We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to be back again”
Review of Stein Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stein
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stein Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Stein B&B and Inns
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Happy to be back again”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is our 5th visit to Waternish and the 4rh time we have stayed atStein Inn this time was for our honeymoon. I have said before and I will no doubt say again this is a hidden gem, it is coaching inn type pub and the interior is in keeping with this but ny no means does it claim to be anything else. he rooms are clean, the staff friendly and helpful (providing you do them the same courtesy) the views are stunning and the food is in my opinion superior to the pub grub some have labelled it as.

Yes there are some regular "favourites" on the menu but there are also daily specials and fresh local ingredients. It is also reasonably priced and ample portions and the Stein Inn Chardonnay is lovely too.

Breakfast choice is very good and nothing is too much trouble if the staff can help you they will. The inn is also used by the locals but as another reviewer says chat to them they really are a friendly bunch and will tell you what bird and sea life has been spotted and where.

Stein Inn does exactly what it says on the tin but in a friendly hospitable manner and we will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    117
    86
    59
    47
See reviews for
78
250
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is my third time at The Stein (hubby's 5th) and it's well worth the long trek up from the Midlands to this beautiful bay to stay at this charming Inn. The view is stunning, the food and drink at the inn are great, simple but home cooked, fresh and local. I had forgotten just how huge the breakfasts were and how kind and accomodating the staff are.
We are biased but this is definitely one of our most favourite places on the planet and we would recommend it to anyone. Angus and Teresa are lovely hosts and we promise to come back sooner this time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandZ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

First things first - accommodation on Skye is expensive, and this is no exception.

The location is beautiful, it's a sheltered bay, with a wonderful sunset on the water.

The room was fairly basic, and the food in the evening was fairly average too. The biggest gripe was the "welcome" we received. It's possibly a small point, but when you turn up somewhere, it's your first impression. We got the attention of a bar man, and he was one of the most abrupt people I've met!

The wood panelling everywhere was not to my taste!

Breakfast was brilliant - good selection, and very good quality. I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.... and they were really very good.

All in all, it's a shame - this could be an amazing place to stay, given its location and the building, but the menu needs some work, and the rooms need a warmer feel to them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julesthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

stayed at near by lochbay boathouse for a week and were if not a nightly visitor every 2 nights... loved the relaxed attmosphere and turning back the clock 30 years..
Food is not 3 chimneys standard BUT neither is the price. Basic bar food cooked very well.
loved the Mallaig haddock. would go back in a heart beat to this inn and to better times

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PETER w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Nice old pub but you had to pay extra for wifi and the food was terrible. Rooms where basic but clean

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ddopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stein hotels

N Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We only stayed one night and thought it a bit pricey for the king size room that we had. Food was average with not a lot of choice but that is understandable in January when it is so quiet! We sat in the bar and tried to read but it was too dark and we didn't realise until we were leaving that we could have sat in the guest lounge! No one had pointed this out to us. People were nice but you could tell that they were hoping for an early evening in the bar!! I am sure it is much nicer in the summer when there is a better choice of food and you can see the loch in the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms are not terribly large - even the king size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cambia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We only just booked this accomodation this week by telephone and spoke to Theresa.
The apartment was spotless, very warm and the staff very friendly.We would definately come back and probably do the self catering again, funny thing was, we didnt realise it was above the pub, but very good and left alone to enjoy the peace and quiet.
Angus was very nice in not rushing us out in the morning and Vicky even sorted the sky tv for us.
Look forward to hopefully being back this year and thanks. And they took dogs!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stein
25.3 km away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
376 reviews
8.2 km away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
168 reviews
2.6 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.1 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
25.7 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,039 reviews
60.0 km away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sleat
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stein Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stein Inn

Property: Stein Inn
Address: Macleod's Terrace, Stein IV55 8GA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Stein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Stein Hotel Stein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing