We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magic”

Review of Villa Franciacorta

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Bornato, Province of Brescia, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JLorca
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very faded glory in a drab town”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were expecting something very special from the photos and the price. Unfortunately in practice this villa was uncomfortable, less than hygienic and very poorly managed.

There is lots of space but it is filled with dated and ugly furniture and so it is difficuly to enjoy. A number of quite basic amenities are lacking and many items are broken or dysfunctional. Surprisingly for what is presented as a luxury rental, a number of rooms were not clean or were in evident states of decay with paint flaking from the walls, large deposits of dust and a number of broken items of furniture casually deposited in corners or hallways. The owner's agent suggested these were antiques however I feel he is confusing this concept with 'old and broken'. Interestingly one room is filled with nothing but three fridge which is odd as the kitchen itself does not contain a single fridge for guests' use.

The staff at the villa were completely unsuited for guests and seemed to find our presence an inconvenience. They repeatedly arrived unannounced and set to work noisily as we ate breakfast or sat in the garden. When we complained to the management there was little sign of any concern for our experience: we were basically told to get stuffed. Indeed the owner's agent suggested that if we complained on review sites he would post photos of 'how we left the villa'. This is curious as he returned all our deposit and we checked several times with the staff that all was in order before we left.

Additionally, the town of Bornato itself is relatively charmless with little activity and few places of interest. A quick 'Streetview' drive through will confirm this. I would recommend you steer very clear of this property which needs new management and a total refresh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Dear Oliver,
we deeply regret you have not enjoyed your holidays at Villa Franciacorta, as our mission is to find the best properties in Italy to allow our guests to enjoy the best possibile italian experience.
We understand, during your stay, you discover you don’t like the interior style of the villa, that, as clearly shown on the pictures gallery, is mainly made by antique furnitures. As regards the location: the villa is in the prestigious wine area of the Franciacorta spumante, in the lake lake district. Verona, Venezia and other beautiful location are not far from there.
This past September we made our annual inspection site at Villa Franciacorta and we found the villa in good shape and adequately maintaned, as also testified by others 2015 guests.
Nevertheless we informed and discussed with the property owner about your comments, especially as regards the cleaning and the staff.
They confirmed that both they than the villa’s staff, as well as we, did not receive any notice or request of extra cleaning needs during your stay from your side.
The Villa Franciacorta rental price (63 Euro/day/pax in high season) includes also a 3 hours twice a week maid service, and you could have used this one at your best convenience, or ask for a free extra cleaning, if necessary.
In any case, as we normally do, during our annual inspection site, we gave some recommendations to continue improving the villa for a even better stays.
Looking forward to have the opportunity to host you again in one of the Vacavilla’s villas in Italy, please accept our best regards.

Andrea Bartalini
CEO of Vacavilla S.r.l.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustaf B
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Magic”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a magic place from the 18th century conveniently located near airports and in an Italian village in the middle of a wine district. We were three families with small children but you could easily fit another family. This would also be the ideal getaway for a small company on a team building trip.

The house is a palace, the secluded garden is magic and a few steps out into the real world there is a small convenient store, a gelateria, a top notch restaurant and friendly people. We spent one of our best holidays ever here and can highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This is a magic house with a fantastic garden.
Liked least: The mosquitos - until we got help to protect us from them.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Dear Gustaf,
thank you for finding the time to write about your stay at Villa Franciacorta, and for recommending it.
We are very satisfied in reading you enjoyed your holidays in this beautiful villa. Finding beautiful properties with special owners, in the best italian destinations, is the mission of us: the Vacavilla staff.

Let's hope to welcome you again at Villa Franciacorta or in any other Vacavilla's villas all over Italy.

Please accept our best Regards

Andrea Bartalini
CEO of Vacavilla S.r.l.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranoniha
Hannover, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Sehr veehrter Gast,
ich möchte Ihnen sowohl dafür, dass Sie Vacavilla gewählt haben, als auch für die schöne Rezension über Villa Franciacorta danken. Wir hoffen, bald wieder von Ihnen zu hören und Sie erneut in einer unserer Villen in Italien begrüßen zu dürfen.

Herzliche Grüße
Andrea Bartalini
Vacavilla Srl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing