We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nipissing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piebird Vegan FarmStay
Ranked #1 of 1 Nipissing B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My husband, myself, and our two young children arrived at Piebird on a chilly afternoon in late August. Sherry welcomed us in, and lit a fire in the living room to ward off the chill. Then she and my son went to the herb garden to pick some fresh mint to make tea. While the tea was steeping we got a tour of the organic vegetable garden, and met the goats who had come over for an evening snuggle. Sherry and Yan are genuine, warm individuals who have created an amazing space to learn and enjoy the labour of love that is Piebird. From the delicious carrots freshly dug from the ground, to the "mustache" beans that led to a great family portrait, Piebird is a wonderful B&B that we highly recommend, and hope to come back to soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Piebird Vegan FarmStay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

My husband and I found this fantastic B&B while we were surfing for vegan accommodation in Ontario. Just from looking at the website, it was obvious that this was a great place for us. We were looking for somewhere to go that wouldn't be too far from where we lived. A place where we could eat vegan meals and not have to get in the car to go exploring. This place was perfect for what we wanted. Our first full day there, it rained. So we spent the day by the fire, chatting and playing games. Our second day was a sunnier day, the perfect day to participate in a gardening workshop offered by Yan. It was great! We learned so much. Both Sherry and Yan are very hospitable and friendly. In some ways, it felt as though we were spending the weekend at a friend's house. The meals that Sherry prepared for us were delicious and inspiring. It was so exciting to be tasting delicacies from their garden in May. We certainly hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonPlus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Where else can you genuinely say that you saw your dinner grow? Unfortunately the place needs more than a day to appreciate it all and that's all we had this time around. The hosts, Sherry and Yan, clearly take pride and ownership in their sustainable hosting practices. Be sure to feed the pet goats while you're there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emilynvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We took the time machine of Piebird B&B and travelled back to a period where you cared for the soil and every plant that would feed you, harvested your food with your own hands and appreciated the dinner as the result of your work accordingly, where you still knew to enjoy a sunrise on the porch along with your favourite cat or a warm fire with a comfy chair to rest and a good book to read.

At the Piebird you can do that (and much more) and enjoy the simple and pure things in a tranquil countryside setting from the beginning of the last century lovingly and with meticulous attention to detail restored by Yan&Sherry. You get to sit at the fireplace, admire the tin decor ceilings and walls, listen to Canadian musicians, eat and appraise Sherry’s homemade and homegrown vegan or vegetarian breakfasts and dinners from vegetables you had inspected still in the earth just a few hours ago. You get to listen to Yan & Sherry telling the story of their dream house, the way they discovered and brought it back to life and their perspective of a fully self-sustained way of living.
And you get to encounter probably the happiest goats that ever walked this planet and you understand the source of their happiness.

If you wish to fall out of time for just a while, travel to Yan&Sherry and the philosopher goats at the Piebird and experience a truly magical place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sensationseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Piebird is a quaint bed and breakfast in Nippissing Village just south of North Bay, Ontario. Sherry and Yan, Piebird's lovely, warm and friendly hosts, provide an idyllic experience. They are amazing folks whose happiness is contagious- they have a true sense of joy and peace.

Delicious fresh homemade baking and organic vegetarian cooking make this a healthful stay as well. The "100 Metre Diet" applies here as most of the food is pulled fresh from the garden just moments before it arrives on your plate! The guest rooms and common areas have been beautifully and tastefully restored in style of the Victorian period home.

That's not to say there aren't things to do...Sherry and Yan present workshops in sustainable living, canning, cooking and baking, organic gardening and a host of other natural and whole living topics. Sherry is also a wonderful nutrtion consultant- please check out her website "Heal Thy Health" for more information. Each month the Piebird presents a live concert with some great talent- The Good Lovelies and Jacob and Lily have played there for instance. You can enjoy playing a board game, reading, or having a lovely cup of tea on their great porch. They have bikes to borrow for a cycle about the pretty countryside, or you could visit with their cute and funny goat friends. The Nipissing region boasts good hiking, golf, swimming, fishing and canoeing. In the evening, staying in and reading or cuddling by the fire is a serene way to cap off a wonderful day.

Piebird Bed and Breakfast is truly a happy place, and you will definitely leave refreshed, restored and with a smile on your face! I highly recommend this wonderful bed and breakfast to anyone in need of peace and rejuvenation. I know that we'll be definitely returning for many more stays.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bliss001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

The beautiful Piebird B&B provided the perfect setting for our wedding ceremony. The gracious hosts (Yan and Sherry) joined us in an amazing Yoga session on the front lawn of the Piebird in the morning of our special day, helping to set the tone for what turned out to be one of the greatest days in our lives. The hosts were extremely hospitable and friendly to our guests, showing them around the gardens and introducing them to thier kissing goats. We were taken aback by the little details Yan and Sherry took care of such as constructing a wedding arch, creating clover hearts, displaying romantic signage around the property, and providing us with a homegrown vegetarian breakfast, which are just some of the special touches that made the Piebird B&B a great place to celebrate our marriage.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jreyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I've just returned from a 4 night stay at Piebird - my first visit and definitely not my last. My brother and I travelled from different parts of Ontario with our significant others (and my 18 year old son) to this lovely B and B for some extended family time. We booked all three bedrooms and had the place to ourselves - comfortable sitting room, large dining room, kitchen area and gorgeous porch. This was one of the most relaxing and restorative holidays I've had - wrapped in silence, surrounded by beautiful countryside, and full of positive, happy energy. It's also fun! Sherry and Yan go about their many chores with a wonderful sense of purpose and joy. The goats are a source of non-stop silliness. We enjoyed playing the Joni Mitchell era LPs on the turntable and learning about the musical happenings in and around the house. We spent our time talking on the porch, walking the quiet country roads, swimming, learning new card games and star gazing.

We booked in for an excellent - and very reasonably priced - dinner, and would have eaten there more often but needed to give the non-vegetarians among us their fix. Breakfasts were delcious with a nice variety of freshly baked breads and savory things. The coffee was excellent. Just about everything that was put on the the table came from the Piebird garden.

What Sherry and Yan have achieved at Piebird is impressive, refreshing and inspiring - I hope to return often.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanetLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nipissing
19.7 km away
Lakeshore Suites
Lakeshore Suites
#9 of 26 in North Bay
63 reviews
26.3 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
19.8 km away
Sunset Inn on the Park
Sunset Inn on the Park
#1 of 7 in North Bay
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Adani Beach Retreat Bed & Breakfast
20.1 km away
Super 8 North Bay
Super 8 North Bay
#4 of 26 in North Bay
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piebird Vegan FarmStay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piebird Vegan FarmStay

Address: 113 Chapman's Landing Rd | Nipissing Village, Nipissing, Ontario P0H 1W0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Nipissing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nipissing
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piebird celebrates 10 years of being a vegan agri-tourism destination, a happy home for animal-friends & heirloom seed co. Guests can stay either in the main guesthouse/B&B (a unique century country house with ornately embossed tin walls and ceilings throughout) or in the Birdhouse Cottage, both with full kitchen. Staying at the farm supports the animal friends who live here are in sanctuary and the advocacy we do on behalf of farmed animals. Homegrown vegan fare available. Come be a part of the peace that is Piebird! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piebird Vegan FarmStay Ontario/Nipissing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing