We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,795)
Filter reviews
11,795 results
Traveller rating
7,771
2,629
926
227
242
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,771
2,629
926
227
242
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diamond club caribbean grill splash pool sports bar zen restaurant butler service hunter steakhouse gourmet marche presidential suite tex mex food was amazing ocean view kids club guest services our favourite dinner reservations family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
8,349 - 8,354 of 11,795 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2015 via mobile

So I have to admit I was pretty upset with the hotel at first because one of the ladies who we thought was helping us set up and get familiar with the resort ended up being a time share representative she told us we couldn't plan our activities until after 12pm the next day! Mind you we were only going to be at the resort for 4 days!!! So that was a waste of day. So the next day we followed up at 12 over at NEXUS where we met Renée Ramirez he was awesome! If it wasn't for him I think we would've hated this trip he was great! He pointed us into the right direction and gave us pointers on the hot clubs in Cancun and playa Del Carmen best customer service we ever had! My husband and I have never had this much fun at a night club ever! Attractions was the same thing he was very helpful we ended up also doing the pirate hook show which was amazing and its a must be sure to take a motion sickness pill before though!

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Venture195785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge F, Director General at Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Dear guest
Thank you for staying at Royalton Riviera Cancun and for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.
We value your feedback and are delighted to read that you particularly appreciated our service; especially from Renée, who will be recognized for their outstanding service provided.
Hoping to welcome you once again at Royalton Riviera Cancun.
Luxury Regards
Francisco Jorge
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2015

This was our first time to the Royalton and we had a blast. We took our two year old son and he loved every minute!

Kids Splash Pad - Was best in class. Only caution is that if your kids is under 40" they cannot use the water slides and parents are not allowed on them. Pool service was basically non-existent. Definitely, need more pool staff to accommodate the large number of guest.

Food - Not your typical all-inclusive resort food. Tons of variety and something for everyone. Caution -- if you are not a Diamond member you are a second class citizen. Be prepared for long line ups at the restaurants. A reservation system would be ideal for such a busy hotel.

Rooms -- really nice but awkward lay out. Tub is in the front of the room. My son couldn't stop playing with it. Caution -- my son is 2 years old and 34 inches. The only crib they offered was an infant crib (36"). I had to spend $60USD to rent a crib (42" long). Not really fair that I had to incur this expense.

Overall great trip and highly recommend it to young families.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank bdcToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge F, Director General at Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Dear bdcToronto
We couldn’t be more pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Royalton Riviera Cancun.
For us is really important your feedback and we are happy to read that you particularly appreciated our splash park.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Luxury Regards
Francisco Jorge
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2015

This resort is a good place to get away, the service is excellent from the minute you arrive to the last, but need a bit more staff in the buffet area, we have to wait longer for drink service, foods are great with so many choices daily, I love their little coffee shop for cafe late in the morning and gelato in the afternoon, wifi is strong through out resort, the room is big and comfortable, we recommend swim up room so you can still enjoy the outside sun and a dip in the water to cool off right outside your patio without the crowd, we could not enjoy the beach much because of the weather, the construction did not bother us, it would be amazing place when it all done up and opened, 5 of us adult enjoyed a week at Royalton very much, would recommend to anyone who is looking for a week to get away from a busy city life with the temperature below zero.

Date of stay: November 2015
1  Thank Bttlan1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge F, Director General at Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Dear Bttlan1202
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience at Royalton Riviera Cancun. .
We are delighted our facilities and services meet your expectations.
We wish to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at Royalton Riviera Cancun.
Luxury Regards
Francisco Jorge
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the Hideaway at The Royalton and were so pleased with our stay! Because we both work in the Hotel Industry in New York we are familiar with what goes on behind the scenes..so it was nice to be pampered as guests. The food was delicious, (room service/restaurants/buffet) very well seasoned and the different choices of cuisine was comforting. The cleanliness of our room and throughout the resort was amazing proving the Staff's attention to details. Since we had the Swim out Suite we had stunning views of the main adult-only pool where we were taken care of above and beyond by the Wait Staff. We were truely delighted to be greeted daily with a smile and an "¡Hola!" or "Buenos Días." Lastly, the Entertainment staff was full of life and energy inspiring guests to get on their feet and join in whether it was Zumba or Spanish speaking lessons. :) Adrian, Eder and a couple more of the men that ran the entertainment especially stood out because they encouraged us to dance and take part in group activities! This was our first time in Cancun but it will definitely not be our last..Thanks for the memories!!!

Best,
Stacey

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank rojitas2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge F, Director General at Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2015

Dear rojitas2288
It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments regarding our guests’ experience. Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your kind remarks and are delighted to hear your overall experience at our Resort was positive. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again at Royalton Riviera Cancun.
Luxury Regards
Francisco Jorge
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2015

Stayed at the Royalton Nov 20=27th. The rooms are very modern and well appointed. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool and if you really looked you could see a bit of the beach.
On the last day we had a flood in the room with about 1/4" of water on the floor greeting us when we got up about 8:00 am. I spoke to Sofia, the concierge on our floor and she got someone from Housekeeping and Maintenance right away. We spoke to Sofia several times during our stay regarding minor issues. She got them resolved right away and was very friendly and professional.
On the same day we were leaving we also spoke to Ivan from Travel Smart and he told us they had complimentary Hospitality Rooms for late check outs. Again, he was very professional and helpful.

This resort is very modern and in very good shape. Premium Liquor and great food. We ate all our meals at the main buffet restaurant as my husband does not like waiting and we did find ourselves waiting a number of times for the buffet restaurant anyway.

The main negative I have is about the beach and seaweed. Of course this isn't a fault of the resort but water that is usually clear and turquoise was brown and green and was not inviting. Also a lot of seaweed on the beach even though they cleaned it up daily. Because of the smell and mess very few people used the beach and the pools were crowded, especially since one was closed for repairs.

Also this resort is far from Cancun and PlayaDelCarmen and I was told it was about $100.00 US for a cab to either destination. Thats about $130.00 for us Canadians!
Needless to say we didn't bother going. I think at these prices this resort should have a shuttle or offer some other means to get into town.

Based on these issues I don't think that I would go to this resort again.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge F, Director General at Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2015

Dear Cindy O
Our Chef team is working every day to exceed your expectations we will ensure your feedback is passed on to them.
We hope to have the occasion of welcoming you back to Royalton Riviera Cancun in the not too distant future.
Luxury regards
Francisco Jorge
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews