We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excellence Riviera Cancun
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$941
US$305
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$590
US$544
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
US$231
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
US$220
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$643
US$304
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$613
US$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acamaya Reef(Puerto Morelos)
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arrecifes Suites(Puerto Morelos)(Great Value!)
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13,695)
Filter reviews
13,695 results
Traveller rating
10,769
2,028
583
194
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10,769
2,028
583
194
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverchez isabellelobstermartini barthe grillflavor marketsol barspa viewbarcelona restaurantclub poolroom serviceour honeymoonfrench restaurantlas olasmichael jackson showclub levelswim up room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,319 - 1,324 of 13,695 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017

One word, as used by the wonderful staff at this resort – EXCELENTE!
This was our first stay at the Excellence Riviera Cancun and we were amazed. The customer service is the best I have ever seen anywhere.

1. Staff – There is not enough that I can say about the amazing team. The employees throughout the resort were always smiling and ensuring guests were happy. You can tell that they love their jobs. No matter what role they played, they always greeted us in a very friendly manner. While ALL the staff we encountered were great, I would like to give a special recognition to the ones that we interacted with daily. Guillermo and Lino at the Blue Bar – thank you for always keeping are drinks flowing and the pleasant conversations. Edgar, Micael, Reyes and XXX at the Lobster House – you made lunch an absolute pleasure. Your recommendations were always delicious and welcomed. When we were leaving, Edgar made it a point to run upstairs and stop us before we boarded our transport to the airport to make sure he said “goodbye” to my girlfriend. A true class act.

2. Entertainment – The entertainment team works really hard to keep guests entertained and participating in activities. ALL the shows were fun, exciting and well prepared. We were fortunate to be present for their independence day celebration and it was amazing. A full day/night celebrating the Mexican culture and they truly made you feel a part of it. Their team worked all day and night that day and were up smiling early the next AM to get ready for another day of activities. DJ Angel, Jezer, Monica and Leidy are truly special. Thank you for a wonderful time!

3. Food – The food at the resort was DELICIOUS! We never had a bad meal or felt sick. Typically, we would stop at Barcelona for the breakfast buffet. They had everything you can think of and it was always good. Pastries, cereal, fruit, smoothies, omelette station, bread, cheeses, meats, etc. For lunch, the pizza by the pool was good. So was the buffet at Barcelona (my girlfriend LOVED the pasta station) and the meals at Oregano. However, my favorite was the Lobster House. They had a fried fish that was so good, I ordered it twice on my last day . For dinner, all the restaurants had delicious meals. Our favorite was Chez Isabelle!

4. Room – Our room was GREAT! We were on the 3rd floor of building 7 facing the plaza and ocean. The room featured a large shower, bathtub and all the necessary items neeed such as toothpaste, shaving kit, lotion, shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. All which were replenished daily if needed. The attendants maintaining the rooms all did a great job making sure the room was clean, the mini bar and fridge were stocked and ready for bed at night.

5. Resort - The resort is beautiful and serene. The scent throughout the resort is so calming. The grounds are well maintained and the staff works really hard to make sure it stays that way. While we were there, we encountered a few passing showers and the staff was so quick to squeegee the water as soon as it stopped. There’s a pool for everyone. If you just want to float around and relax, visit the lazy river. Party it up a little more, visit the pool where Blue Bar is located. No matter which pool you are at, be assured that there will be someone from the team there to make sure you’re alright. We met many great people at the Blue Bar – staff and guests. One recommendation I would like to make is a better check-in process. After we were checked in, we were handed a map to explore the resort until a room was ready. It would have been nice to have someone walk us over to a place to change or at least guide us into a main area since we weren’t familiar with the amenities. Also, maybe using a pager system would be great for guests waiting for their room. We were told we would be emailed when our room was ready, but we didn’t receive anything until after we were already in the room.

If there is anything I can honestly say was really bad about our stay at ERC is that we had to leave. When you arrive, the first thing you hear is “Welcome Home” and it truly felt like home. It was very hard to have to leave, but without any certainty, we will be back to visit the ERC family. Hopefully in May 2018. Again, to everyone there, THANK YOU for such an amazing experience. You are all EXCELENTE!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMP_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Our recent visit to Excellence Riviera Cancún was literally the best vacation I've ever had. Our travel agent booked us for eight days at the resort on just a few days' notice after our planned cruise vacation out of Miami was impacted by Hurricane Irma. We are frequent cruisers but had never been to an all inclusive, so we weren't sure what to expect. Excellence was like a slice of paradise where you could be as relaxed or as active as you wanted to be. They greet you at the door when you arrive with a glass of sparkling wine and "Welcome home," and you truly feel like you are.

The facilities were gorgeous and impeccably clean. Staff members were out at the crack of dawn and throughout the day, every day, scrubbing, cleaning, painting, etc. The guest rooms were huge and beautiful, with tons of space, big balconies, perpetually stocked minibars and gigantic showers. The main lobby area was always pristine and, strange as it sounds to say, smelled so pleasantly clean every day. The pools were clean and plentiful and had different vibes: the more active and boisterous atmosphere of the main pool, with a swim up bar; the chill, relaxed vibe of the lazy river near the spa, etc. The attention to detail was unreal. (Just one example: Every morning, staff members would go to each sand ash tray throughout the resort, clean it and smooth it out, and stamp the Excellence flower logo into each and every one.)

The food and drinks were fantastic. Chez Isabelle and Toscana were favorites for dinner — don't miss the sea bass at Chez Isabelle or the gnocchi at Toscana. Flavor Market also was fun, with a barrage of different tapas to choose from. I couldn't believe that everything was included. The casual seafood lunches at Lobster House were so fresh and delicious. And they had the best guacamole that I pretty much ate with everything. ;)

There was entertainment every night: I really enjoyed the Silent Party and Circus Show, and the live music in the plaza. The Mexican Independence Day celebration in particular was really spectacular. We felt so lucky to be there for this event. A huge buffet with tons of amazing Mexican food outside in the plaza and wonderful, authentic music and dancing with elaborate costumes.

The activities throughout the day were very fun, too. I loved Spanish lessons and Aqua Zumba and water aerobics. And there were plenty of fun non-motorized water sports that were included. I learned how to paddle board and sail a Hobie Cat, and loved kayaking around near the piers, admiring the pelicans. I'm bummed I didn't get a chance to try archery or yoga classes, but they're on my list for next time!

The spa — with its billowing white curtains at the entrance — was gorgeous, and I greatly enjoyed the massage I had there and the structured aqua circuit beforehand.

As a side note, if you love wildlife like I do, it was a treat to see huge iguanas just hanging out and sunning themselves, and little geckos running around. We also saw several types of birds, including the bold great-tailed grackles (which have certainly learned that resort life is the best way to get an unlimited stash of french fries and tortilla chips), double-crested cormorants, magnificent frigatebirds, brown pelicans, hooded orioles and tropical mockingbirds.

Above all, the service was out of this world. All of the team members at Excellence were wonderful — everyone was always smiling, calling "¡Hola!" and asking how everything was — but there were a few people in particular who truly made our vacation special. Leydi and Javier from the entertainment team were beyond awesome. I loved their Spanish classes and aqua aerobics classes. Leydi also guided us on a very fun bike ride to Puerto Morelos (be sure to arrive at 8:30 if you want to get in on that, because there are only 10 bikes!) where we got to see some landmarks and visit a local market. Javier was so energetic and enthusiastic at all of the special events — he was truly a joy to be around. Maricela and Luis took great care of me in the spa, and José at Chez Isabelle, Jonathan at Toscana and Miguel at Basmati were so sweet in helping me practice speaking Spanish while we were there. Chris at the water sports hut kindly taught me how to sail the Hobie Cat. At all times, we felt safe and valued as guests.

We were beyond amazed with our experience at Excellence and are already planning a return, to this location and/or others! Muchas gracias!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the spa are wonderfully peaceful!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cortcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Ok so we just got back from our trip to this resort, it was the eleventh time, it draws you back time and time again, I have reviewed before about how wonderful everything is, the thing is the staff at this place I think are what truly makes it magical, I'm not going to name any because they all deserve to be recognised, we stayed in the club this time, but we have also stayed in the regular rooms, they just look after you from start to finish, everything you want is here, nothing is too much trouble, they work so hard at making sure you are looked after, if anyone is worried, just please go, you will have the time of your life.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I traveled to this resort with 7 other friends (3 couples, and two single folks) and we had The. Best. Time. We are all in our early 30's, which meant that we are in the middle between wanting to drink/have fun, and relax. This resort was absolutely perfect for us, as it was the best of both worlds. It was not a crazy party atmosphere, (though if you wanted to party, you could find ways to do it), but it was also not a boring "old-folks" resort with nothing to do and nothing to see. It was EVERYTHING.

Let me tell you, the rooms are all absolutely gorgeous, even the regular basic-rate rooms. Most of my friends did the regular rooms and they were totally beautiful. I upgraded to the Swim-up room because I wanted a hammock and daybed instead of a terrace, and it was well worth the money! Then another one of my friends got a surprise upgrade for being Expedia Gold, and they were given a bi-level suite with rooftop plunge pool, and that was also stunning. All in all, every room I saw was to-date, modern, and high quality--and I saw several!

Okay, other things: many other reviews talk about various employees and how great they are. As a traveler looking to figure out where to stay, I found it tiresome to read the random names of people I didn't know. But now that I've been, I understand why. THESE PEOPLE ARE AMAZING. Seriously. There were so many smiling faces, fun activities, and amazing small touches of service everywhere I looked. From the completely fantastic activities folks (Leyti, Javier, Jezer, Monica, Carlos, Alfonso) to the restaurant staff (Manuel and Adalberto at Agave, Aaron at the mexican fiesta, Judith at Spice, Santos at the sports bar, and Marcos, Isac and Ramon at Barcelona), to Luis and Marella at the Spa, to Carlos the bellman, Ruby at the jewelry store and Moses our craps croupier at Casino Night, literally every single person I interacted with was an absolute joy and they should all get significant raises. Hands down.

Okay, now back to the review stuff: You want to relax and have a low-key trip? We got you. Just book a room near the spa and you'll be in the quieter area where people lounge by the pool, read books, and recharge. Want something livelier? Book near the main pool, where there are daily activites like water volleyball, music trivia, water balloon challenges, aqua aerobics, and tons of other stuff.

PS: Other reviews I had read complained about difficulty finding chairs by the pool. I didn't experience this, but your mileage may vary. Seats were definitely claimed, but it always seemed to me as though there were enough to go around.

The quality of the food was what really amazed me. I assumed, since this was an all-inclusive, that the food would only be so-so. Not so! We visited almost all of the restaurants (I'll see you next time, Oregano and Chez French Place), and universally everything we ate was excellent. My favorite was actually the Indian (Basmati), but others in my group said theirs was Spice (the Benihana style place), or Flavor Market (tapas). The Mexican restaurant (Agave) was also great, but that's no surprise!

The fact that there are no kids running around? Amazing. I will never go to a family resort again, unless I myself am traveling with children. No kids around really made a huge difference in the atmosphere of this place vs. other resorts.

What else? The evening activities! Man! Every night there was a different activity. For our nights it was: Pirate show (holy cow, fire spinning and acrobatics), Urban Show (hip hop dance performance), Casino Night/Michael Jackson show, Mexican Fiesta/Silent Party. Everything was really great and fun! It's clear the folks who put on these shows take it seriously, and everything was really well put-together.

Oh, and finally, the spa--I went for two different treatments--a pedicure on Day 1, and then a massage on my last day. Both were amazing, and I had a wonderful experience both with those treatments and with the hydrotherapy before my massage (worth it!). They do give you daily special deals on the nightly update newsletter you get with your turndown service, so don't sleep on that!

What parting pointers can I give you? a) If you leave special requests for the maids, they'll do their best to accommodate you. My mini fridge had 2 Sol Beers, 2 tecate lights, some various sodas and candy bars in it, that were stocked daily. One of my friends asked for Extra Coca Cola lights instead of other canned items, and the maids accommodated them. They also include a nice incense stick each day for you to use at your leisure. I used mine one night and the next day the maids left me 2, which I really appreciated. :)
b) Tip, if you can! Just a dollar or two per interaction goes a long way. It's definitely not expected, but you can tell it's really appreciated. For my 5 night/6 day stay, I used about $100 in tips and it worked out well for maids, waitstaff, etc.
c) Leave your toiletries at home! Everything from shampoo, conditioner, bath gel to mouthwash and toothpaste is included in your room. Save the space in your luggage for more bathing suits! :)
d) Sunscreen at the gift shop is expensive (literally $20-something dollars expensive). You might want to consider bringing your own!
e) Room service is available 24/7, and they are super super nice. So if you have a late night session in your room, you'll always be able to get something to eat!
f) there's a tiny cafe inside the main lobby, and they have the most delicious little macarons. Make sure you stop by and grab one!
g) Consider an excursion. We did the one to Chichen Itza and I thought it was totally worth it. It was amazing to see, the guide was great (Wenceslao), and the cenote, omg. The cenote was so cool!
h) Just go already! I miss it and wish I were back there!

Room Tip: Rooms near the spa are quieter, near the main pool is lively
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank awesommmmmeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence G, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun as host of your getaway and for taking the time to share your experience with all Trip Advisor readers.

We are amused to read your amiable words regarding your stay with us and to know that you had such an enjoyable time at Excellence Riviera Cancun. We appreciate your generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation mentioning that the outstanding services & activities provided by our dedicated staff, as well as the quality of food encountered that made your entire experience beyond expected.

Please rest sure that your amiable comments will reach the eyes and ears of all our staff at the resort. It means so much more when it comes from the opinion of our valued guest!

It will be a great honor to welcome you again soon and provide another amazing stay.

Please receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

OK...so my husband and i returned from the Excellence, Riviera Cancun on September 2, 2017. This was our 3rd trip to this hotel and it took me this long to write the review because I'm still sulking! Leaving this venue is oh so difficult. We are ready to book next August for our 4th return visit but would like to go back even sooner if possible. I don't know where to begin with the accolades. On a scale of 1 - 10, the property itself is a 10, the food is a 10, the Restaurants are all 10's, the buildings and grounds are 10's and the rooms (club or not) are 10's. OK, so much for the physical rating, now lets get to the nitty gritty...the Staff. With overwhelming gratitude I salute the staff of the Excellence who offer up an atmosphere of peace and tranquility. "What can I get for you, when do you want it, how much do you want and it's my pleasure to help you." From each and every member of the staff I received an 'OLA' and a smile each and every time they passed. This was not limited to just the pool, club bar led by MOISES & MABEL (the very best people on the planet), restaurant & housekeeping staff. Even maintenance workers had a smile as they manicured the grounds. I swear that the Iguana hanging out even smiled as I passed (who's to dispute that)? The hotel management did NOT sit back in an office hoping that all was going well. They made regular appearances coming by the pool & restaurants inquiring how everything was going. I once again got to say hi to MANUEL GONZALEZ, the General Manager and FREDERICO MORCIRA, the assistant General Manager. They were ever present and anxious as always to see that the guests were happy. Now my very special BFF is GUILLAIRMO PARRO. (see photo if I can figure out how to post it). He was the Pastry Chef and the reason I still have to go to Weight Watchers. He is now one of the head Soux Chefs and popped up to supervise the outdoor fiestas as well as making appearances from time to time in several of the restaurants and greeted my husband and I as long lost friends. There is no doubt that any visit to this destination will prove to be a trip of a lifetime. BTW...with all of the warnings and travel advisories my husband I felt totally safe here. We used the hotel recommended transfer company and arrived in less than 20 minutes in PARADISE.

Room Tip: Ocean View, Spa View or a view of the 'Pastries'. you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trudy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews