We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence Riviera Cancun -another great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
New-Brunswick
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellence Riviera Cancun -another great stay!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from our third stay at ERC. Everything about this place is excellent, from the location, beach, layout of the resort... Many people have written about it and I have nothing to add as we have nothing but good things to say... Having been to other places in the Caribbean, and this year having spent a first week at Azul Sensatori with friends and then moving to ERC for a second week, I have come to the conclusion that regardless of the physical attributes of a resort (i.e. location, maintenance of property, quality of rooms, quality of food etc), what makes Excellence Resorts stand out from others is simply their staff. Everyone we have come across at ERC has been absolutely wonderful and friendly (shout out to the beautiful Gabriela greeting us every morning at buffet, Ramon, also buffet service, making efforts to speak french, Salvador at Cafe Kafe bar who actually remembered us from previous trips -and he's getting good at throwing bottles Cocktail-style! :-), and house keeping... I don't know the name of the lady who did our room, but it was always nice to come in to special little surprises in our room... These people go all out to make sure our vacation is as restful and pleasant as possible, and it is truly appreciated. I also want to say we absolutely loved Luis at the Martini Bar (then over to Club Lounge) - always smiling, welcoming, calm and pleasant, even (and especially) when faced with outright rudeness from guests (and among others, I mean you Mister "I want FOUR ice cubes in my drink, not THREE")... We have fallen in love with ERC, and especially with the staff who make our vacations so excellent -they, above all else, are what makes us go back every year!

Room Tip: Building 6, spa view is very quiet. Building 9, end rooms are close to the side road so traffic can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,284
    1,875
    540
    184
    115
See reviews for
618
8,961
69
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,743)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Well what a fantastic 14 days where do we start. The hotel itself is very classy the grounds are stunning and extremely well kept. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. We dined in all the restaurants during our stay and apart from a couple of minor glitches (sorted by Rosalia, many thanks) enjoyed them all. The service provided by the staff was excellent but I have to mention some names, these people made this holiday so good: Cesar, Daniel and Henri in the Oregano where we ate most lunchtimes were fantastic, special mentions to Samuel (on the beach) the 2 Eddies (Italian and Spice) and Erica in the Martini Bar, thank you so much guys. We did a couple of activities during our stay, took the kayaks out a couple of times, enjoyed the cycle ride to Puerto Morelos and had a good laugh whilst attempting the archery, thanks again to all the guys in the animation team. This is a first class five star resort. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We just returned from our second stay at ERC. Once again we upgraded to the Excellence Club and stayed in a swim up room. It was nice to go back and to know where everything was and what to expect. This is the first time we have returned to the same resort which says a lot about ERC. The reason we wanted to return was not the food, the beach or the rooms, it was the outstanding service. The staff is so kind and helpful. They are willing to do all they can to make your vacation special. For example, one evening we ordered cappuccinos at the Kafe Cafe bar. Their machine was not working but instead of just telling us this, the waitress went to another location at the resort to get us our drinks. Other resorts we have stayed at would apologize but tell us that the machine was broken.

We stayed for twelve days this time and celebrated our 23rd anniversary. Moses and Joel at the excellence club bar were wonderful. They work very hard and always have a smile on their faces. The pool concierge staff were also excellent. Our towels were always waiting for us on our loungers each morning. We were particularly impressed with Carla. She was so kind and helpful, she really went above and beyond the expected. The staff in the excellence club lounge were great as well. Rosalia Maca, guest services manager, took the time to introduce herself to us and to reserve an anniversary dinner at the restaurant of our choice.

We are not picky eaters but we enjoyed all of our meals and the waiters were great at every restaurant. We tried them all. Room service was also prompt and tasty.

We enjoyed the Michael Jackson show, the Madonna show and the Circus show. The live bands that played during the day and the evening were also very good. The music at many of the restaurants in the evening was a very nice touch as well as the pool side entertainment at the excellence club pool. The daily sandwiches, fruit, and other goodies delivered to the excellence club pool were also a very nice touch.

I could go on but my review would be too long. If you have any specific questions, send me a PM.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klownt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otter Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Excellence Riviera Cancun Resort is probably the best all inclusive resort we have been to after 20 years of travelling. We have been to many 4 to 5 star all inclusive resorts in the Caribbean & we would rate this as the best one we have been to. We went March 29 to April 5 and stayed in a junior suite in the SPA Building 5, 2nd floor .
The room was nice, beds were comfortable, and nice amenities were provided. A laptop size safe was available.

Specifics/General Reasons
1) Staff were extremely friendly & would do extra things for you – with or without you asking. I believe this is an indication of the standards of management & how the resort is run in general. From the front desk to the gardeners, everyone was great.

2) Reserving of chairs – this is an issue at most resorts. Excellence has responded to guests complaints & have began removing belongings to the lost & found of inconsiderate people who reserve chairs in the early morning hours. Guess what – we found there were always available chairs. I know people complained about the Palapa police however everyone benefits.

3) Restaurants – food variety & quality is important to us. Excellence had 7 a la carte restaurants that provided amazing service & quality of food. Our favourites in this order were: Japanese, Lobster & Italian. Key points – all people at the table (typically 6) were served simultaneously, Food was steaming hot – if you wanted something extra eg. steak & lobster all you had to do was ask (one member in our group was a big eater). One member of our group had a shell fish allergy & they accommodated allowing him to order from the Grill's steak menu. Gluten free items available at the buffet was a nice option. Buffet for lunch and breakfast was great. Food was of a high quality at both meals. Snacks in the Martini bar around 4-5 pm, mini sandwiches, sweets. For early risers (not me), coffee available from 5 am in the Martini bar.

4) Entertainment – wide variety of professional entertainment – throughout the week they had different bands who played a variety of music. The people were professional & not your typical house band. A couple of the evening shows (eg. the Circus, Michael Jackson) were of Vegas quality. A movie was shown one night with popcorn.

5) Gym – large gym with a wide variety of modern equipment. It included towels, water, plus an attendant who would help you use unfamiliar equipment. Early in the day eg. 7:00 am the room was busy – but later eg. 10:00 am you could have the Gym to yourself.

Other features we liked.
a. WIFI in the room – we could sit on the balcony in the AM, drink our coffee that is in the room & catch up on our e-mail. They also provided other snacks eg. chips, chocolate bars, beer and drinks in the bar fridge -- replinished at least once a day sometimes more. Sitting on the balcony was nice -- Birds were chirping outside the room & relaxing spa music was playing.
b. Business centre – had available computers connected to the internet that were available to use at any time.
c. Revive Bar just outside our room -made smoothies (H&H was out favourite) if you got tired of drinking beer or other cocktails.

Before we went we thought not being able to make reservations for dinner might be a concern. It turned out to be much better this way. Sometimes they took us immediately, other times were were given a buzzer and went off to the bar for a drink or two until they called us. This worked out perfectly.

No timeshare sales on this property, a real bonus.

Floats for the pool were plentiful -- if you can’t find one, just ask someone who isn’t using it.

Towels were always available just look around each pool for the towel stands.

This was one of the cleanest resorts we’ve been to. The public washrooms were spotless at all times. No paper towels here, but instead nice cloth towels.

A beautiful resort all in all. Do not hesitate going here.

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are good, we had the basic room and have no complaints. Elevators are availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 5_Star_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I are in our early 30s and did a lot of research to find the best all-inclusive. We had a blast at Excellence and are so happy that we chose it! Read all of the reviews before you go though for some helpful hints. We were there the first week of April.

PROS: The grounds are beautiful! Everyone that works at the resort is so friendly and they all speak English very well. The restaurants have a good variety of food and drinks. You can eat at the beach BBQ everyday or order food from a waiter and never get out of your bathing suit. We walked the beach in both directions and Excellence is definitely the nicest in the area. This resort has it all. You can chose to do nothing or everything and they really leave it up to you. The rooms are very nice and we loved the turndown service at night. Our favorite food was Mexican breakfast at the Lobster House, Basmati (Indian) and the quesadillas from the pool bar. Yes, portions are small, but you can order as much as you want. My husband ordered 3 lobsters!
INBETWEEN PRO AND CON: The food is ok. Don't expect every meal to be the best you've ever had, but try out everything and you'll find what you like. The drinks are not very strong, but they will gladly make it how you want it. We added rum toppers to our frozen drinks. The Excellence beach is beautiful and they pick up the seaweed twice or more a day. If you walk in either direction, however, the beach is not as nice and you will be walking through more seaweed.
CONS: The pool was a little dirty at times. When we got there the resort was 60% full and it was perfect. The day before we left it was up to 90% full and we noticed a difference (longer wait times at restaurants, not as easy to get the best beach lounger/chair).

I sat here for awhile and couldn't think of any more cons to write. This really is an amazing resort! Worth every penny. Thank you, ERC, for a fabulous week.

Room Tip: We had building 6 pool view. Great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank honeymooner725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantua, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We tried ERC because other family members tried EPM and had a wonderful experience... the only thing wonderful at ERC was the weather! Here is a little of what we experienced.... Upon arrival no hotel personnel greeted us as we found our own way to the front desk... we recieved no "welcome" or champagne that was offered to other guests arriving. The elevator and ice machines in our building were not working. The view below our room was a dried up piece of ground and old broken down arbors above some of the rooms below us. Our room was right in the area of the lazy river and we thought that would be great.... WRONG! The water was dirty with more debris than people floating in it, the drains were clogged, there was mold on the tiles and lights, the skimmers looked like birds had built nests in them, and the water level was so low it never made it into the skimmers to be cleaned and filtered. What a health hazzard! I can't imagine the bacteria levels in that water! NO waiters came to our side of the lazy river to offer to get drinks, we had to go get them ourselves. Only certain people were asked to not save the floats (we were told to put them in the water) while others who had them saved on their lounges were permitted. One morning we decided to try the ocean water (it was not the crystal clear blue water as pictured). The "beach patrol" approached us as we were setting things up under the huts and told us we were not allowed to leave our things for more than an hour. We explained that we were taking a walk on the beach, coming back and would sit for awhile so as not to exceed the hour limit, and then we'd be going to breakfast. Not wanting to take a chance of losing our spots, my husband stayed with our things instead of walking. Since he had been there the whole time, we all went right to breakast. Less than 45 minues later, the girls went up to change into swimsuits and the guys headed to our beach chairs. EVERTHING has been confiscated and other people were in our place. The "Beach patrol" said we had been gone more than an hour and that is standard procedure to remove all personal things from the lounges and tables.After a confrontation with one of the two responsible for taking our things, we found two other huts that were not being used (which brings to mind the question, "Why did they take our things if there were still places for people to sit?) SO we decided to keep track of others around us and see if the same rule applied to all... You guessed it! There were chairs saved in front of us that the entire afternoon we were on the beach, NO ONE showed up - not even the "beach parol" to take THEIR things. We went in to the Barcelona for lunch buffet one day only to be asked by the hostess if "we were wet?" When we said no, she seated us at a table where all 4 cahirs were already wet and one so bad she actually switched it with another. THEN they made my brother-in-law stand while they went to get a towel for him to sit on... the CHAIR was wet, HE wasn't. We were totally embarrassed! The rooms were not always completely cleaned. The towels were not always replaced. The food and drinks were not always restocked. When we were were sent cheese and champagne as an apology for the beach incident, what we didn't eat was still in our room even after maid service had been in the following day. A lot of the staff were rude and not very helpful. We understand it was an all-inclusive resort, but still tipped very generously. Maybe we shouldn't have. The one young man making eggs, french toast and pancakes was a pleasure EVERY morning! He made our day. Ana helped us out with some of our problems and we thank her. Rosalia was the person supposedly taking care of our complaints. We didn't see her until we were waiting for our driver to take us back to the airport, whereupon she handed us a business card and said she'd like to know how our stay was... she's probably sorry she asked.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle Grove, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Excellence Resort is a terrific facility with an even better staff. We felt truly pampered from the moment we arrived. Pools and beach as well as bars, restaurants and other common areas are just terrific. Management was visible and eager to hear any suggestions to improve. I also highly recommend the private car to and from the resort. This luxury was well worth the modest incremental cost.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms may be a little noisy until 11. If you are early-to-bed, you may want pool view by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raven1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
6.4 km away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
854 reviews
2.4 km away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
14.6 km away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
16.6 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,829 reviews
34.4 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Property: Excellence Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Travelocity.ca, Expedia, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing