We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“So good to be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stein Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stein
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stein Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Stein B&B and Inns
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So good to be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is my third time at The Stein (hubby's 5th) and it's well worth the long trek up from the Midlands to this beautiful bay to stay at this charming Inn. The view is stunning, the food and drink at the inn are great, simple but home cooked, fresh and local. I had forgotten just how huge the breakfasts were and how kind and accomodating the staff are.
We are biased but this is definitely one of our most favourite places on the planet and we would recommend it to anyone. Angus and Teresa are lovely hosts and we promise to come back sooner this time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PandZ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    106
    79
    58
    43
See reviews for
70
234
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

First things first - accommodation on Skye is expensive, and this is no exception.

The location is beautiful, it's a sheltered bay, with a wonderful sunset on the water.

The room was fairly basic, and the food in the evening was fairly average too. The biggest gripe was the "welcome" we received. It's possibly a small point, but when you turn up somewhere, it's your first impression. We got the attention of a bar man, and he was one of the most abrupt people I've met!

The wood panelling everywhere was not to my taste!

Breakfast was brilliant - good selection, and very good quality. I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.... and they were really very good.

All in all, it's a shame - this could be an amazing place to stay, given its location and the building, but the menu needs some work, and the rooms need a warmer feel to them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julesthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

stayed at near by lochbay boathouse for a week and were if not a nightly visitor every 2 nights... loved the relaxed attmosphere and turning back the clock 30 years..
Food is not 3 chimneys standard BUT neither is the price. Basic bar food cooked very well.
loved the Mallaig haddock. would go back in a heart beat to this inn and to better times

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PETER w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Nice old pub but you had to pay extra for wifi and the food was terrible. Rooms where basic but clean

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ddopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stein hotels

N Yorkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We only stayed one night and thought it a bit pricey for the king size room that we had. Food was average with not a lot of choice but that is understandable in January when it is so quiet! We sat in the bar and tried to read but it was too dark and we didn't realise until we were leaving that we could have sat in the guest lounge! No one had pointed this out to us. People were nice but you could tell that they were hoping for an early evening in the bar!! I am sure it is much nicer in the summer when there is a better choice of food and you can see the loch in the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms are not terribly large - even the king size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cambia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We only just booked this accomodation this week by telephone and spoke to Theresa.
The apartment was spotless, very warm and the staff very friendly.We would definately come back and probably do the self catering again, funny thing was, we didnt realise it was above the pub, but very good and left alone to enjoy the peace and quiet.
Angus was very nice in not rushing us out in the morning and Vicky even sorted the sky tv for us.
Look forward to hopefully being back this year and thanks. And they took dogs!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

While spending two weeks on sky we went to this place. Discribed as the oldest pub around. From the inside you would think it was a modern place. No charm no personality. decoration did not reflect 'the oldest pub' more 'budget owners'. The was a play section for the kids that was more jail than play. Seats not nice to sit on. Food average or below pub grub standard. The is nothing Scottish or old world about it. Prices were expensive for what it was. Poor choice of beer.
Now the staff. Rude! Rude! Rude! Slow service with no warmth. When my daughter looked over the bar to see what she wanted to drink the landlord screeched 'no kids at the bar'! No please excuse me or anything nice. My advice go to one of the other many places. In fact anyone will be better than this. It's no good for families and very child unfriendly.
(Added much later than trip as just joined trip advisor)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank torquil_kiloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stein
25.7 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
62.1 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
25.3 km away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
57.4 km away
White Heather Hotel
White Heather Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyleakin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
25.4 km away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stein Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stein Inn

Property: Stein Inn
Address: Macleod's Terrace, Stein IV55 8GA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Stein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Stein Hotel Stein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing