We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Grande de Cristosende
Ranked #1 of 1 Cristosende B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Everything is just spectacular there. The house is just beautiful and full of character and history. It's really well-maintained and it has a lot of refined details. Our room was really big, comfortable, it even had two rocking chairs and we had a view on a cute, old church. The bathroom was spectacular. The staff amazing!! Helpful, always cheerful and happy to talk to anyone. And the location is just perfect. The hotel is surrounded by the wineries and gorgeous views of the canon do sil. It's also super easy to find. Just normal google maps and no problem.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

I have been there with family and friends on a rainy summer afternoon to take some drink and to visit the small hotel section they have. The door connect the pub to the inside garden and when we stepped in a rude waiter told us that that area was only for the guests of the hotel.
We have been there a couple of years ago and a mid age lady invited us also to visit not only the garden but she took us upstairs and opened a room to show us the view.

My suggestion to the rude waiter = to work in this kind of business you need different behavior and different attitude.

My message to the rude waiter = you made loose to the owner 5 nights of two couple who asked me to make a reservation on behalf of them

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Fulvio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We chose this small hotel as a base for hiking tours in the Ribera Sacra area. We did not do any directly from the hotel but within a reasonable driving distance (such as the PRG-86 Viñedos de la Ribeira Sacra, PRG-98 Monasterio Santa Cristina or PRG-4 Camiño Real de San Pedro de Rocas trails, none more than an hour away by car). There were two double beds in each room. The view from our window was over another old building opposite the narrow street. You can also pay a little more for the room “Sabela”, which has a nice view over the river Sil.
We liked the fact that the house was in a small quiet village, surrounded by a bucolic landscape, and that it was decorated with good taste. Plus, the manager (Marcos) knows the attractions of the area well and can give you advice. There also is a common area with tables and couches where you can read a book or play a board game.
Some things to take into account, however:
The outer walls of the building are made of stone and very thick, while the inner walls must be of recent construction, are thin and let you easily hear your neighbors in their rooms or people in the hallway. You can also hear noise which comes from below your room, as guest rooms are on the first floor and separated from the rooms below just by some wooden boards. We could even look into the room below us through some gaps between the wooden boards.
Besides, once I saw a mouse coming in from the open window and disappearing in a hole where the wooden floor meets the stone wall. As it did not come back I suppose it found its way to the room below…
As for food, you can also order in advance breakfast, dinner or lunch, which are not included in the price. We had dinner and breakfast. Dinner was 16 Euros per adult and 9 Euros per child. Breakfast was 6 Euros (I do not remember if there was a discount for children). The stockfish and vieiras were good and worth their price. The veal with potatoes was ok, however with a worse price-quality relationship. Breakfast consisted of coffee, milk or tea, toast bread, butter, marmalade, dry cake, processed cheese and bologna sausage. Eggs were also served if you asked for them. Breakfast is not served before 9 a.m., to take into account if you plan hiking the entire day and want to start early. The restaurant service is done by the people who also serve the bar next to it, so orders can sometimes take a little to arrive.
The rooms were clean enough but with some visible dust below the beds and in some corners; in general no problem if your children do not play hiding below the beds, as ours like to do…
Mattresses were new and comfortable.
Employees speak Spanish or Galician; little English is understood.
There is no designated parking space if you come by car; just park in the street.
To put it in a nutshell, the Casa Grande de Cristosende is a nice place to stay if you do not mind the drawbacks mentioned. The price-quality relationship of the meals could be better, especially if you are a larger group with children. The prices for the rooms are similar to other country hotels in the area, surprisingly not much different from Spanish town hotels.

Room Tip: If you want a view on the River Sil, chose the room "Sabela" (somewhat more expensive).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Iria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Só tem 7quartos, um no rés do chão. Prefiro os do primeiro andar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rudesindo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank saavedracueto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Aida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Casa Grande de Cristosende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande de Cristosende

Address: Rua Cristosende 31, 32765 Cristosende, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Ourense > Cristosende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cristosende
Price Range: $67 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Grande de Cristosende 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Grande de Cristosende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing