We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
165
205
51
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
205
51
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood stove black necked cranes beautiful hotel corner room electric heater hot water dining room entire valley stunning views large windows spacious room long drive bhutanese architecture bhutan hotels low season rustic feel remote location
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 440 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2018

Hotel is good. Room is decent. Service is great as everywhere in Bhutan. But the food is extremely costly. One veg dinner (a la carte) for two cost us 1,400 !! In all other parts of Bhutan this costs about 350.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kalpesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2018 via mobile

But it is a decent choice. Unfortunately I went in winter (January), with -3C temps at night. They do have a wood burning stove in the room and decent ventilation to take the smoke out/helpful staff to show you how it works (you have to change the wood every 20-30mins). After the fire goes out, it’s just you and your 5 blankets...

Otherwise it had a 3 Star Hotel bathroom and a boutique nature to the rest of the facilities. The main room was so much fun to meet people. They have different cuisine here too- best mushroom cheese dish ever

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank gindiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018

We came here to see the black necked cranes and were not disappointed. Phobjika is a beautiful valley which feels like it is miles away from the rest of the world. There is no WiFi at Dewachen hotel, which adds to that sense of getting away from it all and being closer to nature. The hotel provides a peaceful environment with beautiful views from the upstairs restaurant. The wood burner in the restaurant made for a warm and cosy ambiance, as did the "Dragon Warmer", their delicious hot toddy. We also had a wood burning stove in our very spacious and comfortable room. It is very cold in Phobjika, so we made good use of it!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

Had a short stay at dewachan. Only for night. So this might not be a comprehensive review.
It was a really well located hotel at Gangtey. Gave you the awesome view of the valley. Looks a bit old by design but i think that's its charm.
Food was really good. They had lots of option for all travellers and nationality alike. Since it was really cold there, i would have preferred a bed heater of sorts in the room. Room was spacious and nice. Wooden flooring helped with the cold. Staff were polite and respectful. Wish had few more days there.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vineethkumar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

The hotel has fantastic view and the rooms are in beautiful Bhutanese style. The staff was great and attentive. The shower wasn't super clean but for a 3 star hotel we thought it was fantastic. The food was just fine with not great selection, but for a 3 star it was great and we would love to go back.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ta t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews