We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifth time - Just as Wonderful as Always!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
IL
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fifth time - Just as Wonderful as Always!”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We just returned from another great vacation at Zoetry. We have been going there every year since 2009 and can’t seem to find anywhere else that we think might be as good or better. For us, it is like going home.
The week started out rainy, which is not a good thing since Zoetry is so small. There are not a lot of indoor activities available except the spa and the ‘Library Bar’ (great martinis). Although they do have DVDs you can borrow, we did not take advantage of that (Channel 34 was all we needed: “Snow and Ashes”); but thankfully, it cleared up on day two and we enjoyed the Mexican sunshine the rest of the week.
Our usual activities are yoga in the morning (on the covered pier or on the spa lawn) and walks down the beach and/or on the path behind the buildings. While walking the path, we enjoyed seeing peacocks, ducks, iguanas, and white herons but did not get a glimpse of the mysterious crocodile that is supposed to inhabit a rocky pool. My husband continued his multi-year relationship with Makita. All the other parrots and birds (except the darn crows) are a joy. Tip: cover your chip bowl with a napkin to prevent an in-coming crow from making a quick dive-and-grab.
Unfortunately, the beach and sea were in bad shape because of the previous week of rain and storms. The seaweed was plentiful, and the water was murky. In previous visits, the beach has been lovely and the water clear and calm. Sadly, the staff cannot control the weather and sea conditions- those are up to Mother Nature.
We have our favorite spot around the pool and one of the amazing servers took care of us all day – drinks, towels, umbrellas, snacks, etc. This time, we enjoyed the attention of Erik and Miguel, but also enjoyed chatting with some of our previous friends: Antonio, Frederico, and Pepe. The servers and managers at the restaurants are also really amazing, especially Señor Ceasar at Kaax at breakfast and lunch.
Our absolutely favorite thing at Zoetry is the Thalasso Pool. It is a heated salt water pool by the spa with gentle jets that are very therapeutic. There are no chairs or drinks or loud talking allowed, so it is amazingly relaxing with a great view of the sea.
My husband and I can never decide whether we like or do not like the fact that the menus in the restaurants do not change very much. We always look forward to our favorite dishes, but also eagerly search for something new. This year, they did have ‘wellness’ menu selections at Kaax for each meal, and we enjoyed many of these: a strawberry/basil smoothie at breakfast and a yummy red snapper at dinner, for example. Luckily, we were there when they had ‘Mayan Night’ at Kaax: very interesting and delicious dishes. We only made it to La Canoa once this trip due to it being closed for a wedding party one night (watermelon and goat cheese app and rack of lamb were favs). The Grill is my husband’s favorite for lunch: great wood-fired oven that churns out amazing grilled chicken, fish and veggies. My favorite place for lunch is Kaax, especially the ceviche and caprese salad. The Grill has great steaks at dinner, but we only go when it is a ‘good mosquito week,’ (which it was this time) as all of the seating is outdoors. I must mention that I have a dietary restriction (Celiac disease), and Assistant-to-the chef Gabi and Chef Mario were absolutely wonderful about accommodating my needs, not only double-checking that my meal was safe for me to eat, but also making me special dishes like gluten-free pasta alfredo and very large and tasty Oaxacan quesadillas.
One of the reasons we love Zoetry over some of the other larger AIs in Mexico (we have been to a few), is that it ‘feels’ Mexican: the architecture, the availability of local foods, and the Mayan culture and language (Bix a bel!).
Bests this trip: 1) trip from CUN with sparkling wine; 2) Erik and Miguel at the pool; 3) Caesar at Kaax; 4) Sunset cruise on catamaran (fun music, gorgeous evening); 5) Assistant-to-Chef Señorita Gabi and Chef Mario; 6) Spa treatments (with coupons and/or discounts that brought the price down to ‘near’ US levels); 7) coffee maker and iPod dock in room. 8) A bottle of Jose Cuervo Tradicional in the room to sip on the patio in the afternoons; 9) Goat cheese ice cream! 10) The Maid Staff- the first day you pick what time is best for you for them to come to do the daily cleaning, and they also do a great job with the turndown service at night (I love reading the ‘Sundial’ newsletter that they leave each night with the next day’s activities, drink of the day, iced tea of the day, and restaurant schedules.)
A very few slight negatives: 1) the trip from the airport is awesome (private with sparkling wine), but the trip back to the airport is often shared and hurried. 2) As I mentioned before, the condition of the beach is variable based on the weather, but we cannot help but think they could scoop up that darn seaweed better. 3) I chuckled because this time we had an espresso maker in the room and according to recent reviews, it took a few calls to the front desk to get replacement ‘pods,’ and that was our experience also. 4) There were no wine glasses in the room.
Child report: We only saw one small toddler.

I would be more than happy to respond to specific questions via PM.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PamDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,670
    356
    130
    69
    56
See reviews for
201
1,625
39
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The food is amazing top class michelin dial food small portions yes but the food is amazing and you could have as much as you want if you order more dishes.

We are at the pool suites Rodas the view is beautiful overlooking the gardens, white beach with green turquoise sea did you actually ask for any more

Room service is excellent you can order anything you want to. The only issue would be dirty plates etc are not taken away once used so tend to leave these outside the front door which does work.

Had a problem with the plunge pool - not clean and no pump working but this was sorted within a day.

This is a beautiful hotel that could use some maintenance around the main edges of the main pool but overall it is top class.

The spa is to die for they've got it all even with a salt pool ah dream!

This is not Cancun this is Puerto Morelos!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TONEMALONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info_zopdb, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Dear TONEMALONE,

We would like to thank you for your time to post a review, this is a very important feedback and allow us to identify our opportunity areas and assure a great stay every time you decide to visit us again.

We are overjoyed to know that you enjoyed our food variety and the room with it´s wonderful view.

Thank you for your kind comments about our room service and from our Spa.

We can´t wait to welcome you back very soon to enjoy another relaxing and memorable stay in our paradise.

Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita
info.zopdb@zoetryresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed at Zoetry for 5 nights in May. We have been to this part of Mexico about 15 times, but never to this hotel.Last year we stayed at The Iberostar Grand, and prior to that Secrets Silversands . I was very excited to stay at Zoetry.

We arrived early,and had to wait about 30 minutes for our driver. We were driven to the resort in the Navigator and were greeted with wine and cold towels. Check in was fine, and we were taken to our suite "Bangkok" .The suite was beautiful, and the views were to die for! We had a huge terrace off the living area and a small balcony off the bedroom.

For the next 5 days, these were our observations:

*absolutely stunning resort with beautiful views
*beautiful swimming pool
*great service by the pools and pool bar,Miguel is the greatest!!
* Jimmy at the library bar,starts work at 3:30, and he is the best bar tender and just a great guy!! We spent every evening after dinner visiting with him and having great drinks! Ask him to make you a blueberry mojito, they are so delicious!
*Kaax for breakfast,very pretty with the harp player.Breakfast was good but service very inconsistent , good one day, horrible the next.
*We thought the food at chiringuito was fair, but the setting was lovely.
*Kaax dinner- food was terrible, service painfully slow.
*Room service needs much improvement:we ordered coffee room service early every morning..... Some days it came quick others it would take 45 minutes.Half the time they would forget to send cream and we would have to call several times to get it. Room service was so uneven and not presented well. We ordered the much heard about lobster lasagne,it was horrible. It came with no glass of water, no roll ,no silverware,just a plate of lasagne. No big deal but at all other up- scale hotels ,room service usually comes well equipped and presented beautifully- not here.Also one afternoon my husband ordered a burger and asked for ketchup, didn't come, and even after a call it never came.None of these are a big deal if they happen once, but it gets old when they keep happening.
* dinner st Canoa- food just OK,service once again so,so slow.

*loved the coffee maker in the room, but getting pod refills for it took 3 days and 4 phone calls.
*the beach bag was supposed to be in the room when you check in was not there... It arrived on day 3

In summary, we had a great time, and we met some really nice people.It was beautiful and relaxing. But, for a resort that bills itself as 5 star, and demands top dollar, there should not be so many service issues. The restaurants seem so disorganized . We never saw management , there were never calls asking if issues had been resolved. We felt the service and food at Secrets and the Iberostar Grand were much better than Zoetry.

We felt like Zoetry needs to start paying more attention to the small details that make a resort truly special.

There were 3 or 4 small children in the pool everyday while we were there, and a couple of teenagers playing football in the pool.This didn't bother us, and the children were well behaved.

Happy travels!

Room Tip: Bangkok was on the second floor, midway between lobby and end of the resort. Great location, great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank karlimd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Well, we have one more day here at Zoetry, and were very impressed with the suite, the food, the service, and the overall quality of the resort. But, 6 days of rain without seeing more than an hour of the sun can't be normal for Cancun in May. So, we didn't get any tan, but did experience a top notch resort. Cudos to Santiago on the waiter staff, Carlos the magical bartender (ask him to make you a Sangrita), and Miguel on the pool services team.

Zoetry is a nice, quiet resort, with not much to do nights, but enjoy great 5 course meals that usually span about two hours, and then hit either of two great bars with many top shelf liquors.

Also, one needs to be aware that one rolls the dice in the Cancun airport's immigration area...it can take you 10 minutes to clear, or an hour based on who knows what variables. We've been five times to Cancun and still can't figure out what the secret code is in immigrations. But is was very nice to have the Zoetry private shuttle driver waiting for us outside the terminal, ready to take us to the resort.

Room Tip: If it's rainy, it's best to have a room close to the main lobby and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Lovely Resort with excellent service, relaxed atmosphere & great location - the perfect "do nothing but relax" enviroment - would recommend as the best unwind destination ever!

Room Tip: No need to get the plunge pool room as we were at or near the main pool most days - all the rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susan558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My husband and I stayed in this dream property from 5/10 to 5/14 in the Antigua suite. It was the second time we have stayed there as we love this resort. Unfortunately our experience with the service in all the restaurants was not as good as it had been in 2010.

Being part of "Leading Hotels of the World" service was not under these standards. Waiters would take forever to serve you, would forget that you asked for something, there was salsa stains in the place mats. Overall, it was easy to tell they were not organized.

We love this hotel and hope they fix this, as it is a beautiful place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Lovely property with amazing a la carte cuisine. When on honeymoon, management and staff provide best service to make this stay extra special. We cannot wait to go back to this amazing resort. Highly recommended for couples - not so much for families.
Try the SPA facials and the Thalasso pool!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
8.8 km away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
21,766 reviews
10.4 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,784 reviews
4.9 km away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
21.0 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,879 reviews
2.2 km away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita

Property: Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Address: Carretera Chetumal _Cancun Km 328 | Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita, an ultra-luxury boutique resort, offers a completely new kind of vacation experience focused on wellness, serenity and romance, as well as social and environmental responsibility. Set on 500 yards of beautiful beach, this exceptionally unique property features 90 beachfront suites; La Canoa, a AAA Four Diamond award-winning restaurant; the first certified Thalassotherapy Center in North America;in-house scuba diving center, a private 48 ft. Catamaran. Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita, one of the Leading Hotels of the World, has also earned the AAA Five Diamond Award for 13 consecutive years. Each of the 90 lavish oceanfront suites is uniquely decorated with hand-picked treasures from around the world and feature private ocean front view terraces, Bvlgari® bath amenities, fine luxury linens, sparkling wine and fresh fruit daily, 24-hour private, in-room dining, maid service three times each day and a welcome bottle of Tequila. For an added measure of intimacy and romance, a selection of suites also offer access to private terrace plunge pools and outdoor honeymoon showers. Endless Privileges® provide guests limitless access to personalized, private chauffeured airport transfers; unlimited worldwide calls and concierge service; daily breakfast, lunch and dinner gourmet dining options with an assortment of organic, local and gluten-free food and beverage selections plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to enjoy late night bites at Restaurant Kaax or stay in and order room service. The Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience provides 60 more dining and entertainment venues at nearby sister resorts; complimentary cocktails and specialty beverages from a variety of domestic and international top-shelf brands and top-shelf spirits; sunset catamaran sail; shopping excursions by boat; complimentary 24-hour laundry service; relaxing 20 minute Thalasso Experience per guest; as well as complimentary greens fees at nearby Grand Coral Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoetry Paraiso De La Bonita Hotel Puerto Morelos
Paraiso De La Bonita
Paraiso Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso De La Bonita Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing