We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue for a wedding.”
Review of Peak Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peak Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for a wedding.”
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

My husband and I along with three other couples attended a wedding a friend, we decided to spend an extra night, a very good choice! Brilliant service from all the staff, room was very modern and clean, it was well equipped with tea and coffee and water, this hotel is situated in a quiet location so was very peaceful, would recommend a visit!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GillianBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Gillian,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us along with the wedding that you attended. We do hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    130
    32
    0
    2
See reviews for
127
426
11
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My husband and I and our friends thoroughly enjoyed our three nights in the Peak Edge Hotel. The management and staff without exception were attentive, considerate, helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The attention to detail was the best I have experienced. I would definitely stay again and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Jackie,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

When we booked this hotel for a family wedding, initially we felt it was a lot of money (£120 per night) but we were not disappointed. Loved the superior/standard spacious clean bedroom, extremely comfortable 6ft bed and lovely peaceful views. Would have liked a small fridge with chilled water. Excellent service in the hotel and bistro, the staff were smart and friendly. Wi-Fi only worked near reception but this hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Truly enjoyable stay. The owner Damian and his team are doing a fantastic job.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay_Jones46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Kay
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you come to visit us again soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at Peak Edge. This was a last minute booking to take advantage of the beautiful weather and we were impressed from the moment we stepped into reception to the moment we left. The receptionist was friendly and efficient and showed us to our fantastic room, which was spacious, spotlessly clean and had a bathroom to die for!! We also had a beautiful countryside view from the window.
We ate at the Red Lion bistro both evenings, sitting ouside in the sunshine. Staff, food and ambience all excellent. Breakfast, also taken in the bistro, was fantastic too.
Can't recommend Peak Edge too highly. Put this on your list of hotels to stay in - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing such a complimentary review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you once again in what we hope is not the too distant future. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was a spur of the moment booking during a period of convalescence for me. We were most impressed, from the reception we received when checking-in to the quality of our room & the food in the Red Lion Inn. A really rewarding experience & we would certainly recommend to others & love to stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 109 on the ground floor with a view over the lake & easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear James

Thank you for choosing to come and stay at the Peak Edge Hotel, we are pleased to hear that you were happy with your choice of hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is a proper little gem! I have stayed for three weekends in 2012 already and I will be going back very soon!

Good Points
far too many to list, but here goes...
1) location is beautiful
2) rooms are huge! Beds are Queen sized, TVs are about 40" to 46"
3) bathrooms are massive with a fantastic walk in showers
4) attached Pub is outstanding, has all the normal lagers etc but also has a good range of guest cast real ales and posh continental lagers
5) Hotel food is again great, with the minor exception of desserts not being as high calibre as the starters and mains.
6) Staff are friendly

Poor Points (if you can call them poor, because the are minor)
1) no fridge in the rooms,
2) bath water is discoloured, but it is water from an underground spring... like Bath's. So looks off putting but is fine. Skin actually feels great after a shower.
3) while the location is nice, there is nothing local, as you are in the middle of nowhere, but Matlock is only a 10 min Taxi drive away which the Hotel can organise, and there is an amazing Indian restaurant in Matlock.
4) Room service late at night is a bit poor, but it is attached to a fantastic pub...
5) Tray charge per person is £5, so breakfast in bed = £10 for a couple... but still worth it!

place is great! Looking forward to going again soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your many stays with us.
With reference to your comments regarding the mini fridges in the rooms we do at present have fridges in our Luxury Suites & Deluxe rooms, we are however looking to extend this to all our room types in the not too distant future, should you need anything to be kept chilled for you during your stay the reception will be more than happy to organise this for you. Regarding the Breakfast we do indeed charge a £5.00 tray charge which is applicable to each room not per person. Should you have been charged incorrectly please do not hesitate to contact us so that we may be able to rectify this error.
You will also be pleased to hear that the discolouration of water has now been rectified.
We do hope you are enjoying the glorious sunshine and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLYMOUTH DEVON
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel and it is hard to find the correct words to say what a wonderful experience this was. From the moment you walk into the Reception area you know you have hit a winner.Booking was easy and you sit on a chair to sign in,not stand at a counter We were greated by Jessica who has a sparkling personality and very friendly.She escorted us to our room to make sure we were happy and also explained how to set the air conditoning controls. She also took our resevations for dinner in the Bistro
The bistro is in the RED LION but is reached through linking corridors.The decor in the Bistro is so different trom the very modern hotel.In our opinion it resembled a smuggers pub and that made the experience superb
We must also mention the other receptionist Carol, who took my telephoned booking an advised me on which room to book.She and Jessica are the right persons to set you up to the wonderful friendly experience that awaits you during your stay
Every member of staff we met in the hotel or bistro radiated the same happy and friendly attitude
which made the visit exceptional
During our visit we had the pleasure of meeting the husband and wife owners of the hotel complex and found them just the same as the staff,happy and friendly
Our room was a FEATURE ROOM and was superb and very much larger than you average hotel room The bathroom had a free standing double ended bath and a large shower room
Everything in the room including bedding radiates thouhtfulness and quality
Still and fizzy waters are provided along with tea coffee and biscuits in the room
The hotel is in a quiet location just on the outskirts of Chesterfield which has easy access to the M1 motorway
This hotel ticks every box and thoughly warrants the very highest grading
Book it and enjoy the experience you will not regret it

Jean & Eddie
Plymoth

Room Tip: Pick a Feature room .We had 204 which had a view of the lake and fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie4085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Jean & Eddie
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review it is always so delightful to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. May I say it was also a pleasure for Joe and myself to have had the opportunity to meet you while you were staying with us also.
We are indeed very proud of the team that we have in place here and the girls on reception would like to thank you both once again for the lovely chocolates, apparently they went down a treat.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Peak Edge Hotel in the near future Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonedge
7.4 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,372 reviews
10.4 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
268 reviews
10.0 km away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
12.3 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
26.1 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Edge Hotel

Property: Peak Edge Hotel
Address: Darley Road, Stonedge, Chesterfield S45 0LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Stonedge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Edge Hotel is a new Modern Boutique Hotel which has recently been awarded a 4* AA accreditation. The hotel was built to complement the existing Red Lion Bar & Bistro. All 26 bedrooms boast picturesque views over the beautiful Derbyshire country side. The bedrooms include 4 Luxury Suites, Accessible and Family rooms as well as beautiful Feature Rooms with glass Juliet balconies overlooking the lake. The hotel is finished to a high standard throughout with facilities including air conditioning, LED flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peak Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing