We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word - Lovely!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We booked through Dream Makers Vacation Services. They were true professionals and I would not hesitate to use their services again.

I can't rave enough about the Azul Beach resort; it really is perfect for families with young children.

- The beach was fantastic. We also got beach beds twice - the swinging ones are great for sleeping toddlers so you don't have to be holed up in your hotel room while they nap.
- The service was amazing, and very accommodating for children.
- The food was very good (our favorite restaurants included Chil and Latino).
- The kids club was great; our daughter had a blast. They were very good about keeping activities fresh: crafts, face painting, bringing the kids to the kids pool or to the beach, kids shows, etc.
- We also arranged for babysitters (from the kids club) for three nights. It was a fantastic way to get some quiet time for mommy and daddy, and we trusted the sitters since they got to know the kids through the day programs.

It was a lovely vacation and we would happily go back again. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 11, room 1117, which was a family suite. It was perfect for us: you could close t...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank happydiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,369)
There are newer reviews for Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,296 - 2,302 of 3,371 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Location:
With a busy toddler who had already spent six hours on the airplane, we were really pleased that the hotel really was just 20 minutes from the Cancun airport. Our hotel was the first stop.

Room:
Stayed in the Fischer Price Family Suite (booked through Sunquest). Originally taken to a room with two double beds. Asked to upgrade to a room with one king size bed (closed off from kids). They did this for free. This allowed us to tuck our daughter in the closed off room during nap times and we could still hang out in the room (quietly) without disturbing her. This room will fit five (two adults, three kids). Nice new room. Didn't upgrade to swim-up room because it was too cold in the pools to swim anyway. We did have a few tiny cockroaches sneak into our room--but I am a complete bug-phobic and I found the rooms to be very clean. I felt sorry for housekeeping because everything in the new rooms is white, so you can tell right away if there's a spec of dirt. Note: a deluxe room cannot connect to a suite because they aren't in the same buildings. We could hear our neighbours in the connecting room (and I'm sure they could hear our toddler at the crack of dawn too).

Spa:
Massages are good, right next to the ocean, but pretty expensive.

Food:
Service was excellent with the exception of a few poor servers at the Blue Restaurant (which is the main buffet restaurant). There was a wedding in the same restaurant and we got the sense they were short-staffed. The Italian and Latin restaurants had the best food and service.
Our daughter, who is a toddler and had her hands in everything, got sick several times. It may have been the milk, since she's the only one that drank it, but we're not sure. I didn't like how they served the yogurt in dishes rather than individual containers, but otherwise we were very pleased with the food. I thought the smoothies were a nice mid-morning snack; my mother-in-law enjoyed the cappuccino bar and cookies available all day at the same spot.

Baby-friendliness:
We borrowed a thermometer, baby monitor, and bottle warmer. All seemed fairly new and worked. We brought our own baby bed. No one had a problem with us filling up a thermos with milk each morning to keep in our fridge each day. Milk was available at all meals. They have crayons/paper at each restaurant. They also have booster chairs with toys. We only went to the kids play area/daycare once. It was fine and had lots of toys but we just figured we might as well spend our vacation time outside. The staff seemed to have fun with the kids. Our daughter is just little but she participated in the marionette show and the water balloon fight in the pool and enjoyed both. Strollers are also available.

Beach:
First, I wouldn't recommend going in the first few weeks of January. It was quite cold and windy. We did take a few dips in the ocean and the pools when the sun was out, but that wasn't often. My husband got up and reserved a beach cabana for the next day at 8 a.m every day. Our server on the beach, Israel, was really amazing. Avoid the swinging cabanas as they are quite close to each other and there's no place nearby for kids to play in the sand and they offer no wind/shade/privacy screens like the other cabanas. As other reviews mentioned, there is seaweed washed up on the beach each morning. The staff usually have it all cleared off by noon. I didn't get a single sand-fly bite and we played with my daughter in the sand every day. We brought water shoes for the ocean just to avoid worrying about stepping on rocks/seaweed, but I don't think you need to do that. We snorkeled in the ocean within the swimming area and saw a huge school of squid within the swimming area, which was really cool. I also enjoyed hatha yoga in the mornings by the beach. If you're into power yoga you will probably be bored.

Tours:
We took a trip to Tulum for half the day. We ended up booking a private van so our daughter could be in her car seat and nap to and from the ruins. We had our own tour guide and then had a nice lunch on the beach before returning to the hotel (packed a lunch in the morning). It was more expensive, but worth it for our situation. The beach/ocean at Tulum is deeper not as calm as the water at Azul Beach so it was a nice change. Plus, the weather was much nicer at Tulum.

We also took a short snorkelling tour out to the reef one morning (you can see the reef from the beach). The tour wasn't really worth it, we didn't see much other than some parrot fish, a puffer, and a lion fish and it was really really cold.

Overall, this was a less expensive alternative to Beaches. It doesn't have the waterparks and ice cream station, but it was a more intimate/ less Disney-esque vacation. It was a perfect introduction to all-inclusives for my mother-in-law who had never been to Mexico before. I think a huge mega all-inclusive would have been too much for her. It was also good with a toddler because the resort is so small, you never really have to walk to far. We never used a stroller.

PS: I bought a mosquito repellant bracelet anklet on the bus on our way to the hotel because I was pregnant and couldn't use deet bug spray. It was a rip-off as I was the only one who got bitten in our family and I was bitten most on the leg with the anklet! Don't waste your money on the silly yellow bracelets. I wished I had brought leggings to go under my dress/skirt for outdoor dining since it was pretty cool and the mosquitoes liked my legs at night.

Room Tip: Upgrade--don't choose the deluxe room (which is just their old standard room). However, they wil...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travellingscubafiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We booked with Avoya, with Sunquest and Thomas Cooke. Avoya, no problem. Sunquest: Rude and unhelpful, when asked for info after the booking was made. Their website listed prices much lower than we paid, but no reduction for us, so make sure you get the best deal up front.

We stayed at the Azul Beach Hotel from March 16-23, 2012. Myself, husband and 16 year old son. Maybe the crowd was not what my 16 year old hoped for, as the Azul caters mostly to families with small children, but he still said he had a great time, and wants to go back again.

We had a family suite, villa 9, above the swim up suites. Nice, modern, clean, roomy. Quiet and you could see the beach if you leaned out over the balcony. No matter. It's a great resort, the food is great, the staff are awesome, and the location is nice, if you don't mind the nude beach next door. We walked the beaches a lot, and you can walk for miles. The Azul has the cleanest, nicest beach, and there are snorkel tours all day to the reef in front of the resort. This resort caters to families with small children, and the other patrons were not loud, rude or intrusive at all.

We never waited more than 2 minutes to be seated in a restaurant, the buffet breakfast is great, the bar and wait staff remember people, the staff serve you drinks/food on the beach: it really is a full service resort.

However, we didn't get the memory foam pillows we asked for until the third day, the aromatherapy in the room never came, but you look outside, and forget about the rest. The beds are comfy (and I am particular about beds). The trips we took were good. Tulum (van to large hotel, large bus to Tulum, noisy, time-consuming), Xel Ha (private transport arranged at the hotel, a van to the park and escorted inside, picked up on time, Miguel you are great), worth the difference in money. Both great day trips.

The palapas at the beach are over-rated. Why wait in line to reserve one when there are plenty of loungers with clean towels at any pool you want? We never had trouble finding a spot in the sun or shade.

This resort is a class act, except for the following items: We arrived at 8 o'clock at night. No problem. Our flight out the following week had us being picked up at 4 pm. Check out is 12 noon. Problem. Hospitality room available says the front desk. OK. When we checked out, it turns out the hospitality room is only available for half an hour. We felt like homeless hobos for the afternoon. We paid for a full week, and felt ripped off, because our last day was virtually ruined because of the inflexible checkout time; we were waiting around, keeping an eye on the clock, no home base even though we had the restaurants and bars and pools, etc. You would think a hotel of this calibre would tailor check out times to check in times, so that customers get a full week of what they paid for, especially when occupancy rates are not full.

The resort is a closed complex, not the real Mexico. Five star is not the real Mexico. Having said that, the Mexican people made us feel welcome, no matter where we went. They are the real charm of the area, happy and friendly.

Room Tip: Villa 9 is new, modern, quiet. Swim up suites, or above the swim up suites. Large, not on the beac...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We travelled with our 3 year old son and stayed In a family swim up suite in building 9. We had the room for 4 nights and then stayed at the Azul Sensatori for 3 nights. We loved this hotel. It's very small but thought that the service was outstanding. The food was great and no reservations was great. We only had one bad experience in the restaurant and it was that it took too long in the Latino restaurant. We're not beach people but there was seaweed yet the water was nice and blue. This resort is awesome if you have young kids. The service was much better than the azul sensatori and I felt that it was geared for younger kids. We used trip guy.com and they were great for finding the best price and great service. If you have any questions please feel free to ask me.

Room Tip: Swim up suite building 9
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank csingh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We were lucky and got upgraded to a swim up family suite....room 1106, after walking around the resort I think our room was prime. The swim up was like having our own private pool. If you don't like kids, don't go here.....if all the kids were well mannered it wouldn't be a problem, we have kids so not too much of a problem there,....kids club = awesome, my kids were upset that they waited until the second last day to try it out. We spent one day at the beach and had some bites on my feet after that ( like mosquito bites) .room was the nicest I've ever stayed in! Would go back if it was in that room, the swim up is a must. Got a little sick of the food after about five days but I'm sure that's just normal.leo was great at the swim up bar.very nice friendly place.

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank wkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We satyed at the Azul Beach Hotel from March 8th - 15th. We have two boys ages 11 and 13. We rented 2 rooms that connected. One was a family suite and the other one was a connecting junior suite. This worked out perfect! The boys had their own space and so did we. They were super impressed by their room and we were too. The new section is beautiful! We were in building 10. Yes there is a little odor when you walk back to your room but you cannot smell it one bit inside your room. Any hotel you go to in Mexico you will find this odor at some pont in your stay. No big deal.

We have been going to Mexico for years. A few of the resorts we've been to are Gran Porto Real in Playa Del Carmen, The Royal-Adults only in PDC, Eldorado Royale-Adults only, Excellence Riviera Maya-Adults only, and a few others. We have enjoyed them all. What drew us to this property was the smaller size. We wanted the boys to be able to go back to the room without us worrying about them. It is a completely safe resort, we never had an issue with theft what so ever.

The food was great, we loved the sushi and also the Latin restaurant. There was the same kids menu available in any of the restaurants. The boys would just stay in the room some nights and order room service. Room service came within 15 minutes. Every night they'd order up microwave popcorn too.

The beach is nice, plenty of chairs and shade. The snorkeling right out front in the boueyd area was good. There is a huge school of fish that were there everyday. Super cool. My one son and I went out on the boat snorkeling. They take you about 5 minutes out to sea right in front of the resort for $38.00 per person. It was our highlight of the trip. My son couldn't believe his eyes. There were so many different kinds of fish and it was easy to do. A guide swims with you and points out certain fish. Totally fun! You must do it!

The staff at the resort were so kind and helpful. There was always smiles on their faces and they work so hard. Please tip them as often as you can. Reveka on the beach was always around offering to get drinks. She was the one who always had a smile on her face and seemed to be so positive. Israel the beach butler was also nice and helpful.

If you are looking for a place to bring your kids, very young or teenagers this is the place. There is enough activity to keep them happy. I would not recomend this to anyone without children or young childless couples looking to party. There are kids everywhere and it is quite at night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2wholovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is our second time at the Azul Beach Resort. The first time was wonderful. This time was a big change. Over crowded. Every restuarant did not have enough help. Dinner took 2 and half hours or more.
Not enough beach chairs for everyone and had to stand in line every afternoon to reserve a covered hut.
Be sure that you request a room on the front side. THey gave us a room on the back of the new part and it was beside the sewer system. We requested to move because of the awful smell.
The bright spot- beautiful weather every day, Kevin our beach butler was outstanding, and Melissa , at the front desk, was a jewel.
It is a nice place for children's entertainment. Not for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part away from the sewage system.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ksunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your second stay at the Azul Beach Hotel. We appreciate your comments and we are very sorry that this visit was not the same level of experience you received on your first visit with us. We have discussed your comments and we’re sorry that you found the hotel crowded. We have increased the number of rooms slightly, however, we have also added new restaurants, swimming pools and public areas.

The Azul Beach Hotel was completely renovated and we have received a very positive response from our loyal guests that have returned year after year. We do apologize if you encountered an unusual odor in areas of the hotel. The resort is located within a national park in which mangroves can be found nearby. They can produce an indifferent smell which at times can reach the hotel. We have planted fragrant plants and flowers throughout the grounds to eliminate this odor.

I’d like you to know that we have taken all of your feedback into consideration. We hope that you will return for a third visit to the Azul Beach Hotel and we will do our best to surpass your experiences of your first stay with us.

On behalf of Azul Beach Hotel, we’d like to thank you for choosing to stay at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
1.3 km away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico
9.8 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,958 reviews
4.2 km away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#24 of 176 in Cancun
22,287 reviews
4.5 km away
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 27.5, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $379 - $1,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul Beach Hotel is a family-friendly, boutique-style property located on a gorgeous beach 20 minutes from Cancun International Airport. All of the newly renovated 148 rooms are just steps from the beach, pools, restaurants and bars.Featuring the Gourmet Inclusive® concept, epicurean offerings include candlelight dining on the beach, a fresh fish fry and butler service to the canopied beach beds. There’s an all-lobster menu, 24-hour room service and over 30 tequilas in the tequila lounge.Azul Beach especially caters to families with young children with loaner baby equipment, kid's club and parent support. The exclusive Family & Friends Vacation Planner coordinates family reunions. Romantic couples love Beachfront Sky Massages and Suite Scenes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Beach Hotel, By Karisma Hotel Puerto Morelos
Azul Resort All Inclusive Beach
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya Mexico
Azul Hotel Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing