We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Anchor Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
East Angle Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
East Angle Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
East Angle Bay
Double Bedroom - plenty of space for a cot too!
A comfortable corner to watch TV or snuggle up with a good book
View from the garden to the bay - there also country views to the rear of the garden
Shells collected from East Angle Bay
Nearby Children's Playground
View from the coastal path
Smart new entrance area, and gate securing the rear garden.
The herb garden
The smallest of our double bedrooms - but you will wake up to a lovely countryside view!
Bunk beds - new mattresses on all of our beds.
The master bedroom - king sized bed and there is an en-suite shower
Modern family bathroom
A view of our large L-shaped kitchen / dining/ living room.
Stair gates are fitted to top and bottom of the stairs - can be left open/removed if not required.
Crab fishing at East Angle Bay - plenty of crabs to be found here!
West Angle Beach
View from the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Angle, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary M
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Anchor Cottage”
Reviewed May 8, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We moved from West Wales nearly 3 years ago & this was our 1st chance to return. Anchor Cottage is in the the small village of Angle. The beach at West Angle Bay is just a short walk away & Freshwater West a short drive. Both are sandy with free parking & dogs are allowed all year. The first thing that struck us about Anchor cottage was its cleanliness & the quality of the furniture & furnishings. We were 4 adults & 2 dogs, although the cottage sleeps 8. The kitchen was light & spacious & extremely well equipped. It was open to the dining area & a lounge. There was also a second lounge, both lounges having a TV. If you have children there were cupboards of books, games, puzzles, colouring books & more.
It was lovely to open the back door & let the dogs out into a secure garden with views to Angle Bay & fields beyond. There are 2 pubs in the village & a lovely cafe (Wavecrest) by the beach. It was only a short stay & we are looking forward to coming again. Very impressed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2018
Thank you for your kind review - much appreciated, and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenN75
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Such a lovely place!”
Reviewed April 30, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Firstly, the house was fantastic and many thanks to Susan for making the whole booking process etc easy. There were two families staying (in total 8 guests) and more than enough room for us all with some games and small selection of dvds too. The nearest beach about 10-15 mins walk away (Angle beach) with a nice café overlooking the beach. Lots of lovely places to go and things to see which are a short drive away such as Freshwater West, Broadhaven beach, National Trust Stackpole area and Pembroke Castle. You need a car to get about as bus service was twice a week although it was during Easter that we stayed so will probably increase frequency in the summer months. What you need to be mindful of is that there isn't anywhere very close by to buy essentials such as milk, bread etc. Nearest shops are in Pembroke which is about a 20-25 min drive away. Will definitely be back in the next couple of years!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Thank you very much Karen! It is a great pity that the village shop closed last year, and we can only hope that someone will fill the gap before too long!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Feb 2018
Thank you very much, and we hope you have better weather if you return in future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Susan Jan...
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We all found this cottage (Anchor Cottage) Angle well equipped with every item possible that would be found in your own home The Owner was extremely accommodating when we asked if a further couple could join us half way through the week and we also had a total of four dogs with us, which again the owner agreed to.

I found everything fantastic, I would definitely recommend this holiday let to any friend or family and would definitely re book in the future myself.

Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Thank you very much, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flick4cb
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a lovely week away in Angle, the cottage was big enough to fit our family and the grandparents, plenty of space, clean, and comfortable home from home. The kids found toys to play with and dvds they could watch, and the adults could still have a separate space for a bit of downtime in the evenings.
The local area has lots to offer and stunning scenery. We look forward to coming back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Thank you very much for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie F
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Can't fault house and garden but the cleanliness in this house was appalling! I do believe the owner herself stayed in this property the week before we did. I took photos of the poor conditions in this property and sent them to trip advisor and the owner. Photos have date and time on them so there's no way the owner could say the house was clean two hours before we arrived. The noise in the shower and toilet in the ensuite was unbelievably loud so no chance of going to the loo or having a shower once the children were in bed. We did attempt to put central heating on, we aren't stupid we do know how to put central heating on but it told you quite clearly in the information pack not to tamper with the thermostat. I didn't have the owners telephone number on me I had left it at home otherwise we would have contacted her on our arrival after a long journey this is not what you expect to find after paying over a thousand pounds for one week.. The only reason I looked at the mattress in the master bedroom ( extremely soiled) was because the owner had said all beds had new mattresses on and I being in the mattress industry was intrigued as to what kind they were, I was horrified when I saw the stains. The supplied towels smelt musty and damp so we didn't use those at all. All in all one very expensive bad experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
As per our previous response to these guests, we are sorry that they did not enjoy their stay, however this review does not fairly represent the reality of their initial complaint, which was a) that there were crumbs in the toaster and a cobweb in one bedroom and b) that they were unable to operate the central heating. No mention was made of problems with towels in their complaint (all of our linen and towels are professionally laundered, we do not do them ourselves, but they are checked when they are returned). We do of course have full contact details in our welcome pack at the house, and provide free Wi-Fi which enables guests to have the option of phoning, texting or e-mailing us if they have a problem. The mattress is not extremely soiled - it has a watermark only, which has resulted from cleaning an accident by a previous guest this season, and no where in my accommodation details do I claim to have brand new mattresses on all beds ( although none are more than 18 months old)! Sadly, the only way an en-suite could be fitted is to install a saniflo system, which inevitably makes a noise, and perhaps these guests have not used one before. I am not sure what relevance my stay the previous week has - it did not in any way change the normal cleaning and changeover routine other than for me to supervise and ensure everything was perfect before I left, which I rarely have the opportunity to do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyettwend...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

My Sister & i booked this cottage on your 5 star rating.The cottage its self was great & very roomy.Lovely secure garden.But then it started to go downhill.The kitchen worktops were sticky & dirty,the kitchen cupboards were unclean,we had to clean the fridge out before we could put our food in.The microwave hadn't been cleaned & the toaster was still full of crumbs.The cushions had dog hairs on & we put our own throws on the settee.Upstairs the towels smelt musty so we used our own beach towels for the week.My Sister's mattress on the kingsize was soiled.After three hours cleaning we were upset.We paid top rates & got grime.When we got home we got in touch with TripAdviser who said it wasn't anything to do with them & then the owner got in touch.She said we should have been in touch with her & she would have got her local housekeeper to HELP US clean it???The centrel heating had been turned off for the Summer so we had no heating & the children went to bed in cold bedrooms.Again the owner said she had a Handyman who could have sorted it.Where were the phone numbers of these people???If you read "satellite t.v",it means Freeview.My Sister sent photo's to TripAdviser & the owner.We thought a little refund was in order but no not even an apology,which left us to understand that our standards of cleanliness are not everyone elses.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
This is a very unfair review - firstly, the customer had full contact details for us, but at no time during their stay did they contact us to let us know about any problems. With regards to cleanliness, the house was thoroughly cleaned and checked just 2 hours before their stay, so there was certainly no grime, however, as we said in our response to the complaint (only received after they had returned home), if they had any concerns that anything had not been cleaned to their satisfaction, a phone call to us would have ensured that our local housekeeper would have called to the house and resolved the issue. All of the towels had been freshly washed, and had only been returned from the laundry that morning. There is an old stain on one mattress - this has been thoroughly cleaned and disinfected, and was covered under two layers of mattress protectors, which they had to remove to find it. The central heating was switched off - it was August - however, only one switch needed to be operated to turn it on - full details of the operation of the heating are in the information pack provided, however, again a quick phone call would have enabled us to explain how to get it running. Everyone has a different comfort level, so we are happy for guests to use heating at any time. We also provide a very good electric fire that will heat the house very well if instant heat is needed, so there was no need for anyone to be cold. Yes, we have free view - but also a smart TV which suits many guests, as they have their own subscriptions to Netflix etc. We did apologize to these guests, as we hate anyone to be disappointed, however we were never given any opportunity to help them, or to resolve their issues during their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing