We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, Gay Friendly, All Proffesional, Amazing Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2010

My partner and I stayed at ERC from Dec. 24th-30th and had a great time. The service staff were incredible and we stayed in the Excellence Club section (strongly recommend it, worth every extra penny).

The food was very good with the exception of The Mexican restaurant which was poorly run, unproffesional and was serving the worst of Tex- Mexican food.
We loved the spa, the staff, our room, the room service boxes, the wonderful cocktails, how clean the resort was, the beach beds, the manicured grounds, the varied activities, the shows.

We disliked the fact that the beach was public with little to no security, we stayed at The Excellence Punta Cana and they had two guards that prevented anyone from entering either side of the beach. I was a little bit shocked on Christmas day to have screaming children on our beach. The sand is gorgeous and racked frequently but the water was quite murky and had floating debris in it often-we stuck to the emaculate pools instead.

All in all we loved the resort and think that The Excellence group of resorts is amazing and we will frequent all of there properties often. The staff are so well trained they make you feel at home instantly. My partner and I are a married female couple and they treated us with the same integrity as any of the other guys, this has not always been the case at resorts in the Carribean, we had the same amazing reception in Punta Cana.

Moses, Amable and Heidi rock the Excellence Club-they made our vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Trhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10,386 - 10,392 of 13,016 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2010

My husband and I returned for a second time to the Excellence hotel in Cancun. We found it hard to believe that they could improve from our first visit two years ago, but it had. The resort is only open four years and they certainly have everything going in the right direction. We were travelling to the resort for an early 30th anniversary as we could not travel on the exact day. The hotel had champagn on ice, glases, fruit basket, excellence beach bag, golf shirt and hat along with a letter congratulating us and welcoming us back to Excellence., Very nice touch and much apprecuiated.

This hotel is a great place if you are looking for Adults only and a quiet resort to relax and unwind from busy schedules. It is not a large hotel and is laid out perfectly. There are 6 buildings all with the same view of the spa, winding pool. Rooms are all spacious and immaculate. There are three other buildings that are facing the ocean which I beleive, were not woth the extra money as the view we had was beautiful and you can see the ocean from a distance. Next to the buildings is the theater, lobby, two bars, jewellery shop and clothing shop along with the restaurants, al within sight of each oher and perfectly laid out.

Not a lot of walking is required and the layout is perfect. Beach is wonderful for walks and kept clean and is quite wide. Swimming in ocean is wonderful in clear blue water.
Lots of chairs are available at beach and around pool so no need to get up early and reserve a chair. Waiters are always around asking if you want anything from the bar both on the beach and around the pools.

The food is the best we have had in a tropical all inclusive and we have travelled a lot. No reservations are needed at the a la cartes. Buffet or a la carte for breakfast and lunch. The french Chez Isablle restaurant has the most wonderful chateau briand with bernaise sauce I have eaten. Each table had two waiters for the evening meal....and the service was second to none. We ate here three times and at the steak restaurant the other nights. Four other restaurants were available. My only suggestion for the hotel is to offer a buffet at night as well as during the day for those who want to graze.

The hotel offers a wine of the day but others are available for a cost. The daily wine was delicious and we did not purchase anything better.

The entertainment was perfect. . Each night there was entertainment from 6-8 around the outside bar. When this ended, the nightly show started in the theater which had very comfortable seating.

The spa is better than any spa I have had in Canada. Daily specials are available for a considerable discount.

This resort is high end but worth the money. We stayed at Sandals and is the same quality of resort and offers same service.

Treat yourself.....go to Excellence Riveria Cancun!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank raneldaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Beautiful resort, excellent service, amazing trip all together. Weather could have been a little nicer but it was much better than the blizzard that was going on at home. There was alot of different places to eat, food could have been a little better, sometimes it was a little bland. Not a family resort so no kids running around and alot of rest and relaxation. Alot of fun activities to do during the days and each night there was a different show in the auditorium that was always fun. Be sure to check out the Night Club too, not alot of people in there but you can get the party started. Juan is the bartender and he was the best, we partied with him all week and our last night he was supposed to be off and he switched shifts so he can see us one last night. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone and I plan to go again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mtdionesotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

After reading all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, my husband and I expected much more than what we got. After spending 9 days at The Royal in Playa del Carmen, we decided to switch over to Excellence for the rest of our honeymoon.
Upon arrival we were offered a cold towel and champagne, which was nice. Our room smelled pretty bad. We asked for extra incense, which they gladly provided (thank god!). The showers were awful! Sure they're really big and pretty, but the water gets scalding hot, then cold within seconds. We would basically just jump in and wash ourselves as quickly as possible; not relaxing! The housekeeping was great though!
The food, however, is pretty darn good! The Lobster House was our favorite. Get the whole fish if you can. Toscana is very good too. Even The Grill was great! We had a pretty bad dinner though at Chez Isabelle that came along with a poorly recommended bottle of wine (that was extra). To make matters worse, I left my purse on the back of my chair and when I attempted to retrieve it it had mysteriously disappeared. Thank goodness my passport wasn't in there! This is reason alone to not want to return to Excellence.
The beach is gorgeous! There is a lot of seaweed that washes up, but they try their best to remove it. Keep in mind that the resort next door caters to families, so if you still want an "adults only" vacation you might want to think about that. Also, if you had hoped to sunbathe topless, the atmosphere is not conducive to it.
One thing that I found very unsettling was the pornography station on the television. Even further, the entire bar staff would threaten to take it away if you didn't participate in their games; I thought that was pretty tacky and extremely distasteful on their part.
If you want to read magazines, buy them before you get to the resort. They charge $11 for a single magazine! Also, when you check in make sure you give them a credit card number to keep on file. We repeatedly had to return to our room to pay for extra services, as they will not charge anything to your room.
The resort itself is stunning! The pools are really nice and the grounds are beautiful. I really hate to sound like such a downer, but the negatives really outweighed the positives (for us, at least).
I know these reviews can be very biased, so let me just mention that I am a young, open minded gal from San Francisco :)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gustavlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

we have just returned from the excellence and had a fantastic time the hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in . All the eight resteraunts were great we liked all of them but the french was our favourite. The sevice at all the bars was very good and all the drinks were branded drinks even remi was available. We even watched some of the shows and they were all very good Cant think of anything bad to say about the place other than the room that we were in smelt damp and musty, we were in a swim up room and we did have some rain, if you are in a swim up room and it smells move as ours did not improve after the rain had stopped no one we spoke to on the floors above had any problems with damp .

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maureenengland47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

I have to say that after reading a past reviewer description of the food....we almost didn't book here....But I am so glad that we did. We went to celebrate our birthdays and anniversary all rolled into one incredible 4 day weekend. Excellence delivered on all accounts. We booked a standard room rate. We asked for a top floor room(we don't mind climbing stairs) you don't get as much noise and we got a room with a view of the water from the balcony! The room was nicely decorated for our anniversary on arrival complete with heart shaped towels and rose petals on the bed.
The beach is a fantastic stretch of white sand beach. Moderate waves.....not great snorkeling(but if you want to do a snorkeling trip the reef off shore is one of the best I've seen in the area, the reef recovery project in Puerto Morales is working!). You can walk south along the beach for about 1.2 miles all the way to Puerto Morales a sleepy fishing village. As you walk you pass by the new Dreams Riviera resort and Cieba del Mar.
The food was just great....As a comparison, I thought the buffet breakfast at Secrets Maroma Beach was somewhat better, but overall the buffet for breakfast was more than adequate. We were only there for 3 nights, we ate at the Parisian, and Asian(hibachi), both were great. The 3rd night there was a mexican fiesta so we decided to eat there and it was a good opportunity to meet other guests as they sat you at tables with other people. I had carnitas and fajitas that were good.
With such a short time, we didn't got to the spa preferring to spend out time at the beach. We did use the workout room, they have several elipticals, treadmills, weights, yoga mats etc....more than adequate for our morning workouts.
The staff cannot be beat! All were friendly, accomodating......we couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate. We did not miss being in the premier rooms.....
Oh, for those interested.....they do not provide sunscreen like Secrets does(you can buy it in Puerto Morales or in the gift shop(or bring your own)..I brought bug repellent as some suggested, but we din't need it. All other things, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion are all provided.
It is only 20 min from the airport, we used Cancun Transfers and had private roundtrip transfer for around 80 US for 2 people.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DMG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, so thanks to all those who took the time to write before me.
I feel a person's age, experience, homeland, and social status affect how situations are interpreted. Someone who has travelled to exotic places all their lives are not going to feel the same way as someone who has saved their pennies for a year to be able to have a one week holdiay, so I will add that I am a middle class working 46 yr old female.
My spouse and I visited this resort Dec 20-27, 2009. We stayed in a Spa View Swim up (Not Excellence Club).
Check-in: Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted with a cool towel,cold champagne and smiles. The front desk processed our check-in quickly and efficiently. A bell man collected our luggage and gave us a tour and information as he escorted us to our room.

Room: Our room was spacious and clean. The shower was fantastic! It's a little room all on it's own with lots of space to move around and great water pressure. Yes, both it and the toilet area have an echo, I didn't see this as a huge problem. We had a King size bed. The matteress was firm but not uncomfortable. Pillows were not so great and could use an upgrade. The tv had some interesting channels :) . The swim-ups all have their own hammock, two lounge chairs and outdoor jacuzzi tub. We used ours three times, did not use the indoor one. We did not use our lounge chairs, I will explain in the "building" portion. We did not have any bug/mosquito issues. We only witnessed the resort spraying once and did not find this intrusive.
Now for the smell that everyone keeps referring to. Yes, there was a musty aroma in the room. It was more prominent when the AC was on. When possible we just opened the patio door and that helped. Because we were on the ground floor, we couldn't leave it open when we weren't in the room. The resort supplies incense and we brought scented candles. We did not however find it to be overwhelming in any way. This area has high humidity, so yes, the sheets and clothing items did become damp. I don't see this, the musty smell, or the mosquitos as a "resort" problem as much as an environmental/seasonal one.
The maid always did a great job and turn down service was only missed one time. The rooms do have free internet but not wireless, so bring an ethernet cable. A short one, 2 footer will work fine. Shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, soap, razor, toothbrush, toothpaste, comb etc were all provided as well as a bathrobe and slippers.
We were celebrating our anniversary and very much appreciated the extras that were added to help make it special. We returned from lunch one day to find a nice banner on our door, a heart on our bed with scattered rose petals around it, as well as a nice bottle of champagne and fruit basket. They also offered us an in room champagne breakfast but there was a mix up with our reservation for it and it never happened. We were a bit disappointed about that.

Building location: There is a road that goes around back of the resort so most of the buildings do get a bit of traffic noise. If the AC is on, you can't hear it. The reason we did not use our lounge chairs is that there was never any sun in our room/yard area. We were in building 5. If you want to enjoy your swim up and be in the sun, ask for Building 1 or 2. Those areas also had nicer vegetation and flowers, probably because they did get sun. Buildings 7(3 of them),8,9 are Excellence Club. If you're doing Excellence Club, I'd recommend any of the building 7's. They're the closest to the beach and common areas, and not near the road or resort next door. Buildings 8 and 9 don't have the road but they get some noise from the Dreams resort next door. I say "noise" but none of it was bothersome. The atmosphere is very relaxing.

Food: I will say right now, that I am a picky eater! I do not like seafood, and, although I'm not a vegetarian, I'm not a big fan of meat. Eating out is usually an issue for me. I had NO issues with the food at this place. There are many restaurants and menu choices. I ate just fine here, even with my pickiness. My spouse on the other hand likes everything and has a taste for the finer foods in life. He also was able to find meals that he enjoyed. We did find some of the food to be a bit bland but they do have to cater to everyone's taste. They were more than happy to 'spice' things up when we asked. My favorite was the breakfast and lunch buffet at Barcelona. The choices of foods were endless!! My spouses favorite was Spice, we ate there twice. The pizza at Oregano was awsome!

The Beach: The sand is soft and white. We had some nasty weather the first day which brought up some seagrass and made the water dirty. It cleared up fairly quickly. There were some larger rocks here and there in the water, but nothing serious. Again, I see the beach water cleanliness to be more environmental than a resort issue. What bothered me more was the messes from the guests! There are towel supplies here and there throughout the resort, as well as large ceramic containers for placing the used towels. At the end of the day, there were towels strewn on chairs/beds, on the ground etc. You have to walk right past the towel collector bins on your way off the beach. There were also newspapers, water bottles, plastic/paper cups left all over the place when there are several garbage cans on the beach as well. I felt that this was just bad behavior on the part of the guests! This is not a resort issue either, just ppl with bad manners who won't pick up after themselves. This was also an issue around the pool areas.
In general: The grounds and common areas are impeccable. Very clean and well maintained. I loved the atmosphere at the theatre. The shows we saw were great, and yes, the Michael Jackson one should not be missed. The men will enjoy the eye candy in many of the shows. There were two theme night buffets at the theatre. Very well done and many hours of work setting up.

Christmas: It was my first time being away from home for Christmas and although I was more than happy to be on the beach tanning, I did feel a bit meloncholy about it. The extras again were much appreciated. The resort was very nicely decorated with Christmas trees, poinsettias, and also a nativity scene (which added some laughs because on Christmas morning, there were TWO baby Jesus'-one put there by the management and one put there by the staff). I really enjoyed the violin player doing "Canon de Pachelbel" during breakfast on Christmas Eve. That night, we returned to our room to find a chocolate Santa, some truffles and sugar cookies. Christmas day, Santa and his elves arrived by boat to hand out lollipops and roses. They mingled with the guests for chat and pictures. It certainly added to the day!

Spa and gym: We took a peek in the gym; nice equipment but we didn't use it. There's a nicely landscaped running path all the way around the resort with lots of shade. We did not use the spa, but the staff allowed us to tour the facility which was absolutely beautiful.

Pools: There are pools scattered throughout the resort. Lots of room, no crowding. They're all sparkling clean!! The water is on the chilly side. I found it colder than the ocean water. They supply mats to enjoy the lazy river.
PS. There are washrooms all around the resort. Someone mentioned that there was a lack of, especially around the swim up bar. There are several but they're disceet. The closest one to the swim up bar is near the entrance to The Grill. The one behind the Theater, and the one near the Martini bar in the main building, are actually very nice as far as washrooms go.

Service/Staff: Everyone working at the resort was friendly, professional and well trained. We did have our favorites, but no bad experiences. Although not required, we did tip the restaurant and beach waiters, bar staff, maid and turn down staff. They all worked very hard to make our stay pleasant and all seemed very appreciative when tipped. Service did not change if you didn't tip. We just felt they deserved it.

We know we could have gone to some other sun spot for less money, but we are not sorry we chose this vacation destination. We got to visit other areas (Puerto Morelos, Playa Del Carmen) without having to worry. We shared a taxi with another couple to Playa. The driver stayed there and waited for us, with no time constraints. The cost was $35 US each way or 350 Pesos, so it's actually cheaper if you change your US currency at the lobby desk before paying the driver. We walked to Puerto Morelos, via the beach, but the resort offers bicycle tours every morning, or a taxi is $9.

We did the snorkelling tour which was offered at the resort.

I do have children, but the fact that there are none at this resort was a bonus. The brand new Dreams next door is geared more to families and twenty somethings, offering lots of activities and busy stuff. Their space is well used up. Feel free to ask more.

We met some really nice ppl from Canada and the UK.

All in all, it was a superb vacation experience and I would recommend this resort to my friends and family.

Feel free to drop me a note if you'd like more info about anything in particular, or more details.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank LitleDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
6.4 km away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
961 reviews
2.4 km away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
5.9 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
9,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,390 reviews
18.7 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
0.5 km away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#5 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
7,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $436 - $805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing