We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip this place”
Review of Lan Yuan

Lan Yuan
Ranked #27 of 48 Restaurants in St. Ives
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Friend took us along to try this local restaurant as previous last year they had great meals here. Well we're to start the service bad, our first sever was not able to understand our choices so another came over not to take our order but to just tell her so she could understand so we basically repeated ourselves 3 times. 3 choices on the menu were unavailable??? Then the food worst Chinese for the prices $120 I've had. Duck overcooked please how does thus happen I guess because it was old & recooked, snake beans dry & soggy & a strange taste. We ordered shanghai chicken which came to us as sweet & sour chicken I asked is this the right dish to be told that's how we cook it??? Then don't just put another name on all your dishes if your going to cook them all the same. Salt & pepper squid rubbery & not crispy. I will give the good & bad but was so disappointed ...sorry one good thing they took the chicken dish off the bill when we asked... maybe since there is not many Chinese restaurants in this area it has a good rating or as others & our friend noted it's changed for the worse. Really get another chef please.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank snoopkittyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 49 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely dinner here, the whole steamed barrumundi was perfectly cooked, the staff were friendly and gave just the right amount of attention. It was a very pleasant experience.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank YummyHunter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018

This restaurant has definitely changed hands. Lan Yuan used to be our go to Chinese takeaway, but unfortunately it is not good any more. They have changed the menu, and dishes such as lemon chicken and sechuan lamb chops are no longer available. The chicken san choy bau is still there but it was terrible, as was the sechuan chicken which tasted like it had vicks vapour rub in it. It's quite disappointing because the original Lan Yuan was awesome. Sorry guys, the staff are lovely but please sort the food out.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Natasha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

Excellent from start to finish. Good service, lovely atmosphere and top food. Can not fault. Worth the travel up from the beaches

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank debbies457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018

It was a very busy day and they were clearly short staffed so perhaps we came on a bad day. We'd been before and the food was ok...today wasn't great. We waited for 25 minutes after being seated and weren't even given menus. I got some from the register. Then, we 15 minutes after that we had to ask to order. Then, they forgot to put our order in the kitchen. We asked at that point as we were prepared to pay for our drinks (that took 30 min to get) and then just go. However, she said our food was 'already cooked'. However, it was another 15 minutes before it arrived at the table. From the time we walked in to ANY food came to the table was 1 hr. People who came well after us had food. As our hunger levels were high, we had great expectations. Sadly, the food wasn't nice. The 'crispy pork belly' was dry and anything but crispy. The homemade dumplings very tasteless. I would like to think it was just a bad day...but it would be difficult to return anytime soon to find out.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank obj613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lan Yuan also viewed

 
St. Ives, Ku-ring-gai
St. Ives, Ku-ring-gai
 

Been to Lan Yuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing