We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stumbled across this hotel by chance and I am very pleased I did, it is a fantastic place to stay.”
Review of Peak Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peak Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“I stumbled across this hotel by chance and I am very pleased I did, it is a fantastic place to stay.”
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We booked last moment on line so it's always a risk. However as you arrive at the hotel the first impression is excellent. When you book in at reception the staff on duty are very friendly and also helpful. You are taken to your room and shown around very clean, modern and contempory rooms. I would recommend a meal in the restaurant as the food is fantastic. I also have to say that the brekfast is also very good. I found that every member of staff is very polite and nothing is too much bother. I am looking forward to returning in September for my wedding anniversary it's ideal for a romantic break.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnyeo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you once again in September. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    125
    30
    0
    2
See reviews for
121
414
10
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Immaculate and spacious family room. We stayed here en route to Chillingham castle and were extremely impressed with the facilities, staff and food. The family room was amazing as we are a family of 5 we need space and this was fantastic! We ate in the Red Lion attached to the hotel and the food was great especially the deserts and the option of half portion on all dishes for kids - the breakfast was equally as good quality and the morning staff as friendly. We will definitely be back. Book without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheenaP516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

A lovely hotel just an hour from our home in Stockport Cheshire,
Spotless, modern with very attentive staff and a lovely pub linked to the hotel with great food.
We were recommended by a colleague and I too wouldnt hesitate to both recommend the hotel and the area. We had a two night break and ate in the restaurant on both nights and we were really spoilt.We will be back!!!

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a great view but we had a feature room which had patio windows bathroom gorg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We visited for an overnight stay and loved this place. Room and Bistro and service were all truly excellent . Individual attention and support from staff and their understanding of disability meant they were exceptionally helpful and supportive from booking to arrival and throughout our stay. We holiday alot and rarely find this kind of approach and attitude embedded in hotels which meant our stay here was a delight. We LOVED the bathroom where the stylish design of support hand rails and shower seat matched the quality of the design of the whole place. So nice not to find adaptations that make the bathroom institutional in style. We will be back for more of this.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Yes, you can believe all of the reviews, this place truly is something special. In a welcome change from the usual big chains, this independent boutique-style enterprise provides personal and informal, yet professional, service. The care and attention to detail is obvious from the moment you first enter; "classy" is the theme. The décor is modern (no floral patterns here) and the room was spacious, as was the en-suite with its top-quality 'ware, tiling and fitments. Breakfast and any other meals are served at the adjoining "Red Lion Pub & Bistro", which itself is exceptional too. (See separate review.)

When something's this good, any negative points will be minor, so temperamental WiFi, and a slightly disappointing TV picture (given how good the large flat-screen telly was) are my only gripes. Also, not that it's any fault of the hotel, but during our stay mobile reception (T-mobile/Orange) was nil.

A fantastic place, and definitely somewhere I'll return whenever I'm back in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HalleFifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We recently had a 3-night stay at the Peak Edge hotel - and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel was in a quiet location, but it was a wonderful relaxing haven to come back to, having spent our days trekking around Chatsworth and Alton Towers. The room was large and comfortably accomodated our family of four, with loads of space for us. We didn't have an evening meal in the adjacent restaurant but did have our breakfasts there - and they were lovely! We had a drink at the end of the evening in the bar of the restaurant, which was a great way to end the day. The Chatsworth ales were superb.

Only two minor niggles to mention;
- There is an internal walk-through from the hotel to the restaurant apparently, but we weren't shown this, so we walked outside the hotel and back into the restaurant (and back). Not a problem, but maybe would have been handy to have been told.
- A brighter light in the bedroom would have been useful, for when you're getting ready the following morning.
I feel I'm being a bit 'picky' mentioning these, as they're so minor and do not really detract from the wonderful hotel, and stay we had. I would whole-heartedly recommend this hotel if you want to explore that part of the country. The owner asked us how we were doing and gave us some travel tips, which was a really nice, personal touch.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was suitable for a family of four, with bags of room. Would recommend room 111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrkp_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is a new hotel built in 2011 and in my view the owners have done a fantastic job of building a top quality hotel . The attention to detail is fantastic , from the spacious rooms with high quality fittings and furnishings and large flat screen TVs and the fantastic bathrooms right down to the nice added personal touches like the personalised welcome letter and the complimentary snacks and water in the room.

The Bistro in the attached Red Lion is also very nice , with top class service and truly excellent food at reasonable prices ( Dinner for two with three courses and 2 glasses of wine each was £55)

If I have one small criticism it would be that if there is a wedding or an event in the function room then you would have to go outside to get from the hotel to the bar and restaurant because the internal passageway goes through the function room , this was not an issue for us but it could be really annoying particularly in bad weather .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonedge
7.4 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,349 reviews
10.0 km away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
991 reviews
10.4 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
25.8 km away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
29.2 km away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Edge Hotel

Property: Peak Edge Hotel
Address: Darley Road, Stonedge, Chesterfield S45 0LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Stonedge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Edge Hotel is a new Modern Boutique Hotel which has recently been awarded a 4* AA accreditation. The hotel was built to complement the existing Red Lion Bar & Bistro. All 26 bedrooms boast picturesque views over the beautiful Derbyshire country side. The bedrooms include 4 Luxury Suites, Accessible and Family rooms as well as beautiful Feature Rooms with glass Juliet balconies overlooking the lake. The hotel is finished to a high standard throughout with facilities including air conditioning, LED flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peak Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing