We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Cabins”
Review of Ripplewood Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ripplewood Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2011

When we first arrived I was disappointed with our cabin, but I have to admit that I was sad to leave after a few nights. The cabins are sparse and dark with no televisions, however, they also have a nice historical feel which makes for an interesting trip. What makes this place great is the low price (for the Big Sur, which is a pricey area in general) and the peaceful redwoods. It's a retreat from the familiar. I would consider staying somewhere else in the Big Sur, but also enjoyed my time here.

Room Tip: Avoid the cabins near Highway 1 if possible. Make sure to ask for a cabin near the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Ripplewood. Cabin 17 was clean, comfortable and affordable. The staff was friendly and helpful. If we can return for a longer stay we would choose a cabin with a kitchen near the river but for 1 day this was perfect and breakfast was quite good. Near so much to see and do!

Room Tip: Cabins near river quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My husband and I stayed in cabin 2.

When we checked in I asked about the heating options based on previous reviews and was told curtly "there is a heater." No space heater was mentioned or offered. It was in the low 40s outside and we were unable to get our cabin above 62 degrees even with the heater set at maximum. I found this to be very uncomfortable, though the extra blankets provided were useful. I know it is a cabin, but I was looking to be able to have heating when I chose to pay $176 for the night instead of camping.

With that said, the cabin was cute and more than I expected based on the photos. Very clean, comfortable bed. Shower was tiny! The scenery on the river was lovely and the fire pit was a major plus. Breakfast was good and inexpensive especially by big sur standards.

Overall, if the heating had worked better this would have been a 5 star review, but being cold all night brings it to a 3.5 stars for me. Probably this isn't an issue in the summer!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PedsMHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

My bride of 51 years and I flew to San Francisco from Tampa, Florida on business. After business on Sunday, Nov 20, we drove south on highway 92 and then followed highway 1 to see the countryside. We stopped too many times to get to Ripplewood before sundown, and in fact we made it about 15 minutes before closing in dead darkness. The lady at the "front desk" was friendly and accommodating. Very helpful. We stayed in cabin #4, which was just right for a couple. We could not see the valley or the river (though we could hear it, being right next to it), but we liked the feel and the outdoorsy smells. We backtracked to a nearby restaurant. The food was good, but we were shocked at the prices. We made a fire in the wood stove and ran the heater, so we were warm enough in spite of the rain. We slept the sleep of the innocent. Next morning to woke up to discover we were in a redwood grove! What an experience! It was indescribable, and we really could not get enough of it. We took our time showering and packing to leave and noticed that we had driven down a mountain trail with a drop off to get to the cabin the night before. Oh well. Our California daughter had recommended breakfast down the road at Deetjens, a quaint and friendly place, and they served a substantial breakfast. We loved the rugged grounds and their redwoods too. It was a memorable stay in the Big Sur forest.

Room Tip: Make reservations by telephone and find out which cabins are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We arrived at Ripplewood rather later than we bargained for.......on the way we we got to within about 40 miles and came across a wrecked car blocking the road. So, thinking that the reception office would close and we'd have to spend the first night of three in the car, we (I) decided it would be a great idea to take a diversion inland to save time....HAHAHAHA........how wrong can one be? 250 miles and 4 hours later we arrived at Ripplewood in complete darkness!! We spotted a note on the office door...''your room is already open''. ALLELUJAH and thank you to whoever it was on duty that evening.....we are so grateful we didn't have to sleep in the car.
Anyway...so what is Ripplewood all about?
Well, it a collection of cabins either side of Highway 1, some are next to the river and some are not. The ones on the river side are set amongst a grove of Coastal Redwood trees and the setting is fantastically peaceful and tranquil as well as very beautiful...10/10 for location.
We had Cabin 9 which was by the river. It had a deck that overlooked the river itself....a word of warning here though.....this cabin is opposite a campsite which, while it wasn't too bad, got a little noisy over the weekend with people playing their music a little too loud and a little too late. That aside, the cabin was wonderful with everything you might need for your stay; pots and pans in the kitchen, all bed linen etc etc.
Out side the front of the cabin is a fire pit....my favourite bit....sittiing by the fire at night with a cigar and a beer having just eaten a giant steak cooked over the fire! Bliss!
We stocked up in a Vons supermarket on the way up from LA but there is a restaurant too where we had breakfast the morning after the long drive...cant say about the lunch and dinner offerings but the breakfast was great.
We visited Julia Pfeiffer State Park and also Pfeiffer Beach which we thoroughly enjoyed....lots of rock-pools and interesting creatures in them!
Overall this is a truly wonderful place to stay...its quiet and well kept and we would thoroughly recommend a stay of any length here.

Room Tip: Have a look at the map pictured and choose a cabin at the opposite end to Cabin 9 for total peace an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neilos100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

male, 5’8” and male, 6'4". Cabin 9 is 1B/1B full kitchen (gas stove) cabin with ample deck (just as big as 1 and 8) to enjoy the rippling (wide and shallow) creek. Windows face all four directions including one behind the bed (good for wake-up look outside), the toilet (good for dudes doing front business), and the water outside. Shower head mas maximum reach of 5’6” and the sink is very low (below the height of standard toilet). The shower cabin is pretty tight for one person (must open door to wash below the knees), has opaque natural lighting above, and plenty of shelves for hair care products. A 60-gallon hot water tank assures hot shower. The thermostat controlled wall heating unit doesn’t produce noise, does produce ample heat. Coffee provided is a good start for the morning with dried creamer and sugar enough for 4 cups of coffee (8 cups if you do caffeinated and decaffeinated). The bed is incredibly comfortable, plenty of warm quilts/covers, and has a squeaky headboard if you like a little noise to bedside activities. Chest of drawers and open coat closet offers plenty of storage space for two people. If needed, there is storage space for light big items (or hide valuables) above the kitchen and above the bathroom. Fire pit out front faces the dirt road and is fairly private. Strongly recommend to buy two bundles of firewood for best fire. I highly recommend staying in cabin 9 for 2 people.

Room Tip: Cabin 2 review is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FieldTripBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This was our sixth year staying at Ripplewood cabins in November. Stayed in cabin #2 from Nov. 3-6. Rain dampened our use of the deck this time but it was fun watching the river rise below our large windows as we ate. The quiet, cozy setting watching leaves fall into the river makes this a great spot.
As mentioned by others the shower is tiny but still does the job. Our only problem was that their propane heater takes so long to heat the cabin. The cabins are very old with no insulation so it is a constant battle when the temperature drops. Plenty of blankets for a warm and comfy sleep.

Room Tip: The kitchen has just enough basic utensils to get by but if you are planning elaborate meals, bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wapakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
4.6 km away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,152 reviews
26.7 km away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
375 reviews
31.9 km away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
5.3 km away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
1.9 km away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripplewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripplewood Resort

Address: 47047 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9556
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: $122 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ripplewood Resort features a grocery store, gas station, Cafe open for breakfast and lunch, and 17 Cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ripplewood Hotel Big Sur
Ripplewood Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing