We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Polstead Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland(Stoke by Nayland)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa(Leavenheath)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marquis(Layham)
US$182
US$177
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$458
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel(Colchester)(Great Value!)
US$66
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
US$46
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hintlesham Hall(Hintlesham)
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
72
7
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
7
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking size roomperfect place to stayself cateringroom was cleanstay there againstayed here for one nighthigh standardon arrivalmaureenmealbreak
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 84 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here one night on business and I could have been made feel more welcome.

My ensuite room was of high standard as was the cottage itself - highly desirable.

The management were so lovely and nothing was too much - it was a really lovely experience.

Would highly recommend :)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Lesley June J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2017

On arrival, we were met by the owners, Maureen and Dave who gave us a very friendly welcome. We were shown to our room (King size room) which was spotless. It overlooked fields and paddocks. The bed was really comfortable. Everything was perfect, including a great breakfast with lots of choice - and freshly cooked using local produce. The only point we would make, although shower gel was available, there was no shampoo - but this would not have given any room to complain A perfect place to stay - and we would recommend The Cock Inn just along the road for a great pub meal at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

What a lovely place very clean and well presented room, the land lady is extremely nice and nothing to much trouble,although a little way away from the shops pubs etc they have a live in cab service. The property is surrounded by open space and the view from our bedroom simply superb,
Breakfast cooked to order was lovely and included in the price and at only £85 a bargain we will recommend to all and will visit again.
Summery Fantastic no more to say

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank nickaguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayaEastAnglia, Owner at Polstead Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2016

thank you very much for your very nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Suffolk is a beautiful county and this is certainly a picture postcard area of it. The rural views from the windows were perfect, bed very comfortable, plenty of space and a large bathroom, all very clean and cared for. There is plenty of parking, a country pub in walking distance and many lovely villages close by. What's not to like. The price was right and there was an in house taxi service too. Breakfast was excellent with friendly hosts providing lots of local information.

Not necessarily downsides but remember that you need to take shampoo/conditioner etc and also pay in cash or cheque. Phone signal not great but there is wi-fi. Great place to switch off and get away from it all, so peaceful.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justhadtosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2016

We stayed here for a couple of nights, spotlessly clean, delicious Full English Breakfasts and a lovely location for walking etc. Perfect if you are playing golf at Stoke by Nayland but would prefer not to stay in a large Hotel. We would certainly go back

Room Tip: Just a small homely Bed and Breakfast
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fastpace2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayaEastAnglia, Owner at Polstead Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2016

Thank you for your charming review - and glad that accommodation and location suited your needs. Kind Regards. Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews