We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best value in Big Sur - for higher end” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ventana Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“The best value in Big Sur - for higher end”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We traveled to Big Sur for a getaway romance. The Ventana provides a great escape with all of the creature comforts you could want in the middle of Big Sur. The whole property has a rustic feel with beautiful gardens at every turn and hiking paths. The rooms are well appointed and have big bath tubs for two, a free standing shower- a really large double vanity. There is also a TV and we had a huge deck with hammock and oceanview. The staff were very friendly and well trained, the food was very very good. They also have a work out room and pool. The rooms are large but cozy.

The only downsides were - no room service for breakfast and breakfast did not open until 7 am and the AC/heater the room is really really loud and noisy. Also, noise is a factor here, the building we stayed in had three floors and you can really hear people above you and outside, since it's all wooden decking. So if you are a light sleeper, ask for a top floor room. Also, there are no pay movies. Also, the mattress here was super hard for some reason.

Room Tip: Also, noise is a factor here, the building we stayed in had three floors and you can really hear peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    195
    83
    39
    18
See reviews for
74
887
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We recently stayed at The Ventana for a long weekend. Almost everything was wonderful. If only a few changes could be made, I truly think this place could be perfection.

First, although our room was plenty spacious, it was located on the lower level and therefore very dark. It would have been nice to have more natural light. If this isn't possible, then it would be nice to be able to open some windows because the room did get stuffy and air would've been so much better than the old air conditioning box unit.

Second, the shower was very old. It had a particular mildew smell. If this could be fixed -- I'm not a plumber so I don't know how -- it would have been a great bathroom.

Third, the restaurant needs a bit of tweaking in its policy. The food is outstanding. And the breakfast and lunch menus were diverse, reasonably priced, and the food was truly delicious. But the dinner policy and menu were terrible. So bad, in fact, that this could be the reason I don't return. The problem is that every entree costs the same - $38. So a simple pasta is equal to a filet. And every salad and starter is the same price, too. So a green salad costs as much as scallops. I felt this was either lazy or stupid planning and frankly I resented it as a customer. It's too bad because the food is great. But, again, $38 for pasta with tomato sauce because it's an entree is absurd.

If they could fix these things, I'd give this place my highest recommendation. If not, look for another place. Perhaps Post-Ranch...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

got room #7....what a disaster! We asked for a quiet room and when we saw it and mentioned it overlooked the front door and the breakfast area was right underneath and would it be quiet....she said "oh yes". She lied and it could not have been farther from the truth. The kitchen staff started banging around at 6 and the gardners started carrying on a spanish coversation outside our window at 6:30. Ridiculous. When we checked in they said we could get a free upgrade to a room with a fireplace and it was an ADA room with no bath....again ridiculous. the place is running about 50% full, why would they put anybody in this room. We booked through American Express Centurion so I am amazed that it is this bad.

Room Tip: don't get above the main lobby. Stay across the street at the Post.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank golfer6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I have been a guest at Ventana since the '70"s and this beautiful resort maintains it's serenity and beauty! The staff is immaculate and the spa is lovely- the gardens-majical- the accomidations-heavenly and the restaurant is fabulous(new chef)
I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: all rooms are good :))))
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plumeriabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

We came back here for our anniversary and loved it again. The resort was perfect and the staff was once more terrific. We had a bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room and the views everywhere are stunning. We liberally use the provided shuttle service to drive around the area and were able to explore the entire area without having to worry about drinking a few beers and having to drive back. Top notch place. We'll be back.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blongwell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed one night at the at the Ventana Inn In the middle of a girl's trip down the coast. So beautiful! We wished we had planned several nights to relax and unwind... the room, view, food and servcie...all perfect! Planning to return with my husband in the fall for a romantic weekend!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davids2518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Refreshed, revived, now back to the real world, but it was such fun while it lasted.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
1.0 km away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
30.4 km away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
39.0 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
37.1 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
32.4 km away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#2 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventana Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventana Inn & Spa

Property: Ventana Inn & Spa
Address: 48123 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ventana Inn & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ventana Inn & Spa is a luxurious resort nestled in the mountains above California’s central coast. Situated on 243 acres of wooded hillside, 1,200 feet above the Pacific Ocean on the Big Sur coast, Ventana Inn & Spa is quiet, secluded and beautiful. The Inn provides a peaceful and soothing atmosphere enhanced by its proximity to the area’s natural wonders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ventana Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventana Inn And Spa
Ventana Hotel Big Sur
Ventana Resort Big Sur
Ventana Inn Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing