We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage in a delightful area”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Dutch Barn

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Over Haddon, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
plais
Aberystwyth
2 reviews
“Great cottage in a delightful area”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We found this cottage ideal for an extended family holiday. There was an enclosed lawned garden at the front of the property with plenty of space for the young ones to roam safely, and an enclosed area with hot tub at the rear of the property - ideal for relaxing!

We were given a warm welcome including a welcome basket containing homemade jam, croissants, wine etc. which was certainly a bonus.

There are plenty of attractions and activities in the area to keep the whole family entertained, including Chatsworth House, The Heights of Abraham, Bakewell, Buxton and a cycle ride on the fabulous Monsal Trail. For a leisurely day, the circular route from the village down to the Lathkill River is a must, complete with gorgeous scenery and cakes at the Garden Tea Room.

We hope to visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub!
Liked least: The twin bedroom was rather small, and had no storage areas
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen O
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location but with drawbacks.”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location with plenty of interesting places to visit nearby. Two fancy double rooms with four posters - what luxury, Shame for those who draw the short straw and have to stay in the twin room which is two single beds squashed into a single room. A pretty village with a friendly local pub offering quite a range of meals and good beers. Nice place to sit out at the front.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was found by my sister in law and she got high fives all round for finding this little gem.

The place is well kitted out, tidy, spacious and has a hot tub!!!!

It's easy to access and parking is outside. Inside the rooms are large, clean with a very nice large living room.

It's in a excellent spot to get out and about on walks and via car.

We would love to come back and stay here again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kymberlee...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful house in a stunning location and the hot tub is icing on the cake”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for 4 nights with 7 adults and a baby to celebrate a birthday. The house is stunning and all bedding, towels etc are the best quality. The wine fridge in the kitchen came in very handy also. The owner is lovely and kindly left some milk, tea, coffee etc and brought round some chocs and wine. We had an amazing and relaxing break. Perfect location for long walks and you must try the Garden Tea Room in the village, best cakes ever! I would highly recommend staying here and we will be visiting again in the future. How did I nearly forget the hot tub, a perfect way to chill out on an evening x

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona L
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay near Bakewell”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the Dutch Barn to spend 4 nights with our three teenage daughters. We had a warm welcome from Gill, including wine, brioche and home made jam for breakfast, as well as milk, tea, coffee and biscuits and crisps to rejuvenate us on arrival plus fresh lilies as a finishing touch. The whole property was in excellent condition and had some beautiful furnishings and finishing touches. The hot tub was really great, very clean and well maintained and was well used by us all, especially after some long walks in the hills. The village is fairly small, pretty and rural but very close to Bakewell. There are lovely walks into the Lathkill valley and over to Youlgreave straight from the door. The village is big enough to have a small pub/hotel serving evening meals and also the best tea room we visited in the Peaks: the Garden Tea room just down the hill towards the river only does, tea, coffee and home made cakes (no toast, soup or savouries) but there are plenty to choose from and all fantastic. Definitely a great place to stay and we hope to visit again soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was well cared for, clean and well equipped
Liked least: we liked it all
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyGrafh...
Bromyard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent, wonderful country break in gorgeous house”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Gill and Jonathan were very helpful, helping with ideas for activities before our arrival. The key safe combination arrived in good time. The house was very nicely furnished, very clean, bedding and towels all looked like new. There were croissants, milk, tea, coffee, sugar and other little touches upon our arrival. The Hot Tub was all ready for us, heated to a beautiful temperature, the decking was great for bare feet (flip flops not required). Kitchen facilities were great for cooking for 7. The shower was lovely, great water pressure and temperature. Wi-fi signal was strong, phone signal drops in and out due to the location, but we were happy with that. We had an excellent stay. Wish it could have been longer. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we may be able to welcome you back to Dutch Barn again some time in the future.Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBen1s...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful short break.”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous midweek break at the Dutch Barn. Great location and an amazing place to stay. Lovely owners and the hot tub after a days walking was just heaven!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dutch Barn again in the future.
Thanks
Gill and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing