We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14,647)
Filter reviews
14,647 results
Traveller rating
11,600
2,115
611
198
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11,600
2,115
611
198
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverchez isabellelobstermartini barthe grillflavor marketsol barspa viewbarcelona restaurantclub poolroom serviceour honeymoonfrench restaurantlas olasclub levelmichael jackson showswim up room
Filter
Updating list...
11,950 - 11,955 of 14,647 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2010

My husband and I returned for a second time to the Excellence hotel in Cancun. We found it hard to believe that they could improve from our first visit two years ago, but it had. The resort is only open four years and they certainly have everything going in the right direction. We were travelling to the resort for an early 30th anniversary as we could not travel on the exact day. The hotel had champagn on ice, glases, fruit basket, excellence beach bag, golf shirt and hat along with a letter congratulating us and welcoming us back to Excellence., Very nice touch and much apprecuiated.

This hotel is a great place if you are looking for Adults only and a quiet resort to relax and unwind from busy schedules. It is not a large hotel and is laid out perfectly. There are 6 buildings all with the same view of the spa, winding pool. Rooms are all spacious and immaculate. There are three other buildings that are facing the ocean which I beleive, were not woth the extra money as the view we had was beautiful and you can see the ocean from a distance. Next to the buildings is the theater, lobby, two bars, jewellery shop and clothing shop along with the restaurants, al within sight of each oher and perfectly laid out.

Not a lot of walking is required and the layout is perfect. Beach is wonderful for walks and kept clean and is quite wide. Swimming in ocean is wonderful in clear blue water.
Lots of chairs are available at beach and around pool so no need to get up early and reserve a chair. Waiters are always around asking if you want anything from the bar both on the beach and around the pools.

The food is the best we have had in a tropical all inclusive and we have travelled a lot. No reservations are needed at the a la cartes. Buffet or a la carte for breakfast and lunch. The french Chez Isablle restaurant has the most wonderful chateau briand with bernaise sauce I have eaten. Each table had two waiters for the evening meal....and the service was second to none. We ate here three times and at the steak restaurant the other nights. Four other restaurants were available. My only suggestion for the hotel is to offer a buffet at night as well as during the day for those who want to graze.

The hotel offers a wine of the day but others are available for a cost. The daily wine was delicious and we did not purchase anything better.

The entertainment was perfect. . Each night there was entertainment from 6-8 around the outside bar. When this ended, the nightly show started in the theater which had very comfortable seating.

The spa is better than any spa I have had in Canada. Daily specials are available for a considerable discount.

This resort is high end but worth the money. We stayed at Sandals and is the same quality of resort and offers same service.

Treat yourself.....go to Excellence Riveria Cancun!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank raneldaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Beautiful resort, excellent service, amazing trip all together. Weather could have been a little nicer but it was much better than the blizzard that was going on at home. There was alot of different places to eat, food could have been a little better, sometimes it was a little bland. Not a family resort so no kids running around and alot of rest and relaxation. Alot of fun activities to do during the days and each night there was a different show in the auditorium that was always fun. Be sure to check out the Night Club too, not alot of people in there but you can get the party started. Juan is the bartender and he was the best, we partied with him all week and our last night he was supposed to be off and he switched shifts so he can see us one last night. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone and I plan to go again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mtdionesotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2009

After reading all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, my husband and I expected much more than what we got. After spending 9 days at The Royal in Playa del Carmen, we decided to switch over to Excellence for the rest of our honeymoon.
Upon arrival we were offered a cold towel and champagne, which was nice. Our room smelled pretty bad. We asked for extra incense, which they gladly provided (thank god!). The showers were awful! Sure they're really big and pretty, but the water gets scalding hot, then cold within seconds. We would basically just jump in and wash ourselves as quickly as possible; not relaxing! The housekeeping was great though!
The food, however, is pretty darn good! The Lobster House was our favorite. Get the whole fish if you can. Toscana is very good too. Even The Grill was great! We had a pretty bad dinner though at Chez Isabelle that came along with a poorly recommended bottle of wine (that was extra). To make matters worse, I left my purse on the back of my chair and when I attempted to retrieve it it had mysteriously disappeared. Thank goodness my passport wasn't in there! This is reason alone to not want to return to Excellence.
The beach is gorgeous! There is a lot of seaweed that washes up, but they try their best to remove it. Keep in mind that the resort next door caters to families, so if you still want an "adults only" vacation you might want to think about that. Also, if you had hoped to sunbathe topless, the atmosphere is not conducive to it.
One thing that I found very unsettling was the pornography station on the television. Even further, the entire bar staff would threaten to take it away if you didn't participate in their games; I thought that was pretty tacky and extremely distasteful on their part.
If you want to read magazines, buy them before you get to the resort. They charge $11 for a single magazine! Also, when you check in make sure you give them a credit card number to keep on file. We repeatedly had to return to our room to pay for extra services, as they will not charge anything to your room.
The resort itself is stunning! The pools are really nice and the grounds are beautiful. I really hate to sound like such a downer, but the negatives really outweighed the positives (for us, at least).
I know these reviews can be very biased, so let me just mention that I am a young, open minded gal from San Francisco :)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gustavlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2009

we have just returned from the excellence and had a fantastic time the hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in . All the eight resteraunts were great we liked all of them but the french was our favourite. The sevice at all the bars was very good and all the drinks were branded drinks even remi was available. We even watched some of the shows and they were all very good Cant think of anything bad to say about the place other than the room that we were in smelt damp and musty, we were in a swim up room and we did have some rain, if you are in a swim up room and it smells move as ours did not improve after the rain had stopped no one we spoke to on the floors above had any problems with damp .

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maureenengland47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I have to say that after reading a past reviewer description of the food....we almost didn't book here....But I am so glad that we did. We went to celebrate our birthdays and anniversary all rolled into one incredible 4 day weekend. Excellence delivered on all accounts. We booked a standard room rate. We asked for a top floor room(we don't mind climbing stairs) you don't get as much noise and we got a room with a view of the water from the balcony! The room was nicely decorated for our anniversary on arrival complete with heart shaped towels and rose petals on the bed.
The beach is a fantastic stretch of white sand beach. Moderate waves.....not great snorkeling(but if you want to do a snorkeling trip the reef off shore is one of the best I've seen in the area, the reef recovery project in Puerto Morales is working!). You can walk south along the beach for about 1.2 miles all the way to Puerto Morales a sleepy fishing village. As you walk you pass by the new Dreams Riviera resort and Cieba del Mar.
The food was just great....As a comparison, I thought the buffet breakfast at Secrets Maroma Beach was somewhat better, but overall the buffet for breakfast was more than adequate. We were only there for 3 nights, we ate at the Parisian, and Asian(hibachi), both were great. The 3rd night there was a mexican fiesta so we decided to eat there and it was a good opportunity to meet other guests as they sat you at tables with other people. I had carnitas and fajitas that were good.
With such a short time, we didn't got to the spa preferring to spend out time at the beach. We did use the workout room, they have several elipticals, treadmills, weights, yoga mats etc....more than adequate for our morning workouts.
The staff cannot be beat! All were friendly, accomodating......we couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate. We did not miss being in the premier rooms.....
Oh, for those interested.....they do not provide sunscreen like Secrets does(you can buy it in Puerto Morales or in the gift shop(or bring your own)..I brought bug repellent as some suggested, but we din't need it. All other things, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion are all provided.
It is only 20 min from the airport, we used Cancun Transfers and had private roundtrip transfer for around 80 US for 2 people.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DMG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews