We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“delicious food,perfect hosts and a lovely family”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Petite Ferme

La Petite Ferme 16 th Century  Farmhouse Bay of Mont St Michel
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Petite Ferme 16 th Century  Farmhouse Bay of Mont St Michel
Our converted 14 th Century Barn perfect for al fresco dining! Our spacious lounge a place to relax & enjoy pre dinner drinks!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
La Petite Ferme 16 th Century  Farmhouse Bay of Mont St Michel
Our converted 14 th Century Barn perfect for al fresco dining!
Our spacious lounge a place to relax & enjoy pre dinner drinks!
breakfast is served in the recently converted dining room
evening meals are served by candle light & warmed by our woodburner in our converted barn
Rose our spacious family room, sleeps up to 6
Rose features a double bed & 4 singles, plus private ensuite shower room
Marguerite our ground floor room features a double bed & bunk beds
Marguerite Ensuite Bathroom
Marguerite has an ensuite bathroom with bath,shower& twin washbasins
hello!
arent we cute
baby gosling
Barn Dining Summer 2010
Le Mont St Michel just 15 mins away!
beautiful  Cancale beach less than 40 Mins
historic Dinan a MUST see
Pontorson has an excellent weekly market
St Malo history plus beautiful beaches
our farmhouse kitchen, the heart of our home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Sacey, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
welshyfre...
normNDY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delicious food,perfect hosts and a lovely family”
Reviewed 21 May 2011 for a stay in August 2010

we stayed at le petite ferme in August,we had a marvellous time there,Helen and Stephen were the perfect hosts and their sons were a delight to have around,Helen hosted a hog-roast on the Sunday and all the guests were invited,a good time was had by all.The baby pigs,chickens geese and goats were lovely and Helen let the children feed them.Peacefull,tranquil location,we enjoyed it so much that we have re-booked,something i have never done before,well done Helen,Stephen and family on acheiving such a wonderfull chambres d>hote.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickinBil...
Biloxi, Mississippi
1 review
“Lovely B&b very close to Le Mont St. Michel”
Reviewed 20 May 2011 for a stay in June 2010

We had a lovely time at this very comfortable B&b, conveniently located near Le Mont St. Michel. The owners were very friendly and made us feel right at home. They accomodated our large family without hesitation, which was difficult to find in Europe. Our children enjoyed looking around the quaint French farm. A great retreat for a vacationing family, but we could see it also as a lovely place for adults who would like to get away.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wgriffioe...
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
“"What a way to start our Holidays!!"”
Reviewed 20 May 2011 for a stay in July 2010

We (my wife and 3 daughters age 1, 7 and 9 years old stayed from 11 -13 july at "La Petite Ferme". After a long travel all the way from Holland we arrived in the afternoon at "La Petite Ferme", we immediately felt like home and already forgot about the long journey upon arrival. Everything was so relaxed, the girls enjoyed very much feeding the animals! In the evening we enjoyed the nice Lasagen, Salad and wine and of course the typical english desert with cake and fruit (forgot the name). The 11th was also the night of the final Holland vs Spain. We got "pole position" in the Chesterfield unfortunately not with the result we were hoping for...;-) After a good sleep and a nice breakfast we already forgot about the final and went to Mont Saint Michel and Cancale. The second night again a really nice meal prepared by Stephen, Tarteflette, roasted vegetables and a warm chocolat pie with nice vanille sauce...mmmmh I can still taste it!! Helen, Stephen thanks again for the warm welcome the nice conversations! We really can recommend "La Petite Ferme" to everybody.And who knows perhaps till a next time! Take care and Good luck with everything.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esther_sh...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 May 2011 for a stay in August 2010

We stayed at La Petite Ferme in August last year and really cannot fault it from the welcome we received form Helen and Steven, to the beautiful location and outstanding accommodation and of course food!! It is the attention to detail that made our stay so memorable, and the kids loved helping feed the animals everyday, I think Hollie was trying to sneak one of the little chicks home! We shall definitely be planning another stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saradesig...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“What a Find!”
Reviewed 19 May 2011 for a stay in June 2010

Our hosts made us an amazing dinner and we sat down with the other two guests and the whole host family (mom, dad, kids, grandparents) to break bread. We were treated like family and we loved it!!!! The farm is adorable and the walk to the bus to Mont St. Michel was picture-esque. We will stay there again! OUI!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shift H
Belmont, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 19 May 2011 for a stay in October 2010

La Petite Ferme is a 'home away from home'. Our stay made us love France even more and look forward to our return again one day. As a retired Hotel/Resort general manager I can attest to the wonderful hospitality and warmth that Helen and Stephen have to offer. The accommodation and meals were splendid and their attention to detail was obvious. The 'family friendly' Inn displays charm and charisma that dates the wonderful antiquity from the old wood beams to the marvelous planked floors. Old but yet new in the design and decor of this comfortable lodging. Combine all of this with the friendly family members and hosts and you will have wonderful memories for years to come like we do. Return again and you will feel like you're . . . 'home'. Thank you so much.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macman173
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great French Experience!”
Reviewed 19 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Helen Wilson-Smith's B&B is located on a delightful small farm on the Normandy-Brittany border It is close to Le Mont St Michel, the very popular tourist destination with its ancient Abbey and spectacular ramparts.

The B&B itself is located in a tiny hamlet with many other quiet hamlets and villages locally to explore and savour. Again this year I enjoyed cycling to several of those quaint villages and along the peaceful, shady bike path built on the disused railway line beside the Couesnon River; destination Le Mont St Michel, of course !

Hosts (Helen and her chef-husband Stephen) are extremely friendly and helpful; they always make sure my/our stay is memorable.

Two choice rooms in the attractive old stone farmhouse provide very comfortable accommodation of character and charm. On my recent stay I enjoyed the top class -and spacious- upstairs room. The downstairs annex is equally appealing as I experienced on previous visits.

Breakfast is served in the lounge which is tastefully decorated with red furnishings and has striking overhead beams of massive ancient timber. As always I had tasty breakfasts, prepared by Helen, of fresh fruits, yoghurt, pain au chocolat and croissants... and as a special treat there is also a full English breakfast!

The table d'hôte, prepared by Stephen, is first class, varied and served in either the lounge or in the converted barn adjacent to the main building. I have enjoyed main courses that include French dishes such as beouf bourguignon and tartiflette ...and specially prepared roasts, slow cooked to perfection -all meals served with excellent wines our hosts have chosen from various regions of France.

I have lasting memories of quite glorious holidays spent at La Petite Ferme!
Like a famous general once said : I will be back!

John, Australia

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2011
Thank you, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again in 2012!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing