We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Incredible views!

We stopped here on our way up the coast. Amazing views and great place to stretch your legs, eat... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
lynnetravels2017
,
Los Angeles, California
Great Vistas

Wanted to show visitors Big Sur, but didn't have time to drive ll the way. Drove to Ragged Point... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Nathan O
,
Chula Vista, California
Read all 302 reviews
  
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
159
64
13
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
64
13
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas station spacious room adirondack chairs nice gift shop nature trail sound of the waves south end pit stop stretch your legs san simeon ocean view the cliff great stop nice place to stop hearst castle coastal highway road trip
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

We stopped here on our way up the coast. Amazing views and great place to stretch your legs, eat & get gas. We walked around and took great pictures.

Thank lynnetravels2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wanted to show visitors Big Sur, but didn't have time to drive ll the way. Drove to Ragged Point and got the real feel. Didn't walk to sea level. Highly recommended.

Thank Nathan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great views at this stop, and we're grateful you could wander without being a hotel guest, although I'm sure they prefer you patronize the cafe/restaurant, hotel, etc... Fabulous views!

1  Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are a bit dated, but clean and with everything you need. The setting is perfect for finishing off a day coming down the coast. Located very near the south end of Big Sur, it is well worth the higher rate than 20 miles down the road on the highway in a chain motel. The restaurant serves all the meals and I can vouch both dinner and breakfast were delicious. There is indoor and outdoor seating, although neither commands an ocean view. We paid $200 for a ocean side room for two on a Tuesday night in October. Wifi is very limited - like most of the Big Sur coast.

Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We drove to Hearst Castle for the day and then up the coast to Ragged Point. I remember it 50 years ago as really small and dark - but always wanted to stay there. So here we were in October on a Thursday night. The property has become really large with a nice restaurant, and great rooms close enough to the ocean to go to sleep with the sound of waves. It was a comfortable room with good beds, and clean and a view. The only criticism was that the vegetables at dinner were not cooked quite enough.

Thank Jeanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Nice place to stop while driving along highway 1. Beautiful gardens and magnificent views of Big Sur. Benches along the coast of the ocean to take in all the beauty of Ragged Point.

Thank SixtiesHavingFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Driving the Highway 1, Pacific Coast Highway (PCH) you pass this classic. Small cosy buildings along the hills looking out over the ocean. There is a restaurant, a small convenient/gift store, a wedding chapel (of course, americans love to marry at special places).

Room was clean and spacious with some chairs and a hammock on the backside, facing nature. We were 4 adults and had no problems with space, beds or towels.

The restaurant/bar/breakfast place was great. Serving fresh grinder coffee, beer, wine but no strong alcohol spirits. But who needs that. Sipping a beer/vine during an amazing sunset is what you want. There is a a lot of birds. From the small amazing Hummingbirds to the condors cruising the sky.

Neither store nor restaurant was pricy having in mind it is pretty much in the middle of nowhere and the PCH just opened up after a almost a year of rebuilding the road after the rain and mudslides.

I will return.

Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

$10 parking fee if you park in the State Park - falls can be accessed from road side parking - short walk to view the falls - walkway further on had been closed during our visit - nice photo oportunity

Thank Howard-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Great place and service, view was amazing, food was really good. Taking a trip on motorcycles up the PCH with the wives, the glass enclosed dinning was nice to get out of the wind.

Thank martymoose2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

You must stop here for something, snacks, coffee, gas - whatever. Beautiful photo spot.

We stop here every trip by.

Thank KCCowgirlLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews