We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,446)
Filter reviews
7,446 results
Traveller rating
4,556
1,773
652
265
200
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,556
1,773
652
265
200
Show reviews that mention
All reviews world cafe plunge pool preferred club seaside grill el patio swim up bar kids club french restaurant explorers club coco cafe oceana restaurant ocean view paella wedding coordinator family vacation destination wedding master suite
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 7,446 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned from a 4 day stay in the Preferred ocean view room. This is my third time staying in an all-inclusive resort in Cancun and unfortunately Dreams Riviera falls short in comparison. It was good, but not great.

Our room was very comfortable, clean, and had an awesome view of the beach. It also featured a personal jacuzzi hot tub on the balcony. However, the Preferred Club doesn't offer that many perks besides an outstanding room and a very accessible/helpful concierge. The preferred lounge served snacks with a full-service bar, but the food is nothing special and repetitive in nature. We did book a free hydrotherapy circuit with the lounge, and that was a relaxing time spent at the spa.

Compared to my previous two stays in Cancun (Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan & Iberostar Paraiso Lindo), this resort ground is much smaller. There were fewer restaurant choices and entertainment.

First, lets talk entertainment. The activity schedule could be better. On the first day, we saw a poster for a "tequila tasting" session, so we arrived right on time to the posted location, only to find the staff unaware of this event. After waiting for 5 minutes, an entertainment staff named Diego showed up to explain that the session is cancelled, but he can go over some tequila info at the Mexican restaurant that evening at 6:30 for dinner. Then, when we returned at 6:30 that evening, we found that the Mexican restaurant was closed. That was a disappointment.

Second, the food is average. World Cafe buffet lacks variety. The teppanyaki at Himitsu was very salty from all the soy sauce. The best restaurants were the french Bordeux restaurant and the Barefoot Grill for a snack.

If you are visiting the resort during this season (September), I would recommend a room within an enclosed hallway, vs. an open hallway that oversees the hotel grounds. This is because it tends to rain sporadically, especially in the evening, and you will likely encounter a lot of mosquitos, moths, and lizards that have taken shelter in these hallways on your way back to your room.

Overall, I had a comfortable stay at this resort but the food and entertainment are mediocre.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eConciergeCarla, eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hola Linda C

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We appreciate your kind feedback, it is thanks to guests expressing their experience at our Resort that we are able to identify the areas that need to improve in order to make your stay as memorable and perfect as possible.

We can assure you that your detailed comments are taken seriously and immediate and accurate measures will be taken in order to spare you and our future guests of any disturbance during their stay. We hope that you will change your mind and provide us with the opportunity to host you again in the future so that we will provide you with the level of excellence that you truly deserve.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future and hopefully, you will notice the improvements made since your last stay and you will think of us as the right place to be pampered.

¡Saludos!

Carla Tamayo
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Riviera Cancún Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Apple was fabulous- a representative was there for us at each stop along the way, PHILA airport, Mexico airport and at the hotel. The hotel had beautiful accommodations. All of the servers at the restaurants and bars were very friendly and welcoming. Our only negative was being swarmed at the airport by other touring companies, then when we reached the hotel we were also approached by the hotel staff to learn about special offers they had. WE just wanted to eat, get a drink and go into the pool. Later that evening we were approached again by hotel offers. I said we were not interested. The next morning someone came to our room to set up a time to listed to their offers. Finally we went to the front desk and talked to our Apple representative to have them STOP hounding us. It finally stopped after that. Just be mindful of these offers- you have to spend money to take them up on it.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trweber741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eConciergeCarla, eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hola trweber741

Receive warm greetings from Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback and for sharing your experience with us.

We pride ourselves in always making an effort to please our clients and exceed their expectations so when we receive feedback like yours, we are pleased we were able to accomplish our goal.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future and come back to stay again at your "home away from home".

¡Saludos!

Carla Tamayo
eConcierge-Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and my wife traveled to DRC first in 2013 along with our then 6-month old daughter. FF 5 years and we headed back to DRC with our now near 6-year old daughter, along with her younger sister (3 yo). We went Preferred Club, Sea View and got a great top floor room only a couple back from the front.
A key point here is that you shouldn't turn up thinking that this is going to be a sublime, perfect, polished resort where you are whisked away on a cloud and never have a worry. You will see that some parts are a little rough around the edges, there will no doubt be plenty of weddings going on (including their parties in the evening), the service won't always be perfect and the food might be a little hit and miss. BUT in general this is a superb place where the vast majority of the staff will feel like friends by the end of your stay and if you work at it a little you will have a fantastic break.

The kids club was great with our two girls with loads of activities and a very cool setup in their centre. Stand-out staff were Kari (who Coco, our youngest, lovingly adopted as her best friend whilst she was there!) and Fernanda (who our eldest loved!).
With the kids looked after most evenings it meant that my wife and I could take dinner as the two of us, so we made the best of the adults-only Bordeaux restaurant, where Alejandro took great care of us and kept us well entertained.
Lunch at Seaside Grill was always a pleasure - the view out over the beach is wonderful - but the best bit was Rene, who remembered us from 5 years prior and was as incredible as ever (lovely lovely guy!).
A quick shout-out to Ivan and Ricardo giving great service around the pool. Always smiling, constantly positive and very thoughtful. Ivan with his trademark whistle that you could hear across the pool area knowing that you'll soon be taken care of - awesome!

The room we stayed in was decent. As said - sightly rough around the edges (a leaky shower, doors that don't fully close, weak A/C that made it feel slightly too warm in the room) but everything you need and a good level of service throughout the two weeks we were there. No, you probably won't get the exact same number and type of towels each time. No, your mini-bar won't always be fully stocked as it was the day before. But all in all a nice place to spend time.
The hot tub on the balcony was nice but yeah you probably want to give it a quick rinse down before you use it (it is outside after all!). The tub in the room worked well. The shower was good apart from the leaky door. The coffee machine was great, and the room service when we did use it was pretty quick and mostly exactly as we'd ordered.

Seaweed. Yes it's there. Yes it takes away from the absolute beauty of the beach but no its not the end of the world unless you are only going there for the beach (if you are then go somewhere else).

Security. Hotel security seemed good. You will see a police patrol taking place on an ATV a few times through the day. And we as a family travelled to Puerto Morelos (recommended for better souvenir shopping) and Playa Del Carmen (interesting experience, but wasn't blown away by it) and never felt worried for our safety. In the main the Mexican people have always been great to us and love the kids. Yes there might be troubles but didn't have any issues ourselves.

Stopping the essay now. Hope some of the detail helps. Would we come back again? Absolutely, but I think we might aim for other destinations in the next few years. The little issues are nowhere near enough to reduce to 4/5, so 5/5 it is. If you go then greet the staff with a smile, take the little things with a pinch of salt and have a great time!

Room Tip: Top floor, Preferred Club
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank rokut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eConciergeCarla, eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hola rokut

We would like to thank you for choosing Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa as your host on your recent getaway to our destination and thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

One of the most important things is the service that we provide to you, and to read that it was exactly what you expected is very much appreciated. I will certainly take the liberty to share your review with our team and I am sure that they will all be pleased and grateful for this.

We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with Kari, Fernanda, Alejandro, René, Ricardo, and Iván.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your host in not too distant future.

Carla Tamayo
eConcierge-Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel grounds, pool and beach are stunning. Most of the staff are very friendly but some do not even smile. Hotel cleanliness is good, but never see maid or turn down service. we had three plunge pool rooms and none had bathrobes or slippers we had to request them along with coffee as this did not get replenished. There were no snacks in the room however room service menu was very good, along with the mini bar. Good food and drinks in all restaurants. Red house wine is good for AI as is the white.

We went to this hotel to celebrate 3 celebrations, my daughters 30th birthday, our 31st wedding anniversary and another birthday all of which were whilst we were at the hotel. I had contacted the hotel prior to arriving which was acknowledged via email and our tour operator also sent a request. Upon arrival we were asked about any celebrations to which I replied that they were informed prior to our arrival and he said it was noted on the system. We were given our room keys, no-one showed us to our rooms or directions we had to find them ourselves. Upon arriving we got the wow factor the rooms were spacious and I liked the colonial look. However, there were no banners or anything special for our celebrations. On our anniversary nothing arrived like the brochure said, fruit bowl, sparkling wine etc, we never even got chocolates with turn down. Which was the norm all except the last night. Before going to dinner I mentioned this to concierge who informed me we will get this tomorrow, I said that it was not our anniversary the next day, I was told that someone would go to our room. We received a bottle of red, rose petals and a banner, it wasn’t what was advertised but better than nothing, we never received the special breakfast either. Both birthdays didn’t even get a mention. It’s the little things that make a vacation and this hotel certainly does not recognise this. We go away every year for our anniversary mostly to the Excellence chain who have always acknowledged this. For this reason alone I will not be spending my money on this chain again which is a shame because the swim up bar is by far the best among that beach. When going to Mexico again I will definitely be going back to the excellence.

Another thing this resort needs to improve on is the entertainment it is all in-house no outside entertainment as they do not have a theatre, there isn’t anywhere to sit for a drink other than the lobby bar. They could do with having a band outside with somewhere to sit and have a pleasant drink. Did not get the Mexican vibe at all.

The seaweed was clearing up when we left and managed to swim In The ocean on Our last day 17th September. They do try hard to clear the seaweed and their part of the beach is very nice.

Another to watch out for is bites, we have never been bitten anywhere else like we have done here despite using insect repellent each day. At the excellence we used to see them spray the air each day which was not evident at Dreams.

We had a pleasant stay although two of our daughters lost three days of their holiday due to an upset stomach.

Stayed: September 2018
2  Thank Furbanknicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eConciergeCarla, eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hola Furbanknicola

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We appreciate your kind feedback, it is thanks to guests expressing their experience at our Resort that we are able to identify the areas that need to improve in order to make your stay as memorable and perfect as possible.

We truly hope to have the chance to host you again in your next vacations to add more amazing moments to your travel experiences.

¡Saludos!

Carla Tamayo
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Riviera Cancún Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My stay at Dreams Riviera Cancun was amazing. My room was clean, spacious and went above and beyond my expectations. The resort staff were always right there catering to whatever I needed with a smile. The pool and swim up bar is where I spent most of my time and it did not disappoint. The restaurant and meal options were plentiful and delicious. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting to be spoiled and achieve maximum relaxation.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank tawneewarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eConciergeCarla, eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Hola tawneewarman

Thank you very much for choosing our resort to spend your beach vacations, we are very grateful to read your wonderful comments about our staff and overall services.

Nothing makes us happier than know the services were surpassing the expectations.

We truly hope have the chance to host you again in your next vacations to add more amazing moments to your travel experiences.

¡Saludos!

Carla Tamayo
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Riviera Cancún Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews