We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Polstead Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa(Leavenheath)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marquis(Layham)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$458
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel(Colchester)(Great Value!)
US$66
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Colchester)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
The Mill Hotel(Sudbury)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
72
7
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
7
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking size roomperfect place to stayself cateringroom was cleanstay there againstayed here for one nighthigh standardon arrivalmaureenmealbreak
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 84 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2017

We stayed here for one night in the middle of a canoe trip. The room was clean, bright and spacious. Breakfast was lovely in their breakfast room overlooking the garden. The grounds of the house were gorgeous and we wished we had more time to spend here but the canoe was waiting. Maureen was wonderful and could not do enough to make us feel special. Thank you Maureen for sharing your home with us and making us welcome. We will come back if we are in this area again. We both enjoyed our chat over breakfast.
Best wishes Diane & Yvonne

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevergrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here one night on business and I could have been made feel more welcome.

My ensuite room was of high standard as was the cottage itself - highly desirable.

The management were so lovely and nothing was too much - it was a really lovely experience.

Would highly recommend :)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Lesley June J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2017

On arrival, we were met by the owners, Maureen and Dave who gave us a very friendly welcome. We were shown to our room (King size room) which was spotless. It overlooked fields and paddocks. The bed was really comfortable. Everything was perfect, including a great breakfast with lots of choice - and freshly cooked using local produce. The only point we would make, although shower gel was available, there was no shampoo - but this would not have given any room to complain A perfect place to stay - and we would recommend The Cock Inn just along the road for a great pub meal at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

What a lovely place very clean and well presented room, the land lady is extremely nice and nothing to much trouble,although a little way away from the shops pubs etc they have a live in cab service. The property is surrounded by open space and the view from our bedroom simply superb,
Breakfast cooked to order was lovely and included in the price and at only £85 a bargain we will recommend to all and will visit again.
Summery Fantastic no more to say

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank nickaguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayaEastAnglia, Owner at Polstead Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2016

thank you very much for your very nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Suffolk is a beautiful county and this is certainly a picture postcard area of it. The rural views from the windows were perfect, bed very comfortable, plenty of space and a large bathroom, all very clean and cared for. There is plenty of parking, a country pub in walking distance and many lovely villages close by. What's not to like. The price was right and there was an in house taxi service too. Breakfast was excellent with friendly hosts providing lots of local information.

Not necessarily downsides but remember that you need to take shampoo/conditioner etc and also pay in cash or cheque. Phone signal not great but there is wi-fi. Great place to switch off and get away from it all, so peaceful.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justhadtosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews