We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent good value stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada el Corcal de Liebana
Ranked #1 of 1 Tama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2016

This small hotel was comfortable and had good facilities for the price. It offers good value accommodation, is spotlessly clean and has additional services such as a small gym, hot tub and sauna. It is also well placed for the Picos de Europa and only a couple of minutes drive from Potes. The neighbouring bar / restaurant is also part of the establishment and convenient as we simply put all drinks and meals on the final bill - which was very reasonable after 3 nights.

The hotel I'd just of the main road around the Picos but that isn't so busy and we found it very peaceful. The only real niggle was the amount of noise that had a tendency to come in from the corridor but there is a second door between bedroom and en suite that can keep that out.

The variety and quality on offer for breakfast was OK and what we expected for the price, not as good as other places we stayed at but this was a cheaper stay and, we thought, perfectly adequate. The main deficiency was the lack of a good range of fruit (although there were apples and oranges).

If we visit the Picos again I wouldn't hesitate to book here for a simple but very welcome and peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo S, Propietario at Posada el Corcal de Liebana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Hi Dereck,

Thanks a lot for your complete review, it is very helpful for us to know as much as possible about what we do well and what can we improve, so your review is perfect :) We are happy to know you have enjoyed and we take note about the fruit. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2016

First impressions are confusing but when we were shown to the recent building at the rear of the main road bar we were pleasantly surprised. Lovely clean accommodation, excellent views and a splendid large room with excellent bathroom facility. Excellent staff as well. The restaurant is in the main road building at the rear of the bar - the food was excellent. Should have booked for longer

Room Tip: The rooms we saw all appear to be well appointed - there are countryside and distant mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo S, Propietario at Posada el Corcal de Liebana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Hi Terry,

We are very happy you have enjoyed our place. Thanks a lot for your review. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

This place is really worth a visit. Great, large rooms which are well decorated and with Jacuzzi bath jets! Lovely views over the mountain slopes. Ideal location for exploring the Picos either by foot or car. The Posada has a small restaurant bar a very short walk away which has good atmosphere and serves simple local food.

The location is slightly out of town, but Potes is a very short drive (3 or 4 minutes) and has a wide selection of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo S, Propietario at Posada el Corcal de Liebana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Hi Barry,

Thanks a lot to share your review about our hotel, we are very happy you have enjoyed your stay with us :) Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Very friendly, beautifully built lodge style hotel with great views of the Picos. Well located for exploring the region. Excellent breakfast in a lovely lounge where a fire is lit in the evening for relaxing in a comfortable chair. The nearby pub has a friendly bar and serves good food with excellent wine. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo S, Propietario at Posada el Corcal de Liebana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Dear Liz,

We are very happy you would enjoy our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future. Thanks a lot for you review. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

It is a wonderful hotel for your Picos adventures. Our room was beautiful and the view from the balcony was picturesque. (Request the side of the hotel on the patio side that views a local bridge.) Breakfast was lovely. We ate several meals at the restaurant in front of the hotel. We will certainly return on our next vacation to Spain! Our stay was in May,

Room Tip: (Request the side of the hotel on the patio side that views a local bridge.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunsetovergulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo S, Propietario at Posada el Corcal de Liebana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Hi,

We are so happy you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thanks a lot for your review, it is very important and useful for us. Regards and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Lovely hotel - great room and view. The owners were very accommodating and allowed us to park our sports on the patio of the hotel. The restaurant was great too and good value. The hotel is within walking distance of Potes and so is ideal for a quiet stay in the local area. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We arrived on spec and just managed to get the last room (disabled) but it was still great. Would r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo S, Propietario at Posada el Corcal de Liebana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Hi Theresa,

Thanks a lot for your review. We love you have enjoyed your stays with us.

Regards and see you next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We spent seven nights here in an apartment (Apartment El Dobrillo). The Posada is in a beautiful setting and has a separate restaurant Casa Fofi on the road, just 2 minutes walk away. We ate in the restaurant twice and I can highly recommend the Breaded Veal Escalope with a bottle of the local wine from Liebana.
The apartment was well appointed and had everything needed to be able to cook a meal. There was a microwave, toaster, ketltle, full sized cooker (oven and 4 rings).
The bathroom had a bath (very welcome after a days hiking!) with shower, sink and bidet.
Although we were self-catering we had maid service every day. The apartment was cleaned, beds made, linen and towels changed. Absolutely faultless.
The hotel also has a jacuzzi, sauna and small gym in the basement. We did use the facilities but a bonus for some.
The guests we spoke to all said that the breakfasts were fantastic and it is possible to add breakfasts to a booking.
We visited Funte De and the Cares Gorge from here and it is spectacular scenery.
I found that Potes was very touristy, but a pretty place. Beware the set menus. Patatas Bravas was served as french fries with a small plastic pot of chipotle sauce:)

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Mr&MrsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adolfo S, Propietario at Posada el Corcal de Liebana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Hi,

We are very happy to you have enjoyed our Posada and you have liked the restaurant and the area. Thanks a lot for you good review. We hope see you soon :)

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tama
17.4 km away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
794 reviews
22.6 km away
Hotel Rural Valleoscuru
8.5 km away
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
#1 of 1 in La Hermida
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Casona d'Alevia
Casona d'Alevia
#1 of 1 in Alevia
40 reviews
1.6 km away
Infantado Hotel
Infantado Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ojedo
218 reviews
9.4 km away
Posada Valle del Oso
Posada Valle del Oso
#1 of 2 in Lerones
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada el Corcal de Liebana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada el Corcal de Liebana

Address: Carretera General s/n, 39584 Tama, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Tama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tama
Price Range: $107 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Corcal de Liebana is located next to Potes, in the countryside and surrounded by mountains. It is a typical construction of the zone, which maintains a rural aesthetic combined with design and decoration with all the necessary services to enjoy a holidays . The hotel has 14 rooms and 2 apartments. We have gym and relax area with Jacuzzi and sauna where you can relax after a busy day touring the Picos de Europa area. In a nearby building we have Casa Fofi Restaurant, founded in 1865 with great tradition and recognition in the area, specializes in traditional home cooking with local dishes like Cocido Lebaniego and meets . Nearby you can visit places of great natural interest as many routes through the Picos de Europa , ride the Cable Car of Fuente De , visit Potes , Santo Toribio de Liebana or close to know the beautiful beaches of the Cantabrian coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada el Corcal de Liebana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing