location
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Johanna & Francis -

Greetings! Thank you very much for sharing your kind thoughts about Casa Toucan. You are absolutely correct - there is nothing like being right on the beach. Phrases like "Close to the beach" and "Footsteps from the beach" mean just one thing...NOT ON THE BEACH! The gentle Caribbean breezes keep us much cooler on warm days and they keep us from having mosquitos. And then of course there are the views.

We very much enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again in the future. Hasta luego!

Best,

Jon, Alicia & Jon Conner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed January 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in Casa Toucan I, the two bedroom and two bath unit. The accommodations were clean and well maintained with a great view of the pool and the gulf. The location was perfect. Just steps to the town square, restaurants, bars and entertainment. John and Alicia were great hosts and made our visit to Puerto Morelos even better. John provides an excellent "tourist" packet thst outlines and critiques all of the wonderful restaurants and activities in the area. Both John and Alicia are also available to assist, answer questions or provide direction. We had a great time and will visit again. Puerto Morelos is a wonderful place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Kelly & Michael -

Thank you so much for your kind review. We enjoyed having you here and we hope that you do return as promised above. We have it in writing jajaja! Hasta luego my friends!

Best,

Jon, Alicia & Jon Conner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubbartle...
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Totall relaxing and convenient to everything in town with excellent water front access/view”
Reviewed November 19, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The place and the resident owners are excellent. We enjoyed the hospitality and grounds greatly. The facilities have everything for a relaxing time without even going anywhere. It's like a home away from home. If you want to do your own cooking everything is there, or just walk across the street to the town square for restaurants and shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: seasonal seaweed on beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
Dub & Sharon -

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us here at Casa Toucan. It was great having you here and getting to know you. It was awesome to dive with you as well! Jon Conner still hasn't stopped smiling about the camera.

We'll see you again next year. Hasta luego!

Jon, Alicia & Jon Conner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accordian...
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Why look any further,,,,stay here!”
Reviewed November 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Casa Toucan was perfect and better than presented on their website. It is Beautiful!

The beds are very comfortable, it's quiet, easy access to grocery store, restaurants, snorkeling, taxi or bus, very clean, and most importantly I cannot say enough about how welcomed we felt. It truly is a special place, one which we enjoyed and hope to return soon!

PM has many great restaurants, wonderful beaches, and definitely a friendly, safe community. I would highly recommend Casa Toucan!

Jon, Alicia you are living our dream.....Thank you for sharing your property with us, we hope to see you again soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Pam & Joe -

Thank you for your kind, positive comments regarding your stay with us here at Casa Toucan. You are right - we are living a dream. We love Puerto Morelos and its people, and we have the world's easiest job hosting guests like yourselves. We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again soon. Hasta luego!

jon, Alicia, and Jon Conner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoneyBar...
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, quiet, beachside AND central!”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Jon & Alicia and their maintenance lady keep this lovely property private, spotless, and perfect for their guests. The two-bedroom Casa Toucan 1 unit has a spacious open-plan multi-fan-cooled living room/kitchen/dining area looking through an almost-all-glass east wall that guarantees a nonstop ocean view. The bedrooms and bathrooms are roomy and nicely set up with ample storage and comfortable big beds. Bedrooms have both fans and air conditioning with good overhead and lamp lighting.

The unit offers more than enough standard electrical outlets for all your charging and other user needs, along with large flatscreen TV [in-house movies only, but lots of choices] and a nice small ipod/radio stereo. Furnishing is comfortable and plentiful: sofas, large easychairs, many dining chairs.

I've only noted the kitchen as "GOOD" rather than "GREAT" to make you aware that -- with big modern fridge, microwave and coffeemaker -- it's set up more for occasional or light meals than for full cooking and steady in-house dining. IT is a GREAT convenience kitchen!

The smallish but spotless pool is beautifully designed and set withing the lovely landscaping and walkways, and is absolutely adequate for a dip and work-out -- after all, Casa Toucan's private gate onto the immediately adjacent and gorgeous beach is 4 steps from the pool and only a few feet from the various seating/chaise-lounging arrangements nicely spotted around the very spacious and beautifully landscaped deck.

While you share the deck with Casa Toucan's 2 other guest units, in combination with the upstairs one-bedroom unit's deck you and your fellow guests have all the privacy you could want -- you never feel crowded or intruded upon. Entry from dining area to patio is level.

However, due to the street level, beach level, and parcel size, the various steps from street to patio [c. 7] and patio to beach [c.5] cannot reasonably be made accessible -- as a landscape architect, I regret that ADA-accessibility would likely require installation of multiple lifts for which there probably is just not enough room. Sorry!

While Jon & Alicia's welcoming verbal presentation of their expectations of guests is quite thorough, you quickly come to appreciate how much effort they put into making your experience a peaceful, luxurious and completely enjoyable stay. They care a LOT that you should really like Casa Toucan and gorgeous, tiny, quiet central Puerto Morelos and the surrounding state of Quintana Roo and Yucatan Peninsula.

Jon & Alicia are a gracious but background presence, never intruding on your stay while keeping the place running perfectly. Their 3 cats also stay in the background, tho' the gorgeous Siamese female may slowly conclude that you are ok [after several classy displays of hesitation].

While there is a neighbouring home to the south, the empty lot to the north not only is unlikely to be developed per that owner's vision but also provides a wider view to Casa Toucan guests than you might expect from a beachfront residential site. To the north you can see the open covered deck of palapa-roofed [thatch -- a typical Pueblo Morelos roof] ]El Merkadito Restaurant and Bar [good burgers!], it is far enough away to add to the scenic pueblo feel rather than being noisy or feeling intrusive.

Your hosts are glad to recommend places to dine from among the 10 or so Mexican, Greek, Uruguayan, burger, pizza and view lounges within a five-minute stroll of Casa Toucan -- most of them located around the spacious central town plaza with its own good ocean/beach view. They also have recommendations for pedicures, massages, tour guides, boat guides -- you name it.

It's just remarkable to find such a peaceful, quiet, private gem of a residence 1/4 block off any town's center! And Puerto Morales matches Casa Toucan for peaceful relaxation while being very close to a marvelous lively reef and within easy daytrip distance of multiple Mayan national parks, untrammeled villages, and the "selva" [low jungle] itself.

Enjoy Casa Toucan -- we will happily return there over the years!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sense of privacy and quiet while enjoying a fabulous view and immediate beach access!
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Traci & David -

Wow! Thank you for your kind words and your detailed review of Casa Toucan. We are blushing a bit! We are pleased that you recognized the efforts we make to insure that our guests have a wonderful stay with us. Casa Toucan is our full-time home, and we do take great pride in constantly maintaining and improving the property. Above all, we love seeing that our guests are enjoying their holidays to the fullest. We very much enjoyed having you here, and we hope to see you again in the future. In Spanish we don't say "Adios" because it implies that we won't see you again. Instead we say "Hasta luego!"

Saludos,
Jon & Alicia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing