We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Station Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Safari Motel(Taihape)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman Motel(Taihape)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Rutland Arms Inn(Whanganui)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anndion Lodge Motel & Function Centre(Whanganui)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marton Motel(Marton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Riverview Motel(Whanganui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
18
7
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownershared bathroomthe kitchenrenovatedcheersfarmbyronroad
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Stayed 2 nights here during a cycling trip down the North Island. Comfortable beds, well provisioned bathrooms - and exceptional hospitality. The team at the station hotel went out of their way to understand and meet the needs of the weary cyclist. Sandy and her team are a well oiled operation providing a real customer focus. Great place for a rest and recoup mission.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Went with a group of friends for a golfing weekend. One of the guys in our party was gluten free but after dinner became quite ill - effects of gluten in the meal. The owner didnt want to hear of it and flatly refused it could have been the meal. The same thing for breakfast, he asked not to have the sausages but this fell on deaf ears -meal served with everything on the plate. Owned by a couple and the husband was as unfriendly as the wife was friendly. These small things go a long way. Won't be rushing back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank charandab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We spent one night at the Station Hotel and had an ensuite double bedroom. The room was clean and very nicely decorated with a good hot shower.

Other reviews have mentioned the trains - we heard one but nothing more than that and it didn't disturb us.

We didn't arrive until gone 7.30pm but Sandy still cooked dinner which was very good and huge portions. We can highly recommend the pork and the prawns.

Breakfast was in Sandy's kitchen and very good.

Wifi was available free of charge.

Station Hotel is a good value for money local hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sjjdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

We stayed in this restored 1885 hotel. There are seven rooms available. All are beautifully decorated with lovely beds. Two are ensuite. There are three bathrooms in the corridopr for the other five. All with everything you need. Coffee and tea available at the the end of the hall. Only problem is the rooms are up a flight of stairs and there is no lift. Close to the railway line but after the first couple of trains going through yo do not hear them.
We ate in the the bar beside the fire. The best meal for a long time. Brony was a great bar manager.
Breakfast in the kitchen with Sandy the owner, well worth a visit just for the breakfast says my husband.
Would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We booked for a wedding up the road on a farm near Martin .
From the moment we walked in Sandy made us so welcome. Nothing was a problem , to be honest i felt more like part of the family than a guest.
may I also say Sandy makes an awesome Kiwi Burger , the food was fab washed down with a beer or 3
I will stay there again for a weekend get away but i think it pays to book ahead.
the history of the hotel is amazing also.
The rooms have been re done in a tasteful way and the bathrooms were spotless
The staff take a great pride in making your hotel experience one to remember
well worth a weekend away
Cheers
Bob K

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bobandpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews