We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
122
114
40
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
114
40
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room new section old building great view charming hotel breakfast was included first class cruise ship great room included in the price fjord view bed apartment modern wing separate bedroom white tablecloths short stay friendly service
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 293 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2014

We didn't stay here overnight but we went for dinner here one evening.

The service the day we went here was quite bad. It was one trainee and one full employee so everything was slow. We had to wait very long for our drinks and the bread.

The food though was absolutely delicious. My girlfriend had the lamb and I got the reindeer and both was just brilliant and very tasty, but also very pricy (paid 590 NOK, about 90 USD, for the mentioned food and one Sprite).

All in all I would recommend this place just because of this delicious food.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Zefau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandven H, Leder  at Thon Hotel Sandven, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor! We apologize that service was too slow on this particular day, but we are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the quality of the food:)
Best regards,
Jorunn Pile, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2014

We were in the modern part of the hotel and had a good view from our bedroom window, the room was clean and comfortable. The staff were always polite and very helpful and the food was excellent, tea and coffee available all day. There was a ferry every morning for those wishing to go touring by water and a bus service, both were just 100 metres from the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandven H, Leder  at Thon Hotel Sandven, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

Thank you so much for you wonderful review, we are glad to hear that you had a memorable stay here at Thon Hotel Sandven, and you are welcome back any time:)
Best regards,
Jorunn Pile, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one day after a ferry sightseeing of the fjord. We had a business apartment on the water, with magnificent view to the fjord.
Breakfast was rich and generous and we also had exquisite dinner of stylish Nordic cuisine all based on local produce.
The staff is welcoming and professional, I would highly recommend staying in this hotel and we plan to come back in the summer for a longer stay.

Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Gil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2014

Stayed one week at this hotel in early August 2014 together with my wife and two teen age kids. We had a three bedroom apartment with balcony facing the beautiful fjord and also the glacier.
Two of the rooms had nowhere to hang cloths and one room had no window covering. After talking to the front desk portable clothing racks and window covering were provided immediately by the friendly staff. Fantastic Norwegian breakfast with all the Scandinavian favorites. We invited Norwegian family to a party at the hotel and staff took very good care of all of us and the food was absolutely fantastic. Great success according to my whole family.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2014

We spent 2 nights here. Our room was in the original part of the hotel, with a view of the fjord and a covered veranda with wicker furniture. The room and bathroom were a little small but the veranda was wonderful ! All the public rooms in the hotel are handsomely decorated with period furniture and large paintings in the dining room. The breakfast is excellent. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again, but if its summer time, we strongly recommend a room on the fjord (north?) side of the hotel.

Room tip: Get a room with a view of the fjord.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews