We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We lived a life of royalty....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
fredonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We lived a life of royalty....”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We arrived at Excellence Riveria Cancun last Friday afternoon greeted by the most amazing staff ever, welcomed with a cool fresh washcloth to refresh with, then on to a glass of champagne, followed by a bellhop who explained every detail of the resort and room...The staff, accomodations and food were beyond amazing, our party of 5 quickly fell in love with our home for the next 6 days...Silverio Chua, Sergio, Daniel, Antonio, Samuel and Melissa were like family by the end of our trip. All 6 of them did everything in their power to make us comfortable and feel special. The room service was excellent, cleanliness of the room and restocking of the bar were top notch. Everything - food, pool, beach, activities, lunch bbqs, pool bar, zumba, and especially the restaurants were top notch, the staff was amazing!! We will without hestitation return to this resort!!! We all had tears in our eyes as our transportation arrived...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jneen894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,455
    1,892
    546
    184
    117
See reviews for
636
9,110
71
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,816)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Over the years we have become fans of all inclusive resorts. We’ve been to a multitude in the Caribbean and Mexico. We are in our forties and very active. Now that you know something about us it will help you better know where the review comes from.

We stayed in 2009 at this resorts sister resort which is on the same coast. It was so bad, haha, that we decided to give this one a try. It is all you could ever expect or want out of an all inclusive in Mexico. I don’t know about stars but it used to be there was only 5 and now there is 6, but this is really really nice and but one step down from a Four Seasons or Sandals. As nice an all inclusive as you can find in Mexico.

We stayed in building three which is in the back of the resort on the top floor in a corner unit. That gave us a jungle and beach view. This put us 2 buildings away from the big theatre and the noise associated with it. It is a 3 minute walk to the beach but on days where it was windy we were out of the wind and blowing sand. The rooms on the beach are part of the Excellence Club which after reading reviews we opted not to do. The only advantage to the Club in our eyes was that people stake out chairs by the pool and on the beach early. There are more chairs available per person in the Excellence Club areas and that eliminates the need for getting a chair early. We are up early anyway, and it made no difference to us.

We are from Los Angeles and know good food. Again for an all inclusive this was as good as it gets in Mexico. On a scale of 1-10 as far as food goes this was a solid 6 or better all the time. For an all inclusive in Mexico, a solid 10. Indian restaurant stood out.

We enjoyed sailing and beach volleyball, and long walks on nice beach. We also enjoyed a bike tour to a little fishing town down the beach maybe 3 miles. Luis one of the activities people was awesome on this tour and playing volleyball on the beach.

We enjoyed the water treatments and the spa twice during our week. Look for specials in the daily newsletter as you can save a bundle.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenandneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 14 day stay at the exellence riviera cancun.We have travelled all over the world and agree that this has been the best holiday of our 63 years.Coming from Scotland the 10 hr flight was OK but the weather,the location,the staff,all the staff,the food,all the food,the room,everything made the stay worth a 20 hr flight.I cannot rate the vacacion high enough.It was hard to pick from one of the 8 resturants each night ,breakfast was excellent but dont eat too much because lunch should not be missed and I think I am more than a little heavier than I was.The food is of the highest standard ,the wine, champane and cocktails bril.So much so that we are already changing our plans for 2013 to make return visit.This is the sort of place that once you have found it it spoils you for going to any other locacion.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor block 2 which was very quiet but all the rooms are so.Ground floor rooms ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This past January my fiance' traveled to The Exellece Riviera Cancun, to celebrate our Birthday's. There was a warm greeting as soon as we arrived. The champaign and rose on the bed where a nice touch. A couple of days later there where balloons all around our bed, how cute. The service was EXCELLENT and the SPA is AMAZING. I went 3 times during our stay. The hydro therapy ritual FANTASTIC. There was so much to do.The food was top-notch. I can not wait to go back. Thank You for a great vacation :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dellmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at this resort for 6 nights. If you are like me, you probably find the reviews somewhat overwhelming and similar so I will try to keep this straight forward and simple.

Pros:

-exceptional service and friendly staff
-beautiful pool and beach (there is always a place to sit in the shade)
-wonderful spa (try the hydrotherapy it is not to be missed)
-excellent activities (the tennis pro Alfonso was really great and there are free lessons at (9:30 every day)

Cons:

-the food is really mediocre (the only restaurant I really enjoyed was Basmati)
-the bed was very uncomfortable (they did come to our room and fix it which made a huge difference)

My only other advice is that you should definitely request an upgrade to a swim-up room. There is an indoor and outdoor jacuzzi and hamock directly outside of the room. I do not think I would have enjoyed the experience as much if we had not upgraded.

Overall, I would recommend this resort to my friends that are not foodies and who are looking for a reasonably priced resort and complete relaxation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, PA
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Excellence Riviera Cancun from March 24 to 31 and this was our 8th stay at ERC. Thanks to the entire staff and all the employees for once again providing us with another great vacation at Excellence Riviera Cancun. We are treated so well from the time we enter the resort until we leave. We have always stayed at the Club level and feel it is worth the little extra you pay for all the extra things you get, especially the private beach and pool area, Club with free computer access, and all day snacks. Rosalia Maca and the Club Concierges always made sure that anything we needed was taken care of. We had the pleasure to meet the New Executive Chef and we could see some slight changes that he has made to the menus, the options available on the buffets, and the repositioning of some of the more popular items on the breakfast and lunch buffets. He has also made several nice improvements to the appetizers and treats in the Excellence Club. The quality and selection was of food is unbelievable and all of our meals were very good and the food was cooked to perfection. We ate at every restaurant except for Agave. Thank you to Luis at the Barcelona Buffet Grill, who made our eggs and omelets every day and would always say “enjoy your breakfast and have a nice day”. We were so glad to see that after our last trip that the new Beach BBQ area is now open every day and with a different theme, this is very nice, we especially liked the 50’s type Burger stand and the Taco and Paella days are always a special treat. We cannot say enough good things about the Club, Pool and Beach Concierge service, they take of everything and constantly ask and make sure if there is anything they can do for you or help you in any way. During our stay, Excellence they put on a special Music Week, in which each evening a different band would perform and the bands were all very good, not sure if they will continue this or if this was a one time event, but it was really nice. We must also say once again the overall cleanliness and beauty of the resort is impressive, it is always spotless, everywhere you go. Excellence Riviera Cancun always provides us with a care free, very relaxing vacation and we never have to worry about anything, and we have never be told no to any of our requests, which is simply amazing. We only will mention a few employees who gave us outstanding service, as the employees are the real reason we continue to return to ERC, some employees we would like to mention are Moises, Joel, Isole, Dari, Fabian, Carla, Elmy, Denisse, Jamie, Juan, Cruz, Jxavier, Angel, Cesar, Edy, Jorge and Restaurant Managers, Pablo, Juan, Edgar, Enrique and Silverio. Muy Excellente and muchas gracias to everyone at ERC, you treat us so well, and make each and every trip so special and memorable.
Muchas Gracias

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunylatitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brossard, Qc Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We travel every year to sunny destinations and our experience this year at the Excellence RivieraCancun is the best ever. From Juan at the front desk to Fernando, Cesar, Armando and all the staff, all of them are going out of their way to please us. The food is simply delicious at all the restaurants and the service impeccable. The beach is always clean and the pools refreshing and well kept. We highly recommend this hotel to all who want to enjoy a true luxury experience for their vacations. We are seriously considering a repeat next winter at this hotel!
Thank you all at the hotel for a marvelous experience, truly EXCELLENTE.

Room Tip: If you like peace and relaxation during the day, ask for a room with Spa view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
6.4 km away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
873 reviews
2.4 km away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
14.6 km away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
34.4 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,062 reviews
5.9 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Property: Excellence Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing