We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now Sapphire - Great Vacation - Water Features are Nice, Staff is Friendly - Good Service, Oceanview Rooms Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Hello fellow travellers!

We are seasoned travellers from Canada who enjoy travelling three to four times per year to Carribean destinations/resorts of 4 stars or better.

We liked Now Sapphire - as it has a quaint charm, nice layout with water features galore, and staff are friendly and attentive to guests needs.

Although we very much enjoyed our 2 week stay at Now Sapphire, it is at best - a 4 star accommodation. Some areas are looking a little tired and run down.

The weather was extremely good - 14 days of 30+ temperatures and sunshine - no rain. In addition, it seemed like we had 8 beautiful evenings of full or partially full moons in a row.

What we liked:

Resort Layout has old world charm with several water features which give great ambiance
Close proximity to ocean (much closer than newer resorts)
Smaller 3 storey units make it feel - less crowded
No wristbands
No 'day in advance' restaurant reservations required
CoCo sweet and coffee bar
Laid back atmosphere - very relaxing
Great staff - good service (especially Ivan at the Preferred Beach Area)
Comfortable sofas in lounge area
The shower water pressure was good and the shower tiling and decor was top notch
The bed and pillows were soft and comfortable
Good AC in room
Rooms were clean and well appointed - nice terrazzo on floors and mahogany wood doors and trim
The Oceanfront Balcony with Jacuzzi was Great - especially on full moon nights (highly recommend upgrading to Oceanfront)
Room service with full dinner ensuite delivery - came in handy
Preferred pool area was a quiet oasis. Day beds and lounge cushions were soft and comfortble.
Spa water features, steam room and sauna were nice
Free watersports with preferred - Hobie Cats were well maintained
We did not have bouts with Montezuma's revenge

What we did not like:

No A/C in main dining room, lobby or lounge (Paramour and Cibu Restuarants had AC)
All Pools need a makeover
Walkways need upgrading
Exposed electrical conduit at lighting on site grounds
Gardens were dry and dying with little maintenance (this is likely due to the 14+ days of 30 degree temperatures in a row!!)
Lots of Kelp at beach with tractor pick up 4 times daily
Irrigating lawns with treated sewage water - foul smell ****
Loud motorized carts with no exhaust
Many Infants and Children (another reason to upgrade to the adults only Preferred Pool Area)
Very little english TV
Poor entertainment
Too many weddings (every night 2 or 3 large groups at area near Blue Water Grill - many had PA speaker systems and music)
Restaurants not great and too few
Time share presentation 30k for 2 weeks per year no maintenance fees - 4 hour WASTE OF TIME
Masssages at SPAP were poor

Other notes

Non-enclosed toilet layout did not bother us - fan ventilation was good
Highly recommend upgrading to Preferred.
After 10 days buffet gets a little boring (but this is a very common issue everywhere)
Main entrance drive up needs makeover

All in all,

A great vacation for $1100 per week per person - how can you beat that?

We would recommend this resort to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zrocketman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,286)
There are newer reviews for Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,665 - 5,671 of 7,286 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun. The best part of the resort is the service. The entire staff is awesome. Everyone catered to us as if we were very important people. We especially enjoyed our waiter, Javier, at the buffet. The food was very good for resort type food and the service impeccable. Our rooms were very spacious and cleaned meticulously. Our refigerators were stocked daily with beverages. We had our 20 month old granddaughter and they made sure we had whatever we needed special for her. Thank-you for a wonderful trip!

Room Tip: We were in a room facing the garden and it was fine. We came with our children and granddaughter bu...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

First of all want to say second time to this resort and had a great time. Special mention for the concierge nalley, was extremely helpful in finding me tennis players to play with the 2 weeks i was there. The first week was fantastic as i had alexander shubny a tennis pro give me lessons. Best pro ever, thanks i learned alot and wish he had been staying another week.Also a special mention for the coffee shop,open at six and the most pleasant person will serve you,the girls at the lounge were also amazing have to say the staff are really exceptional at this resort. Great value for the money , amazing beach, good food and the best entertainment was armondo the mentalist, he was out of this world, with his tricks still dont know how he does it , a whole show would be awesome to see

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amandaguy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Let me just start by saying, if you have complaints, then you are just too hard to please! I understand -- not everyone is going to love every last thing they eat, not every bed is going to be perfect for each individual, but c'mon. The Now Sapphire and its staff far exceeded our expectations. And, if a guest felt like he/she was being ignored, then, obviously, he/she doesn't ever tip. I never encountered this problem. Most of the time, they asked so much if everything was OK, that I felt bad turning them down. You didn't have to want for anything at this resort. They literally cater to your every whim. My now-husband and I traveled to the resort April 8-18. Perfect weather. We used these 10 days to celebrate several things, and the resort always made us feel special. The hub's birthday is April 8, mine is April 10, and we got married Friday the 13th! And anyone who reads TripAdvisor can tell that, no matter what so and so had to complain about, NO ONE complained about a wedding here. I honestly could not type or say enough about it. It was truly so gorgeous. I could kiss Ramon and his whole team for making us feel like the most special people at the resort. He is so smart and wonderful at what he does. Ladies, just trust them! They know what they are doing, and you don't have to worry about anything! Ours was the only wedding this day -- guess no one else was brave enough to go for Friday the 13th :) -- but we saw several weddings throughout our 10 days. If I sat here and went on and on about everything, I would be here for five days. I will say that we were preferred. We reserved a regular room, but, as part of the wedding package, we were upgraded. The food and atmosphere were just always so wonderful. Other people have complained about a lack of nightlife...Maybe they were at another resort? Everyone was always out at night! The vendors come Tuesdays and Thursdays with their "special prices." The food was always beautiful and tasty. We used everything included in our wedding package. They did my hair and makeup; they did my pictures/video. Just trust them -- that's all I can say. Other tours we took were to the Little Mexican Cooking School in Puerto Morelos, Tulum/Tankah and Playa del Carmen. If you want to ask me anything about anything, please do, because there's so much more I could tell you. Thank you, Now Sapphire! We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MissnowMrsEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This was our second consecutive year to Sapphire Now- Cancun and we have never once been dissapointed! Everyone from the waitstaff, front desk, to room service was very friendly and went above and beyond. The grounds and pool are extremely clean and beautiful! Our waiter Jose in the buffet remembered us from last year. We even ran into people we met last year who also had to return this year because they loved it so much. The restaraunts are amazing! My favorite being the Mexican- Their steak is awesome! And not to mention the wonderful Buffet they have. you can get almost any type of drink you can conjure! But I recommend the iceberg or medori colada. This is a very special place for me and my family and we will definitly be going back next April!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely wheter you are preferred or not. But the bungelows 1-4 have an amazing oce...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jkebel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This was my second stay at now sapphire and it was so much better this trip. The food was better, the remodeled spa was beautiful. The staff was always helpful and many of them went out of their way to do special things for us. Ivan at the beach was over the top wonderful, doing special little things for our anniversary and my birthday. Juan Carlos knew what kind of drinks I liked and was fun to talk too. He took the time to ask our names and remembered them from day one. Ceaser makes a fantastic mojito! Lemeur remembered me and what I liked to drink from our last stay. These guys work hard and make you feel like they are happy to help you at any time. Employees like these make guests feel special.
We stayed for 7 days in an ocean front preferred club room. It was perfect. In my opinion the preferred club is worth the extra money. We enjoyed the table service breakfast at the grill and the upgraded room service menu. Not having to worry about finding beach chairs because they were reserved for us in the preferred area was a major plus.
It was relaxing and romantic. We got several massages, all of which were fantastic. Yes they were more expensive than what I pay at home, but at home I don't get an hour of hydrotherapy before my massage either.
We loved almost everything we ate. Surprisingly our least favorite restaurant was the Mexican, last time I loved this restaurant, this time the food was so so. The tortilla soup that I loved so much last year was terrible. The noodle bowls at lemon grass were fantastic! We loved both Cibu and paramour , the grill for dinner was just ok, service there was the worst we had, but it may have just been our particular waiter.

If you are looking for night life and dancing, you might want to go elsewhere. If you are looking to relax, feel pampered, eat well, but do not need exciting evening activities. This is the place for you. Perfect for us. Hope to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 244traveler244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

People at the front desk were practically scam artists. First we were pushed into a visit to one of their sister resorts where we got hit up for a "vacation club" (timeshare) deal - which was a ridiculous rip-off and not how we wanted to spend the first day of our honeymoon. We were also sold on a room upgrade, but then after we paid for it, they extended the room for another guest. Also, when we were considering the upgrade, they pitched the perks of the "preferred club" as another reason to upgrade. We only found out later after paying for the upgrade that we did not get those perks. And they flatly denied ever having told us about them. And it was completely impossible to ever get a manager and actually speak to someone who was a decision maker.

Very frustrating, and very unprofessional. Ran into several other guests who had similar issues and were very displeased. I would NEVER return to Now Sapphire and would STRONGLY suggest you consider staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brownbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
6.3 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,960 reviews
1.9 km away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
0.8 km away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 km away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,646 reviews
16.5 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,751 reviews
37.6 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun

Address: Super Manzana 11 Manzana 9 Lote 10, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $238 - $765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now Sapphire Riviera cancun Set in a tropical landscape of palm trees, soft sand and sparkling azure sea, combining a AAA Four Diamond award designation with Unlimited-Luxury(R) amenities, Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun redefines all-inclusive and offers the perfect escape for families with teens and tweens, couples and friends. Our Unlimited-Luxury(R) experience at Now Sapphire, where everything is included, is redefining all-inclusive. Spacious rooms and suites are graciously appointed and luxuriously equipped with amenities. Active and lively settings provide entertainment for guests of all ages, including kids, teens and tweens with the supervised Explorer's Club for Kids with Red Cross certified staff and Core Zone Teens Club. It's all wristband-free! At Now Sapphire, these amenities include: Limitless access to gourmet à la carte dining options without reservations required Unlimited international & domestic top-shelf spirits Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks 24-hour room, 24-hour Coco Cafe & concierge services Pool and beach wait service Daily refreshed mini-bar with soft drinks, juice, bottled water & beer Daily maid service Endless daytime activities and nightly entertainment Theme parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues No wristbands required All taxes and gratuities Enjoy free Wi-Fi and free international calling to the US, Canada and Mexico with Unlimited Connectivity. The mobile app also allows guests to view the schedules of all events, activities and restaurants at the resort, plus to learn about local destinations, excursions, and much more Unlimited-Luxury(R) for reconnecting every generation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Paradisus Puerto Morelos
Paradisus Hotel Puerto Morelos
Paradisus Riviera Maya
Paradisus Riviera Cancun Hotel
Paradisus Riviera Cancun Resort
Paradisus Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing