We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On A Roll - Dog Kitechn”
Review of On a Roll - CLOSED

On a Roll
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Seriously one of the best on the fly meals you can have in Cape Town. This place really does not mess around when it comes to hot dogs and you will find some truly brilliant creations on the menu. I would highly recommend the Big Oink and make sure you grab yourself a plate of their onion rings - some of the best around.

Apart from the food the restaurant is great for family or big tables with a relaxed atmosphere and dinner style decor. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheBeard42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On_A_Roll_DogKitchen, Public Relations Manager at On a Roll, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Hi there!

Thank you very much for this awesome review! We LOVE hearing back from our customers.
We Really appreciate the support!
Pop in again soon. Keep well and Rock on!

Best Regards
On a Roll Dog Kitchen Team*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for On a Roll
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

I go there quite regularly, and am never disappointed. The waitresses are attentive, the food is amazing, and the general atmosphere is fun and relaxed. It really makes for a good night out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On_A_Roll_DogKitchen, Public Relations Manager at On a Roll, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Hi there!

Thank you very much for this awesome review! We LOVE hearing back from our customers.
We Really appreciate the support!
Pop in again soon. Keep well and Rock on!

Best Regards
On a Roll Dog Kitchen Team*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The music, food and atmosphere will transport you to the golden age of rock and the hot dog. The corn on the cob and thin fries are highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Esteedv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On_A_Roll_DogKitchen, Public Relations Manager at On a Roll, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Hi there!

Thank you very much for this awesome review! We LOVE hearing back from our customers.
We Really appreciate the support!
Pop in again soon. Keep well and Rock on!

Best Regards
On a Roll Dog Kitchen Team*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We went to "On a Roll" on a Monday evening to find that all hot dogs order by ladies on a Monday evening were half price - very cool! Also there was karaoke that evening and if you sang you got a free shooter - we didn't sing - thought we'd spare the patrons
The food was great, inexpensive, fresh and tasty. lots of chili so if you don't like chili just ask for less. i loved the sweetcorn (corn on the cob) but ask for less chili if you prefer. The beer battered onion rings were great. The rolls were very fresh - seems the bread is baked fresh every day and it's taste like it
I liked the organic red wine
You get free tap water and Cape Town water is very good though I do think they should have bottles of sparkling water for sale - they don't believe in selling water which is great but i like sparkling water. the waitress was very quick to offer to run across the road to the shop to buy water - this was impressive and beyond the call of duty.
We had soft serve ice cream in cones for dessert and there was a huge selection of milkshakes. My husband wanted a Dom Pedro or an Irish coffee which they didn't have - i think this could be an easy addition to the menu
We loved the table decor and the rock n roll music mixed in with some Bon Jovi and Queen.
take care when you pay the bill as we read the total as the first figure and not the bottom figure and the poor waitress nearly lost out on her well deserved tip
We will be back and we will be telling our friends
For more photos go to:
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Hamilton-House-Cape-Town-South-Africa/250427861707440

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CapeTownCapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On_A_Roll_DogKitchen, Public Relations Manager at On a Roll, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Hi there!

Thank you very much for this awesome review! We LOVE hearing back from our customers.
We Really appreciate the support!
Pop in again soon. Keep well and Rock on!

Best Regards
On a Roll Dog Kitchen Team*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

One of my favorite spots in Cape Town and certainly my favorite in Mowbray. The dogs are all done very well and the servers and management are a great group of people. Whether you are looking for a quick bite to eat, a dog to take away, or a few drinks with friends, On A Roll is the right place. R10 shooters on Wednesday and Saturday, in addition to other specials which vary by day, are just some more reasons to hit On A Roll. During my stay in Cape Town, I would make sure to stop by at least once a week. Even if its just to play against the waitresses in foosball, you are bound to have a good time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On a Roll also viewed

Mowbray, Cape Town
Mowbray, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing