We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Little Snodwell Farm - A traditional Devon longhouse built in 1750
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Snodwell Farm - A traditional Devon longhouse built in 1750
Little Snodwell Farm - A cosy place to stay in winter The entrance to the Annexe your own small piece of thatched living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Little Snodwell Farm - A traditional Devon longhouse built in 1750
Little Snodwell Farm - A cosy place to stay in winter
The entrance to the Annexe your own small piece of thatched living
A room with a view - the view over the valley from the annexe lounge
The lounge - very relaxing with a fantastic view over the valley to watch the sunset
You'll sleep fabulously as it's completely dark and quiet
The handmade kitchen is just what you need if you fancy cooking the local produce
The hot tub - west facing so fantastic sunsets while relaxing with a glass of something cold!
A good place for lunch or just to take in the rays
One of the two lakes in the grounds. Just sit and relax or fish if you fancy
Beer beach is just a 15 minute drive away, as is Lyme Regis, Axmouth and River Cottage
An idillic spot within the grounds to take a stroll ..... or a nap!
One of our Swiss dairy goats enjoying the snow
One of the piglets that are often to be found on the farm
Duck eggs are perfect for breakfast and we collect them each morning from the ducks on our pond
A great place for children to play with the stairs or scramble net as a way up or down
Or the perfect spot to read a book, enjoy a glass of wine or just to sit and think up in the trees
River Cottage canteen and HQ are both just a 15 minute drive away
The beauty of Exmoor and Dartmoor are within easy reach for some fantastic walking
If you go quietly you can see the roe deer in our 3 acres of woodland
Making hay while the sun shines .... Nothing better!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cotleigh, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mathew B
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The owners of Little Snodwell Farm welcomed us into their home as if we were good friends, which was really important as the accommodation is so close to their own residence that we could otherwise have felt like we were intruding into their own space. They were on hand to help us in any way they could during our stay and had lots of genuine recommendations for good places nearby to visit. The annex was really clean with a combination of traditional farmhouse and contemporary decor. Notably the kitchen was fitted it out with really nice John Lewis utensils (unlike many places that look like they've just offloaded their old rubbish to the rental property) - it made it clear that the owners were actually interested in providing their guests with as good a place to stay as they would expect for themselves. The family sell their own farm produce, or there is a larger farm shop just up the lane and we really enjoyed cooking our own meals from fresh local ingredients. It was great fun to walk around the farm and see the goats and ducklings they keep. You feel like you're in the middle of nowhere as once inside the house or garden you can only see fields and farms all around, yet we were very close to plenty of activities from walking along the river Dart to dinner on the beach, and there are also major supermarkets and other town amenities very close by. The hot tub with its perfect uninterrupted Westerly outlook was the main draw for us out of other potential farm cottages and it was such a pleasure to wind down in the evening with a glass of champagne watching the sunset or stargazing. It was a really memorable weekend and I would go back again in an instant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub!
Liked least: not having enough time to stay there longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00djkc00
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Welcoming and wonderful stay, we will be back!”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

From the minute we arrived we knew we had made the right choice booking to stay here. We were warmly welcomed and there was even a cream tea waiting for us in our room! If anything we'd say the photographs didn't do it justice, the annex is completed to an extremely high standard, there was a large window with a dining table looking out onto the open fields. Totally idyllic eating breakfast and looking out onto the land. We were warmly welcomed to roam the grounds, meeting the pigs, sheep, chickens and goats! We bought fresh duck eggs and home reered bacon from the owners for breakfast and used the hot tub on the first night. It was truly idyllic and we have already phoned our friends encouraging them to book to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SARAH H
1 review
“Perfect if your looking for a peaceful relaxing trip away”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed at Little Snodwell for my partner's birthday for the weekend and had a lovely time, just what we needed. The annex was lovely and felt very separate from the house so it felt like our own private space. We went for a wander around the farm in the mornings and met the animals who were happy to see us! The hot tub is secluded with views out over the countryside. Thanks to the hosts who were really helpful and gave us maps for our walk over to nearby Dalwood. They also welcomed us with fruit cake and breakfast from the farm was amazing. Would recommend staying here if you want a quiet weekend away, would also recommend the Tuckers Arm's for food in Dalwood although don't order too much the portions are huge. We look forward to staying her again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayCr...
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“memorable 10th anniversary”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We choose this property to spend 2 days celebrating out 10th anniversary, and I am so glad we did.
the Location of the property is picturesque with lovely views, and the house is just lovely. It was easy to find but seemed so tranquil
we loved the accommodation as it was so tastefully decorated, it was lovely and cosy and the views out of the windows were a highlight, esp being able to see the duck pond from the kitchen window.
we loved being on the farm, and we had a lovely walk at sunset around the farm seeing the happy animals. Also the one of the highlights was the bacon, sausage and eggs from the farm, i have to say i really enjoyed breakfast :)
we absolutely loved the hot tub, it really made our stay memorable, we were lucky to have a clear night to see all the stars, moon and milky way. Also the views are impressive from the hot tub, we spent many hours just enjoying them.
the finally thing that made the stay wonderful was the lovely owner Carren and her husband, the were very friendly, they left us some lovely homemade biscuits when we arrived, Also they were so helpful with information about the local area, and made us feel very welcomed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub and farm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lar777
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We wanted a cosy winter escape with a few luxuries, not to far from home & that's exactly what we got. Our expectations were exceeded as soon as we arrived, the house itself looked beautiful from the outside & was even better on the inside! Everything was clean, fresh & homely, everything we needed was there meaning we didn't have to leave the farm once - we highly recommend the bacon & sausages the hosts can provide for a fair price! Caren's welcome and hosting throughout the weekend was lovely, she made us feel comfortable & took her time to chat with us answering all our questions. The homemade cake slices upon arrival was a lovely touch & absolutely delicious! The view from the annexe was fantastic and the decor inside matches the country/farmhouse theme you'd expect with wooden doors and low ceilings, we loved wandering around the farm and meeting all the animals who were very friendly & allowed us to stroke them! Our favourite part had to be the uniqueness of having a hot tub just outside to use £7 a day whenever you like, you can even plug your phone or iPod in and listen to your own music! We left well rested & very relaxed, can't wait to go back in the future!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Deserves the excellent reviews so far”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Quaint, Tranquil, Beautiful are all words used in the previous reviews, and I can simply echo them. The farm and surrounding area is exactly that.

The Annex itself is intelligently laid out, and equipped sufficiently with everything you will need. It is kept very well and the decor is very comfortable.

Caren is a lovely friendly host, who left us a lovely fruit loaf and tea for our arrival, and made sure all our needs and questions were attended to.

The Hot Tub is amazing! We spent around 3 hours in there over the 2 nights! It especially comes into it's own at night when their is a clear sky as the views of the milky way are outstanding.

There are plenty of places of interest and walks within a small drive, so I highly recommend short or long breaks here. I was in two minds in giving this good review as I would very much like to keep it to myself! We hope to be back indeed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeff t
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great weekend- with hot tub for wow factor evenings!”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Saw trip advisor reviews and booked up for combined birthday and anniversary celebration.So glad i chose this holiday cottage.We had a fabulous time and enjoyed our stay very much.Loved the view, homemade bread, sausages and welcome gift of banana bread but the hot tub stole the show!!Thanks Karen and Martin we will return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing