We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor overall”
Review of Stein Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stein
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stein Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Stein B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Nice old pub but you had to pay extra for wifi and the food was terrible. Rooms where basic but clean

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ddopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

We only stayed one night and thought it a bit pricey for the king size room that we had. Food was average with not a lot of choice but that is understandable in January when it is so quiet! We sat in the bar and tried to read but it was too dark and we didn't realise until we were leaving that we could have sat in the guest lounge! No one had pointed this out to us. People were nice but you could tell that they were hoping for an early evening in the bar!! I am sure it is much nicer in the summer when there is a better choice of food and you can see the loch in the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms are not terribly large - even the king size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cambia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We only just booked this accomodation this week by telephone and spoke to Theresa.
The apartment was spotless, very warm and the staff very friendly.We would definately come back and probably do the self catering again, funny thing was, we didnt realise it was above the pub, but very good and left alone to enjoy the peace and quiet.
Angus was very nice in not rushing us out in the morning and Vicky even sorted the sky tv for us.
Look forward to hopefully being back this year and thanks. And they took dogs!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

While spending two weeks on sky we went to this place. Discribed as the oldest pub around. From the inside you would think it was a modern place. No charm no personality. decoration did not reflect 'the oldest pub' more 'budget owners'. The was a play section for the kids that was more jail than play. Seats not nice to sit on. Food average or below pub grub standard. The is nothing Scottish or old world about it. Prices were expensive for what it was. Poor choice of beer.
Now the staff. Rude! Rude! Rude! Slow service with no warmth. When my daughter looked over the bar to see what she wanted to drink the landlord screeched 'no kids at the bar'! No please excuse me or anything nice. My advice go to one of the other many places. In fact anyone will be better than this. It's no good for families and very child unfriendly.
(Added much later than trip as just joined trip advisor)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank torquil_kiloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We did not have a reservation and arrived late and had no problem getting into a room, lucky us! The menu was a little more of a bar type menu, but the poached salmon and langoustines were well prepared. The after dinner cheese plate was excellent. The room was a bit small for two travelers, but we managed. Bathroom was compact and efficient. The wine by the glass options were good. The breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globe-trotter-too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed at the Stein Inn for 2 nights while touring around the Outer Hebrides.
I booked our king sized double (only room available) online and got prompt and helpful replies from Angus and Teresa. A £50 deposit is required when booking your room.
We arrived around 5pm on the first day of our stay. The Inn is very easy to find as is signposted from Dunvegan then has 'Inn' on the side of the building.
We checked in fine and made ourselves at home. Just a note that there are no tvs, not a problem for us as we didn't go all that way to watch tv.
The other half had slipped when exploring Neist Point resulting in mud all over his jeans. We sheepishly asked if the Inn would be able to put them through a wash, they obliged with a smile!
We opted for dinner at the Inn that evening as we didn't fancy driving around the island in the dark out of season looking for food. The dinner was lovely, I had the macaroni cheese, up there with the best I've tasted, the other half had the pork and said it was of good quality. We shared a lovely sticky toffee pudding. The dining room/bar is lovely and cosy with a fire going - really nice atmosphere. As well as local wiskeys and ales - which the other half appreciated.
We slept through our alarm on the first morning so missed breakfast, but the following morning we made it. The usual mix of cereal, yoghurt, cooked breakfast and fruit - all of a high quality and very tasty!
All in all I would highly reccommend the Stein Inn for anyone staying in Skye. Great building to stay in, nice and clean and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sals86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed here for just one night on a short tour of Skye and the Scottish Highlands.The inn is in a peaceful and beautiful location, with lovely views out over the sea loch and distant headlands. All the staff were efficient and friendly without being overbearing.The owners, evening waitresses, breakfast waitress and cleaner all ensured that my stay was very pleasant and hitch-free.I had a delicious,plentiful bar meal in the evening,and breakfast the next morning was of the same high standard. My single room was cosy and peaceful, and overlooked the sea loch.A generously sized shower and toilet room extended off the main bedroom area.The in-room folder and guide to the Inn was one of the best I've seen - not only did it answer every question I had, it had detailed advice about things to do in the local area - mainly walks,drives and local arts and crafts.It was also great to actually stay somewhere that had an effective, coveniently placed light to enable me to read in bed, and easy to switch on and off without getting out of bed. There are no televisions in the room,and I would personally find this a problem for a longer stay because I do enjoy the television in between the peace and quiet.However going without tv for just one night was very relaxing,and I suspect most guests don't miss it.Also,unlike an earlier review, I thought that the Inn was very well laid out,including a spacious lounge bar and a cosy snug type lounge, all in keeping and to be expected with this very old building.The Stein Inn also represented great value for money, and was easy to access with plenty of parking on the dead-end lane outside even if the small car park is full. Thank you all for a very pleasant stay !

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stein
24.9 km away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
62.1 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
25.3 km away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,121 reviews
8.2 km away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
199 reviews
25.4 km away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stein Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stein Inn

Address: Macleod's Terrace, Stein IV55 8GA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Stein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stein
Price Range: $86 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Stein Hotel Stein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing