We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
71
24
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
24
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit per person per night gave us a map close to alton towers great campsite goal posts shower block bell tent nice site on arrival yew tree cold shower bank holiday great weekend run around play football large field
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 99 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at the campsite before in our own tent but this time we chose to stay in a bell tent.The tent was roomy and the best bit was a really comfy double bed!You have to bring your own bedding but that is no problem.There were 2 very comfy easy chairs to curl up in.The toilet/shower block was clean and perfectly adequate.Lorraine is brilliant-very friendly and full of information about the area and gives you a basic (but accurate)map which also entitles you to 20% off at a local eatery.We will definitely stay again but will avoid Alton Towers-see my review!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank maukatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

Lovely rural site only a couple of miles away from Alton Towers.Very clean and well organised with tents only allowed around the perimeter giving a spacious feel to the fields. Separate adult and family areas and there are picnic tables, goal posts and volley ball nets set up. There are also some bell tents already set up that can be hired. The toilet block is small but very clean and the lights and showers are currently run by solar energy. New shower block will be completed soon. Lots of bins to sort and recycle rubbish.
We found the owner very friendly and helpful giving us a map of the area and recommendation for local pubs. We would definitely use this site again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank tjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

Had adventure week and stopped off at Alton towers. Stayed at this campsite before awesome. Always welcome clean toilets/showers option for bbq and fire pit for small additional cost lots to do in area apart from towers and very very cheap defo go back again thanks

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

this is our second time staying at this site, our first time we stayed here for 2 nights and this time we stayed for 4. we are a family of 4 and really love the sight, I like the fact there is separate fields for adults only and families as the kids all meet up in the middle of the field and play together which is lovely! and no matter where you are set up you can see your children as long as the stay on the field. Lorraine who owns the site is lovely and will deal with any issues there maybe be with either other campers or things in general the best she can. the fire pits are good value for money too just remember the marshmallows!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank blondeangel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2018

Over the past 6 years or so we have used this campsite at least 4 times. We thoroughly enjoy the laid back atmosphere, warm welcome and good prices. Lorraine always makes us feel welcome and provides a map of the local area.

Great location for Alton towers, Cheadle, Ashbourn, Dovedale and stoke. Lovely little villages/towns.

Enough facilities for a few days camping however there is a new shower block opening this year that will be a huge benefit to the site.

Advise purchasing a rental fire pit as it is cool at nights.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa21w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews