We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home away from home.”
other travellers have booked this property
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Relax, sit in the sun... Enjoy a cool glass of wine and read a book.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Relax, sit in the sun...
Enjoy a cool glass of wine and read a book.
Artwork alongside the double doors - one of the owner's own mosaics.
The owners coastal themed silk paintings and appliqued cushions add Cornish flavour
Comfort in style. High quality Jonh Lewis cotton sheets and duvet covers. Melin Tregwynt blanket.
Relax, put your feet up, and watch TV.  WiFi available.
Settle back into the hand-made cushions...
...and read a book or two.
New, well equipped modern kitchen with granite work surfaces, electric oven, induction hob.
Shaker style shelf storage
Cornish studio pottery mugs.  We source things locally wherever possible.
Essential supplies readily to hand
Dualit toaster and fast boil kettle. Unique, hand made, original fused glass splashback.
Shaker style dining.
Home made bread and Cornish Yarg cheese go VERY well with a glass of wine
Bathroom, with more original artwork, has a toilet, sink and shower. Quality toiletries provided.
Pebble mosaic provides a coastal twist.
Take it easy in the Cornish sun...
...and enjoy a cool drink in the garden.
The spectacular West Penwith Coast near Land's End, only 10 minutes drive away.
Porth Nanven - Cot Valley, one of West Penwith's hidden gems.  A haven for Choughs and seals.
Sennen Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Just, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gayelette
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home away from home.”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I am looking to move to Cornwall and my focus for the week was to clarify where I wanted to live. I fell in love with St Just on a previous visit, so wanted to spend more time here. This was my first visit to Crugkern Barn and I couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The Barn is fantastic. High spec fixtures, fittings and equipment. Bed and bedding super cosy. Really clean. Best equipped self catering holiday home I have ever stayed in. Would actually love to live in the Barn permanently ☺ real home away from home. Free WiFi was a boon for me as spent my evenings looking for properties and jobs. The icing on the cake was Chris and Rick. They were there when I needed them and the font of all knowledge. I may not have found my new home on this occasion, but I certainly found two new friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind words. Chris and I are delighted that you enjoyed your time here in West Penwith and that the barn lived up to expectations, but sad that you didn't manage to find your new Cornish home this time round. It took us several visits before we found our house so, with the 'selling season' approaching, I'm sure something will take your fancy in the near future. We'll keep our eyes open for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent relaxing stay in this beautifully finished barn”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed in Crugkern Barn for 3 nights over New Year's Eve, we could not have picked a more relaxing place, close to the beach by car and right on a public footpath we could go for a long walk or drive to a Sennen Cove easily. The barn was finished beautifully and Rick and Chris could not have been nicer hosts. I could not recommend Crugkern highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Fortune favours the brave. Cornwall may be glorious in summer, but the drama of those big West Penwith skies and impressive Atlantic waves makes winter just as enjoyable, especially if you have somewhere cosy and comfortable to come back to. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndP
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most relaxing break ever!”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We booked Crugkern Barn for our very last minute quick get away break because of the great reviews of the accommodation and the location. We were expecting a nice property, but this was just amazing. It is a barn so you may think it would be small, but because it has been so well designed by owners Chris and Rick, it feels so spacious. We got there well into the evening on the Thursday and were warmly welcomed and shown around. There are some gorgeous features within the barn, such as the wonderful hand made glass used for a splash back on the cooker. Additionally there are so many lovely, homely touches that Chris and Rick have put in such as slippers and throws. And the lovely home made bread was delicious with the local cheese. On our first night we had the best nights sleep we have had in months (if not longer). And then we continued to have great sleeps! There is so much to do and see, so instead of continuing to sleep we actually made it out to quite a few places and went on some stunning walks. If we were staying longer we would have spoken to Chris and Rick about where else to go, as they know the area very well. Would highly recommend this lovely place for a break away, whether you want to relax, explore or both.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
So glad you had a good 'long weekend'. Chris and I are delighted that previous guests' reviews were useful and the barn lived up to expectations. The comfy bed, together with the fact that it is so quiet here is a winning combination on the sleep front. Next time you come we will sit down with the map and introduce you to some more of the special places which West Penwith has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul29115...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just returned from our 10 day stay at Crugkern Barn. We had a fantastic holiday in this part of the UK. The accommodation was very comfortable with all mod cons, a high standard of quality and attention to detail. Rick and Chris our hosts were so very welcoming and helpful with information and suggestions about the area. They went above and beyond our expectations whilst respecting our privacy. There is so much to do and see in this beautiful part of the country. A great location to visit it. Would definitely like to return for another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Chris and I are delighted that both the barn and the area lived up to expectations. It was a pleasure to have you here, and we enjoyed your company. As you say, there is such a wide range of places to visit and things to do within easy striking distance. Before we moved here we used to come on holiday to this area year after year and never tired of it. That's why we are here now. Like you, we love it. Hope to see you again - you will always be welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer94...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy and welcoming with lovely thoughtful touches”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent a fantastic week at the barn with our 4 month old son. There was enough space to put up a travel cot! It is very well appointed and tastefully decorated, no expense has been spared to ensure there is nothing missing. The little touches, such as fresh bread on arrival were much appreciated and Rick and Chris were fantastic hosts. We were well placed to explore this part of Cornwall; a 5 minute drive to Sennen and not much further to the beautiful beaches of Porthcurno and Chapel cove. Half an hours drive to St Ives. The barn is also only a short walk from the centre of St Just. We would thoroughly recommend this rental and hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tasteful decoration
Liked least: Sporadic shower temperature
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They've thought of everything”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a fantastic stay here. The owners were incredibly welcoming and extremely helpful, especially when offering advice on local activities.
The barn itself is very clean, tidy and spacious and it's clear that a lot of thought and attention to detail has gone into it.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and are keen to return again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and Relaxing hideaway”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at many cottages over the years and can honestly say that Crugkern is certainly one of the best!. The cottage I is beautifully equipped and clean to a high standard throughout which makes your stay even more enjoyable. From the minute you arrive the owners, Chris & Rick are committed to helping you enjoy your stay, from the homemade bread and local cheese to the loan of body boards!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Area and setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing