We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All you could ask for (and a bit more) from a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside - showing the front entrance and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside - showing the front entrance and garden
Outside showing the parking area and flat access for wheelchair users
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Outside - showing the front entrance and garden
Outside showing the parking area and flat access for wheelchair users
The area where we keep our chickens, ducks and pet rabbits
Our small holding with beautiful rural views
Living area with wood burning stove and leather sofas
Living area with wood burning stove and two leather sofas
Living area with wood burning stove and two leather sofas
Living area with wood burning stove and two leather sofas
Dinning area with pine table and chairs
Open plan living, dinning, kitchen
Vaulted ceiling with original beams
Kitchen area with fridge, hob, oven, microwave, toaster and washer drier
Double bedroom with wardrobe, bedside cabinets and dressing table with drawers
Double bedroom with wardrobe, bedside cabinets and dressing table with drawers
Double bedroom with wardrobe, bedside cabinets and dressing table with drawers
Double bedroom
Children's bunk bedroom in the old pig sty!!
Children's bunk bedroom with toys and wardrobe with chest of drawers
Children's bunk bedroom
Children's bunk bedroom
Wet room with short pedestal sink
Wet room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blaenwaun, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luke D
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“All you could ask for (and a bit more) from a hoilday cottage A+++”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a truly wonderful stay at Y Bwthyn! On arrival we received a warm welcome from the owner, Judie and were given a little tour of the cottage and where everything was explained to us. From then on we were left to own devices and the peace and quiet surrounding us. The cottage was exceptionally clean and tidy and everything you could ever need was provided. My 5yr old was impressed with the selection of books and toys in the kids room and she absolutely loved accompanying Judie every morning to feed the animals on their small holding. The wet room and underfloor heating were great as was the log burner. The cottage was very comfortable and cosy and ideally located to visit most of south Wales. All in all a great holiday and this cottage will certainly be on our list of places to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and style of the property and underfloor heating
Liked least: Nothing - Everything was spot on!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thank you for this great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in the cottage and that your daughter liked feeding the animals. We hope to see you again. Best wishes Judie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroy H
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Can't explain how much I enjoyed my stay at judie and John lovely cosy cottage. enjoyed everything about it. the underfloor heating and log fire were something special. plenty of things to do around the cottage within a half hour drive loved every minute of our stay. would recommend this cottage to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure having you to stay. Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend away!”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a delightful holiday cottage in a tiny welsh village but we didn't want for anything all weekend as it was fully kitted out with every we could have needed; so it was everything we were expecting and more!

Inside, we had all mod cons, complimentary teas to try and the decor and furnishings were to a very high standard......it was home from home!

The owners Judy and her partner lived in the house next to the two cottages so we saw her from time to time to say hello to. She was very welcoming and friendly, even showed us round her vegetable garden and introduced us to the rabbits, chickens and ducks! We had our own patio area with garden furniture so could enjoy sitting with a coffee in the morning sun before heading out for the day. There was another family saying in the second cottage for part of our stay but again, we were all self-contained so didn't feel in any way that we had other people nearby.

The village has a lovely pub called The Lamb which we went to a few times. It certainly had some characters in there and a good pint....or three!

Judy suggested we also visit the local Brynderi Honey Farm, not even a two minute walk from the cottage. There, we found an amazing family run business who make their own Welsh honey but also honey ice-creams and sorbets.....so many flavours it was almost too hard to choose what to have! I couldn't resist taking some flavoured honey home and they even do online orders so I know where I'll be looking for Christmas gifts this year!

I have no doubts that we will be staying here again and can highly recommend others do too. With the two cottages it would also make a great location for a family get-together or celebration so that everyone could stay together.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our stay and hope to see you again.
Judie and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We can highly recommend this cottage, Judie greeted us on arrival and made us feel very welcome. We brought our dog and he loved roaming around the fields. The cottage is very well equipped, with a comfortable bed and in a very peaceful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing and comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
We are pleased you enjoyed. Thank you for the positive review. We hope to see you again. Judie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne S
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The kids say 'Best Holiday EVER' and we agree!”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous week at Y Bwthyn. Judie was fab, arriving at the cottage each morning to take the kids around all the animals to help feed and look after them. The kids loved it and at soon as we got back at the end of the day they were scampering out of the car dying to see Munch the rabbit, Donna the dog and so on. Our dog was also warmly welcomed, despite chasing Munch on the first day (sorry about that!). The cottage itself was toasty warm and comfortable with everything we needed and the fresh eggs were lovely. The kids loved their bunk beds too. The cottage was in a perfect location to be nicely 'away from it all' but also in a perfect position to access many different places along the coast. We had many a happy day in various rock pools on various beaches. Would highly recommend this holiday!! Thanks Judie and John!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Judie and the animals
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
Thank you for this great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday here, it was a pleasure having you to stay. The girls are lovely and all the animals miss them. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyCove...
Arborfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Christmas break”
Reviewed 26 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The property was clean spacious and well equipt. We arrived to a wonderful fire that Judie and John had lit for us with a pan with chestnut waiting. A perfect start to Christmas. They were so friendly Judie went out of her way to help when my mum got lost. They also invited us to join them in the village tradition of a drink at the local pub (The Lamb Inn) on Christms Day. We had a lovely Chrismas and I will definately be back in the future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas here at Anfodd Holidays. We hope you and your mum got home ok. Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susevans8...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was a perfect place to relax on holiday. It was a great spot for exploring the countryside. We had a lovely roaring fire when we arrived and the underfloor heating was really nice. It felt like a real home away from home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Anfodd Holidays and hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing