We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peak Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peak Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Great place , lovely rooms. Only thing was the fire doors in the hallways slamming and sound coming into the room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hitchin_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Manager at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do apoligise if the fire doors were banging in the morning outside of your room and we do hope that this did not disturb your rest. We hope you come and visit us again soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    109
    25
    2
    2
See reviews for
105
378
8
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

My husband and I along with three other couples attended a wedding a friend, we decided to spend an extra night, a very good choice! Brilliant service from all the staff, room was very modern and clean, it was well equipped with tea and coffee and water, this hotel is situated in a quiet location so was very peaceful, would recommend a visit!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GillianBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Gillian,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us along with the wedding that you attended. We do hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

My husband and I and our friends thoroughly enjoyed our three nights in the Peak Edge Hotel. The management and staff without exception were attentive, considerate, helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The attention to detail was the best I have experienced. I would definitely stay again and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Jackie,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

When we booked this hotel for a family wedding, initially we felt it was a lot of money (£120 per night) but we were not disappointed. Loved the superior/standard spacious clean bedroom, extremely comfortable 6ft bed and lovely peaceful views. Would have liked a small fridge with chilled water. Excellent service in the hotel and bistro, the staff were smart and friendly. Wi-Fi only worked near reception but this hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Truly enjoyable stay. The owner Damian and his team are doing a fantastic job.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay_Jones46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Kay
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you come to visit us again soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at Peak Edge. This was a last minute booking to take advantage of the beautiful weather and we were impressed from the moment we stepped into reception to the moment we left. The receptionist was friendly and efficient and showed us to our fantastic room, which was spacious, spotlessly clean and had a bathroom to die for!! We also had a beautiful countryside view from the window.
We ate at the Red Lion bistro both evenings, sitting ouside in the sunshine. Staff, food and ambience all excellent. Breakfast, also taken in the bistro, was fantastic too.
Can't recommend Peak Edge too highly. Put this on your list of hotels to stay in - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing such a complimentary review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you once again in what we hope is not the too distant future. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was a spur of the moment booking during a period of convalescence for me. We were most impressed, from the reception we received when checking-in to the quality of our room & the food in the Red Lion Inn. A really rewarding experience & we would certainly recommend to others & love to stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 109 on the ground floor with a view over the lake & easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear James

Thank you for choosing to come and stay at the Peak Edge Hotel, we are pleased to hear that you were happy with your choice of hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is a proper little gem! I have stayed for three weekends in 2012 already and I will be going back very soon!

Good Points
far too many to list, but here goes...
1) location is beautiful
2) rooms are huge! Beds are Queen sized, TVs are about 40" to 46"
3) bathrooms are massive with a fantastic walk in showers
4) attached Pub is outstanding, has all the normal lagers etc but also has a good range of guest cast real ales and posh continental lagers
5) Hotel food is again great, with the minor exception of desserts not being as high calibre as the starters and mains.
6) Staff are friendly

Poor Points (if you can call them poor, because the are minor)
1) no fridge in the rooms,
2) bath water is discoloured, but it is water from an underground spring... like Bath's. So looks off putting but is fine. Skin actually feels great after a shower.
3) while the location is nice, there is nothing local, as you are in the middle of nowhere, but Matlock is only a 10 min Taxi drive away which the Hotel can organise, and there is an amazing Indian restaurant in Matlock.
4) Room service late at night is a bit poor, but it is attached to a fantastic pub...
5) Tray charge per person is £5, so breakfast in bed = £10 for a couple... but still worth it!

place is great! Looking forward to going again soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your many stays with us.
With reference to your comments regarding the mini fridges in the rooms we do at present have fridges in our Luxury Suites & Deluxe rooms, we are however looking to extend this to all our room types in the not too distant future, should you need anything to be kept chilled for you during your stay the reception will be more than happy to organise this for you. Regarding the Breakfast we do indeed charge a £5.00 tray charge which is applicable to each room not per person. Should you have been charged incorrectly please do not hesitate to contact us so that we may be able to rectify this error.
You will also be pleased to hear that the discolouration of water has now been rectified.
We do hope you are enjoying the glorious sunshine and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonedge
7.5 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
9.9 km away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
25.7 km away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
12.3 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
28.8 km away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#2 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Edge Hotel

Property: Peak Edge Hotel
Address: Darley Road, Stonedge, Chesterfield S45 0LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Stonedge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Edge Hotel is a new Modern Boutique Hotel which has recently been awarded a 4* AA accreditation. The hotel was built to complement the existing Red Lion Bar & Bistro. All 26 bedrooms boast picturesque views over the beautiful Derbyshire country side. The bedrooms include 4 Luxury Suites, Accessible and Family rooms as well as beautiful Feature Rooms with glass Juliet balconies overlooking the lake. The hotel is finished to a high standard throughout with facilities including air conditioning, LED flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and LateRooms so you can book your Peak Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing